Book Review: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

3.5star

Dorothy thinks she’s lost forever when a tornado whirls her and her dog, Toto, into a magical world. To get home, she must find the wonderful wizard in the Emerald City of Oz. On the way she meets the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman and the Cowardly Lion. But the Wicked Witch of the West has her own plans for the new arrival – will Dorothy ever see Kansas again?

First line of the book: “Dorothy lived in the midst of the great Kansas prairies, with Uncle Henry, who was a farmer, and Aunt Em, who was the farmer’s wife.”

Title: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Author: L. Frank Baum
My edition: Roads classic published by Roads Publishing in 2015 with 157 pages.
Age: Childrens +
Genres: Classics, Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure, Magic, Fairy Tales

WHY THIS BOOK
This was one of those books that I’ve always wanted to read, but never really did as a child. I’d heard about it, saw the movie and I just knew that I needed to read it. And what a delight it was, I can’t tell you how much I really liked the story.

PLOT
4star
The plot is just amazing. Not only does it have this entire world that you can just day-dream about, but it has these amazing creatures and characters inside it. I love the witches, the wizards, and it’s just wonderful.

WRITING
5star
I really like the writing. I thought after reading it, if I were to read this to my younger siblings, would they like it? Would they understand it? And I think that they would just love it. The writing is simple, it’s informative in just a few sentences, and the words seems so carefully selected. I just love it, it feels finished, simply a small masterpiece. So for children this is just amazing, for people aging over like 14, it’s still amazing.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
I love the fact that you have Dorothy, this kind of naive girl who ends up in Oz. All though I want to point out that it’s strange that a little girl ending up in a magical land, doesn’t cry because her aunt and uncle are gone, like cries a river, is kind of weird. But I love her dog Toto, he makes this story kind of cuter in a way. And the Scarecrow is just amazing, the lessons learned in this book is just amazing. The Tin Woodman and the Cowardly Lion, it’s amazing. And even Oz, it all fits together so well.

THE ENDING
3.5star
I like the ending, and I like the ending line, but I won’t reveal it to you, because then you’ll know how it ends. But it’s one of those stories where you just smile and put the book back in your shelf and kind of looks at it for hours later just smiling.

ALL OVER
3.5star
I feel like this book was carefully written to suit both children and adults. You have a story that’ll work for children, but the older you get, the more you understand and the more you see the whole story in itself. It’s amazing.

COVER
3starI really like my cover, because it’s cute, but the original cower is kind of more vintage. And I love vintage things, especially books. The cover is cute, and I like it, but it doesn’t really have those qualities that I normally like.

Favorite quote: “A heart is not judged by how much you love; but by how much you are loved by others”

marley

Leave a Reply

