Book Review: The Heir

3.5star

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.
But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

First line of the book: “I could not hold my breath for seven minutes.”

Title: The Heir (#4)
Author: Kiera Cass
My edition: Published by Harper Teen in 2015, with 346 pages
Age: Young Adult (13+)
Series: The Selection (5 books)
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Women’s Fiction, Chick-Lit, Contemporary

WHY THIS BOOK
I ordered this book the minute I was done with “The One”, which to my surprise just finished the trilogy off nicely – but it wasn’t a trilogy, it was more, it was a series! I was starting to think during The One; “What can Kiera Cass do now to make this series more exciting?” “Are we going to read about how Maxon and America fixed the country?” Well, no, it was about their children, especially about Eadlyn.

PLOT
2star
The plot, in my opinion is kind of, I don’t know, it’s intriguing because we finally get to be on the “other side” of the selection, and we get to see Maxon and America all grown up. But then I thought about how long it seemed from the Selection started until American and Maxon actually ended up even though it was obvious that it was going to be them in the end.  I mean, three books? We all knew it was going to happen eventually. So when I started this I was like, well, maybe Eadlyn is the kind of girl that’ll just move this on faster, and she was, in the beginning.

I like the plot, I think it’s interesting to continue the series with the child who’s to become a queen. But the whole thought of this happening all over again even though they knew it was a bad idea in the Selection book, AND since Maxon and American clearly had mixed feelings about it, I mean, they were there, they knew how hard it was and how the public reacted. So I was a little sad, because again, it was obvious who Eadlyn was going to end up with, even though we haven’t reached that part yet, because there’s probably going to be another book after the Crown comes out.

WRITING
5star
I feel like after The Elite, which was the book that I just couldn’t like was finished, Cass kind of found her style. It’s easy, complex, but so simple and explanatory at the same time. I like it even better in this book than I did The One, and I’m guessing it’s only going to get better and better.

CHARACTERS
4star
Eadlyn is what I would call a spoiled brat. It doesn’t seem like after all this time of learning, she still doesn’t understand that there’s a world outside the castle. She seems totally naive and I didn’t really like parts of her. For example I think that out of all the characters in this book she seems like this really high-on-herself kind of girl that I normally would seriously hate. She thinks she looks beautiful and she thinks that everyone else thinks she’s beautiful and she can’t really understand why people talk to her in different ways. I feel like she’s just not worthy at all to be a queen.

But she’ also likable in different ways, don’t get me wrong, I like her in a certain way. I like that she’s a little bossy and that she likes to do things efficiently. it’s also funny that she changes throughout the book, and that’s probably why I didn’t stop the book. Because she changes gradually.

Maxon & America is the reason why I find this book more interesting than I would if it was just Eadlyn. I love seeing how they both turned out good, that they had kids, they became this wonderful couple and king and queen. That was what I was rooting for from The Selection.

Ahren, Kaden and Osten are like one of the reasons why this book was worth reading. I loved how Osten was this little smart kid that just did whatever he felt like doing. Kaden was smart, maybe even a little too smart to be fourteen years old. Like I would seriously doubt that going against him would be one of the worst decisions of my life. But I did love Ahren, Eadlyn’s twin brother. He was the opposite of her, he was everything she’s not and I just love that. I felt this connection to him, and I seriously would just love for there to be like a short story on his point of view.

Kile, Erik and Henri were my favorites of all the people in this book. First of all, Kile is the perfect guy, in my mind he’s like the hottest of the hottest. Henri in my eyes is that really cute and nice guy that you just want in your life. But the thing that also intrigued me more was Erik. He’s not in the selection, but I’m guessing there’s going to be SOMETHING there.

THE ENDING
2.5star
The ending just doesn’t work for me. I started the Selection series to read a trilogy about America and Maxon, and it ended up being a series with five books, I have no idea if there’s going to be more – and I can honestly say that it just feels kind of weird finishing this book, feeling like it’s never going to end.

ALL OVER
3.5star
It is a good book, I want to know what happens next, but I have this “empty” feeling. I’m not sure I’ll rush to the next book just because I need to find out what happens next. It’s more of a, I know I’ll read it some time in the future, I’m just not REALLY excited about the Crown.

COVER
3star
I like the cover, and what I like is the fact that the series have like the same covers, but with different looks and colors. It’s kind of boring though, but my sleeveless hardbacks are just amazing!

Favorite quote: “You can be brave and still be feminine. You can lead and still love flowers. Most importantly, you can be queen and still be a bride.”

marley

Leave a Reply

