Book Review: The Elite

2.5star

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.

Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

First line in the book: “The Angeles air was quiet, and for a while I lay still, listening to the sound of Maxon’s breathing.”

Title: The Elite (#2)
Author: Kiera Cass
My Edition: Published by Harper Teen
Age: Young Adult (13+)
Series: The Selection (5 books)
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Women’s Fiction, Chick-Lit, Fairy-tales

WHY THIS BOOK
I continued the series in good spirits, hoping that I would find a new favorite series. I’m not sure yet, even after reading this book – I’m not sure this is a favorite, but it’s a sequel to a book I really liked. So, here it goes, my pretty much judgmental look on this book.

PLOT
3star
The plot is just as interesting as the first book. Now, they’re narrowed down to six girls, and the competition begins to grow into this big mess of girls fighting to be the one. But, in this book, Aspen is back in full force aiming to be America’s big and only love. The plot is still interesting, I love the idea of a bachelor that’s just more deadly and fierce. This book has some major happenings that broke my heart into a thousand pieces, and I don’t want to spoil it for you; but it has something to do with Marlee, Aspen, Maxon, America, Kriss and Celeste. MAJOR. But the love triangle ruins the whole plot. WHY CASS?!

The world is still cool, and I feel like it keeps on growing cooler after every page. Suddenly the rebels are a bigger part of the story, and we’re starting to realize that not everything is as good as we thought it would be. I feel like this book gives the reader the answer to the question; who are these rebels, what do they want and why do they keep attacking? Since I’ve already started “The One” I can tell you that I was mindblown by what’s happening next and I feel like this is going to be huge!

WRITING
3.5star
Her writing style is still the same, it’s good, not too many descriptions and we can kind of just imagine the whole thing, which I think is best. I do feel like this book was very repetitive, which is something I’ll talk more about under dramaturgy, but to be honest, I love her writing style and I feel like there’s nothing to point out in this area.

As I said, the dramaturgy is off in this book. It goes from America being in her room, America being in the Womens room, America sneaking around, America being with Maxon, America sobbing, America smiling, America in love, and we’re back in her room. There’s just not enough happening, and I feel like this is the most boring romance story I’ve ever read. Seriously, this book just ruined a lot for me. Away from that I do like that they now have more attacks from the rebels, and we start to figure out what’s going on in that apartment, but I just don’t think this book had it, that curve that makes the book interesting to read.

CHARACTERS
2.5star
The characters for me, lost some of their spark, some of them grew into characters I liked even more, others was kind of ruined for me in this book. Here’s who I want to talk about; America, Maxon, Aspen, Marlee and Kriss.

America, in this book, was loosing some of the qualities I liked about her. In the first book she seemed so fierce, it was like she knew what she could do, what she could demand, it was like she knew everything. And even when she didn’t know, she kept a straight face and went with it anyways, because she wasn’t afraid at all. In The Elite she suddenly grew so insecure, and I know it’s because of the things happening, I’m not blaming it on her, but she starts to shift between Maxon and Aspen more than she used to. I get so confused and almost angry, because she just doesn’t care and she becomes reckless because she thinks she can get away with everything. I actually started to resent her. She annoyed me so much, I wanted to punch her in the face and give her a speech.

Maxon also lost some of that perfection, and I think that it’s good that Cass starts to show different sides to the characters. Maxon suddenly becomes more secretive, and he’s not as open to America as he used to be. Maxon too, starts to annoy me. He blames it on America being unsure about if she can be a princess, and I’m sitting here like “B****, make up your mind!”, and I understand him because he can’t use all his time on her if she’s not in the game in a week, I get that. But he’s so naive thinking that what he does with the other contestants isn’t going to be noticed by America.

Aspen also annoys the hell out of me, but he did that the moment I opened the book. Like who the hell sends his girlfriend into the Selection because “She should have had the chance”, and then suddenly shows up at the castle thinking that nothing has changed? Of course, America is giving him all the signs that she wants him, but she also keep telling herself every time she sees Aspen that she wants him, and then she wants Maxon because she’s with him. I’m not good with love triangles, so I just gave up bothering what happened suddenly, because I was so fed up with this going back and forth. And then Aspen stands there, as a guard, demanding the feelings he has for America back.

Marlee was one of my favorite characters in the first book, and then I read this book and my heart just broke in thousand pieces. We finally understand what’s going on with her, and why she isn’t that sure about her staying there – and it becomes clear to us that there’s someone else. Someone illegal. Her faith is terrible, but I want to point out, it isn’t as bad as it seems.

Kriss suddenly becomes a vital part in the games. Is she the new princess? Or is America? That’s the question that’s become like the biggest question of them all during this book. I like her, but I don’t want to like her, but I can’t help it, so I’m kind of angry because she’s so perfect, and I wish for her to win, but I do want America to win, and I’m like; Can’t he have both of them?

THE ENDING
3.5star
I like the ending despite the fact that I really didn’t like this book as much as I liked the first one. It gives a good point to where the next book is going, and I like that a lot.

ALL OVER
2.5star
The book is the sequel, and I guess that either Cass wanted to put off the inevitable; that Maxon had to choose the elite. But I feel like this book was so unnecessary. She could have easily made time pass by another way. We’re just back and forth, not a change in scenery, America is torn between two guys and I just can’t figure her out at all. This isn’t a good book, but it didn’t bore me enough to quit it, which is why I’m giving it a 2.5-star-review!

COVER
3.5star
The cover is as the other Selection series covers, okay, but not what I really had in mind reading these books. It’s kind of boring, all though I do like this cover better than the others in the series- mostly because of the color!

Favorite quote: “Sometimes I feel like we’re a knot, too tangled to be taken apart.”

marley

Leave a Reply

