Book Review: Red Queen

4star

The world is divided by blood: Red and silver blood. Reds are commoners, ruled by the silvers with god-like superpowers. We meet Mare Barrow, who’s a red, but not really the average red.

First line of the book: “I hate First Friday.”

Title: Red Queen (#1)
Author: Victoria Aveyard
My edition: Published in 2015 by HarperTeen, with 383 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Series: Red Queen (Total of 2 books, at the moment)
Genres: Science fiction, Young adult, Fantasy, Dystopia, Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Supernatural

WHY THIS BOOK
The books had been on bookstagram for a really long time, so when I finally got a hold of it I pretty much read it in a couple of days. I’m also a sucker for science fiction and fantasy, which is something you’ll discover, so this was the perfect find for me.

PLOT
4star

I love the plot. It’s different from other books in the same genre, all though they all pretty much is about a girl who’s different – this book is about a girl who’s different, but she’s just at the wrong place at the wrong time. That’s also the reason why this books has a good plot, because it’s more like chance than choice when it comes to where she ends up in the end.

WRITING
3star
I like Victoria Aveyard’s writing, it’s original. It’s easy to read, she keeps in as much details that you understand what’s happening, but it’s not too much description. This is what I would call above average, which sounds so harsh, but it’s not supposed to. What I mean with above average, is the fact that it’s good, making it easy to read and fast-paced, but it’s not a book I would have read again for the writing.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
I liked Mare Barrow. She’s genuine and loving and I like her. I instantly feel connected to her, and I kind of understand her thoughts and actions. What I didn’t find as interesting was the fact that Aveyard kind of introduces a love-triangle, which is something I just HATE. I can’t stand love-triangles, but I won’t know if it’s serious before I read Glass Sword, the second book.

THE ENDING
4star
It has a good ending. I like the fact that we kind of “finish” this book, and gives the next book a nice “beginning” in a way. I feel like every book should end in a way where you either feel satisfied; like you’ve just read a story and it ended and it’s okay, or you feel intrigued; that the next book will be even more amazing. This book has that ending, but it’s also the first one. So you’re satisfied with the book at the ending, but you’re also intrigued, wanting to pick up the next book to finish it.

ALL OVER
4star
The book is good, it’s a book you don’t want to miss if you like dystopia and paranormal fantasy. It’s got good characters, an interesting plot and I think that this will be an amazing series!

COVER
5star
The cover of this book is amazing. I love how much is says about the storyline of the book, but it’s also so damn inviting! Like it really stands out on a shelf, and you just want to grab it and read it even though you have no idea what it’s about.

Favorite quote: “The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”

marley

One comment on “Book Review: Red Queen

Leave a Reply

