Book Review: The One

5star

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

First line of the book: “This time we were in the Great Room enduring another etiquette lesson when bricks came flying through the window.”

Title: The One (#3)
Author: Kiera Cass
My edition: Published by Harper Teen in 2014, with 323 pages
Age: Young Adult (14+)
Series: The Selection (5 books)
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance

WHY THIS BOOK
I don’t know if you can remember it, but I was pretty bumped when I finished “The Elite”. Mostly because The Selection was so good, and then The Elite kind of destroyed that for me. Well, I can just tell you know that I’m just as hyped as I was after The Selection.

PLOT
4.5star
FINALLY we’re at the end of this thing. It’s been in the cards for so long how this was going to end, and I was pretty damn sure about who Maxon was going to choose, but this book just made everything so amazingly suspenseful that I couldn’t put down the book last night even though I just wanted to sleep.

The world is stepping up and I was so excited by the end of the book that I just knew that The Heir is going to either blow my mind or just make me sad all over again. But to be honest, this book made the world seem more legit, and I felt like this was the step forward that the series needed, and I’m so happy and sad that it does take that step and it keeps going throughout the book.

I was wondering how Cass was going to drag this series out for so long, but she did that well. Though I do believe The Elite was unnecessary and weird comparing to the other two books. It was like she just wrote The Elite to make the series last longer and it just didn’t work. So when I picked up The One I was sure that this was going to be some kind of bad sequel to The Elite. It wasn’t and I’m so happy! I already ordered The Heir, all though I had NO MONEY, because I need it NOW.

WRITING
4.5star
It feels like Kiera Cass has found her style in a way. During The Selection it was a very easy read, and throughout the Elite it felt like she’d lost herself in a way. During The One, it felt like she was more sure of her own writing, and it just felt like the book was complete.

CHARACTERS
4star
America kind of returned to her former glory and she seemed like she’d grown up a lot since The Elite. She was more forgiving, smarter about her choices, and she finally managed to stand up for herself and not just take it all. I also like the fact that she becomes closer to the other Elites, she suddenly sees the bigger picture and she grows more lovable because of that. She even seems more grown up when it comes to what her life should be. I liked America better in this book than I liked her in the first and the second, and that’s exactly how it’s supposed to be.

Maxon in my eyes became more of a person I could trust in this book. He made sure that America had a good time, and at the same time he was good to the other elites. He also, grew up. The same way about Aspen, I hated him in the second book, but by the third I started to respect him more. By the end of The One, I consider him probably one of the best friends you could ever have.

Celeste suddenly became this whole new person, Kriss too, and we see her in a completely different light throughout this book. Elise changed. Everyone changed, except for King Clarkson. (Bummer).

THE ENDING
5star
This book had a lot of ups and downs and that was also something that made me feel better about the series. Suddenly there was a lot more things happening, and there were surprises and revelations and I just loved it. In a way it should have been more spread throughout the book, towards the last, 30 pages or so, everything went completely mayhem!

SO the ending is bad ass, it made me order the next book like in five minutes after finishing this!

ALL OVER
5star
All in all the plot is finally more appealing, the characters are more developed, the world is much more exciting than before, Cass’ writing style is better and more characteristic and the dramaturgy is so much better than earlier! SO MUCH BETTER. The only thing I completely HATED about my edition, was that there was this letter that was in this weird font that made it almost unreadable and I kind of just hated it and I couldn’t read it properly… But it was so good, and I honestly can’t wait for the The Heir to drop into my mailbox!

COVER
3.5star
I think the covers of the series are gorgeous, but kind of boring. I mean, I know it’s like a fairy tale with princesses and everything, but they turn out to be more sugar-sweet than the content. I feel like they should be more bad ass!

Favorite quote: “Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.”

marley

6 comments on “Book Review: The One

  1. Thank you for the review! I’ve been getting my books from the library and had to wait on his one and read “The Heir” first, which was kind of a bummer because I wanted to finish with Maxon and America first. Still so good though!

    Like

    • I absolutely NEED to make you read “The One”, because I was honestly kind of sad after “The Elite”, because I didn’t think that it was as good as “The Selection”. The One just made my day ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Finally finished it! What a ride! I loved it up until the very end… thought that was rushed. But I loved the whole meat of it!. Looking forward to the Heir sequel

        Like

Leave a Reply

