Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

4star

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

First line of the book: “I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.”

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Author: Ransom Riggs
My edition: Published by Quirk books in 2013, with 382 pages
Age: Young Adult (13+)
Series: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (3 books)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery, Horror, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction, Time Travel, Supernatural

WHY THIS BOOK
Okay so this book has been swarming bookstagram for a while, and now that the movie is coming out directed by none other than Tim Burton, I knew I had to read this beauty before seeing the movie. First of all, I was expecting so much out of this book, and all though it was a really good book, it didn’t meet all of my expectations.

PLOT
5star
I love the plot. The whole idea of something being hidden, out of reach for some people, but possible for others just intrigues me so much. That is why I love Harry Potter, because the world could just as easily co-exist with ours without us even knowing about it. So the plot is a five for me, because I just love the idea of people being peculiar and having these gifts that makes them unnatural, but at the same time so interesting and intriguing.

WRITING
3.5star
This is where I feel like I often sound like a complete *sshole because the writing is so important to me. In this book, it’s kind of full. Which is a bad expression for someone’s writing. But full, as in, nothing is left out. I feel like I can’t really keep up, the words kind of float around on the page and I found myself often just jumping over a section because the writing kind of made an action-filled scene boring. Now, I’m not saying that the writing is bad, because it isn’t, it’s just a lot.

I feel like I’m not given much space to see what’s happening. There’s a lot of jumping from one scene to another, and it just doesn’t feel finished.

CHARACTERS
4.5star
There are a bunch of characters in this book, and that was one thing that I was having a hard time keeping up with. I’m like that, if I have too many characters to remember, it’ll all just be a big pile of confusion on my part. But, we got the basics, we have Jakob, the boy this book is about. We have Abraham, the crazy grandfather. Emma, this beautiful girl living inside the loop. And we have miss Peregrine, whom is a personal favorite.

The thing about these characters is that they all fit together some way. For Jakob living in Florida, hearing all these crazy stories about an island far away where children can fly and be invisible, it’s hard to really take his grandfather serious, which is the start of this magnificent book. I don’t want to go into details about the book, but I do want to point out that the characters are so well-thought-of that you kind of find them real. Especially when you see the pictures presented of them, and I seriously love that. To have a picture of a character in a way can be seen as annoying, but the fact that it’s done in this movie makes it just amazing.

THE ENDING
4star
The ending is good, I like it, it ends with this major cliffhanger where we’re just wondering how these kids are going to fix everything after all that just happened. I liked it, and it made me want to pick up the next book, but at the same time, I haven’t, so… Not sure what that means.

ALL OVER
4star
I don’t feel like I’ve read this amazing book that everyone’s describing. I do however, think that I’ve read a really good book that had a lot of interesting and peculiar aspects of it. Making it something different. I would recommend it, but I’m not over the top about it. I’m not really excited, but not bummed either. But I am looking forward to this movie, and I think that with Tim Burton’s magic it’s going to be amazing!

COVER
4.5star
I love how kind of weird and scary the cover is. It’s amazing, and it fits so well with the story. I think that my edition is so beautiful, AND SO HEAVY btw, but it’s just amazing.

Favorite quote: “I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

marley

3 comments on “Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. I’ve always been curious about this book but am kind of terrified by the cover (I’m HORRIBLE with anything horror-related, especially when it involves children and this oen definitely does), so I’m glad you broke it down to the writing, the characters, etc.

    This definitely feel like a Tim Burton-esque story in book format, so here’s hoping the movie will be good. Great review! 🙂

    Like

    • I think that the book in it self is less scarier than it seems. I mean, it’s fllled with ‘monsters’ – which I thought was cool. But maybe scary to some. Anyways, the book is a should-read, even though the pictures are the scary part of the book haha 🙂 Glad you liked the review! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

