Book Review: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

3.5star

The earth is about to be demolished by aliens, but Arthur Dent is plucked off earth by his friend Fort Prefect. Together they begin a journey through space, meeting fellow travelers.

First line of the book:Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small, unregarded yellow sun.”

Title: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (#1)
Author: Douglas Adams
My edition: Published by Kagge Forlag in 1998 with 192 pages
Age: Young Adult/Adult
Series: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Total of 4 books)
Genres: Science fiction, Humor, Fantasy, Classics, Adventure

WHY THIS BOOK
When I was a kid I saw the movie based on this book with my father. And he sort of said that the book was better and that I had to read it. So after a couple of years of saying it over and over again, I finally decided to pick this book up. (To be honest, I’m writing this review some time after I read the book).

PLOT
3.5star
I like the plot. It’s different, and for once I’ve read a science fiction book that is funny not sad and depressing, like most science fiction books I read. I also like the the fact that it’s about a human going into space, not actually knowing that there are things “out there”.

WRITING
4.5star
His writing is amazing. I just love reading this book, because I’m pretty much laughing out loud the entire time. I also love the way he uses the “Hitchhiker’s Guide” like it’s an encyclopedia, referring to it in footnotes so that you’ll know why things are called that way etc.

CHARACTERS
4star
I love Arthur Dent, he’s funny, but also really depressing in a way. I can remember him being this pessimistic guy who for once, laid before a bulldoser so that they wouldn’t destroy his home. I also love Ford Prefect, who’s the total opposite, and totally optimistic. They fit so well together, and I want to point out that these two characters are the reason why this book is worth reading, and then I want to point out that there’s a lot of other characters making it worth the while.

THE ENDING
4star
What I like about the ending is that it feels like you’ve just read a stand-alone book, with no cliffhanger. So you’ll feel “satisfied” with finishing this book, and waiting to read the next one.

ALL OVER
3.5star
I also love the combination of Douglas Adams’ writing and the plot of this book, because it works so good together. I’m pretty sure that if you gave the plot to someone else, they wouldn’t get it right. So this is just an amazing book, and I can’t wait to finish the series.

COVER
2.5star
I think that the cover is boring. Mine is prettier, which is the book right over here, but the “normal” cover is boring. There’s a lot of different covers to this book, mostly because it’s from the seventies and it’s been “remade” so many times. But the “typical” cover which is the one I’ve included in this review is straight through boring.

Favorite quote: The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t”

marley

Leave a Reply

