Book Review: The Darkest Part of the Forest

4star

Children can have a cruel, absolute sense of justice. Children can kill a monster and feel quite proud of themselves. A girl can look at her brother and believe they’re destined to be a knight and a bard who battle evil. She can believe she’s found the thing she’s been made for.

Hazel lives with her brother, Ben, in the strange town of Fairfold where humans and fae exist side by side. The faeries’ seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists, but Hazel knows how dangerous they can be, and she knows how to stop them. Or she did, once.

At the center of it all, there is a glass coffin in the woods. It rests right on the ground and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointed as knives. Hazel and Ben were both in love with him as children. The boy has slept there for generations, never waking.

Until one day, he does…

First line of the book: “Down a path worn into the woods, past a stream and a hollowed-out log full of pill bugs and termites, was a glass coffin.”

Title: The Darkest Part of the Forest
Author: Holly Black
My edition: Published 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, with 336 pages
Age: Middle grade +
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance and Paranormal

WHY THIS BOOK
First of all, because of the cover. It’s just a beautiful cover, and I’d never really heard about Holly Black, but after reading about her I kind of liked her. So I bought the book and read in on my holiday in Crete, Greece.

PLOT
4star
I like the plot. I like how Hazel lives in a town where they know about the fairies in the woods, and how Hazel used to think that she was a knight. I also love the fact that Holly Black puts this glass coffin in the middle of the woods, making it the center-piece of this story.  

WRITING
4star
I really enjoyed her writing. She has this amazing quality where she gives you just enough information for you to make it all up in your head, but she also withdraws a little so that you actually have the room to dream about the place.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
I like Hazel, she’s strong and independent, and she knows when to take action. I also like the fact that she’s different. I like different characters, characters that you remember, characters that had those qualities that made them real to you, and Hazel was one of those characters. Ben, her brother on the other hand, was kind of unnecessary in a way, but also likable. And the Horned Boy was just really weird, but he was also likable. I also like the diversity, Ben is gay, Jack, Ben’s best friend, is black.

THE ENDING
3.5star
I really liked the ending. Or at least the epilogue. It kind of ends the book the way I wanted it to end. Mostly it’s because Holly Black decides to make it a happy ending, but with a darker twist. I like that, and I like that you can kind of go from there in your own head. Were they happy? Did they live happily ever after?  

ALL OVER
4star
I really liked it. As I mentioned I was on a summer holiday in Greece while reading this one, and I actually withdrew to my room because I couldn’t squint long enough to read it from cover to cover. In other words, I couldn’t put it down. It’s really worth the read.

COVER
4.5star
I LOVE the cover. It’s amazing and so different. It has all these different colors and things to it, making it just stunning. I love it when covers are a little “different”.

Favorite quote: “Once, there was a girl who vowed she would save everyone in the world, but forgot herself.”

marley

Leave a Reply

