Book Review: Shatter Me

3.5star

I have a curse
I have a gift 

I am a monster
I’m more than human 

My touch is lethal
My touch is power 

I am their weapon
I will fight back 

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days. 

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color. 

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

First line of the book: “I’ve been locked up for 264 days.”

Title: Shatter Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
My Edition: Published by Harper Collins in 2012, with 338 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Series: Shatter Me (3 books + 3 short stories)
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Supernatural, Apocalyptic

WHY THIS BOOK
It’s another bookstagram book! This is a book I’ve been building up so much anticipation to that I was kind of happy and sad at the same time after reading this book. It wasn’t what I expected – in a good way, and in a bad way.

PLOT
3.5star
The plot is kind of like the one’s you’ve read about already. There’s a girl, she’s special and she’s going to save the world. It’s the same here, only in this book I found her to be different from other strong female characters. She has the same unhappy past, and the same sad look upon her future – until she finds a purpose. Juliette, the main character, finds Adam, which becomes her purpose.

What I do like about this plot setting other plots aside, is the fact that the villain of this story is likable and so freaking scary at the same time. He’s one of those perfect villains where you actually like them, but you hate them at the same time. This makes the plot so much more interesting!

I love this world, the fact that it’s not so far into the future, it’s still much like I would imagine our world in the future. Because of global warming, the world has become “nothing”, and people are trying to “restore”, or let’s call it “changing” it to the perfect utopia. And it fails, so incredibly, and that’s why this world is so interesting.

It’s realistic in a way where I would think that it was real, or something we could actually encounter in the future, and that’s also one of the things that makes this book good.

WRITING
4star
I like her writing, okay, but this book just didn’t feel as good to me as I thought it would. There’s this one thing that I hated so much it irritated me throughout the book. It’s the scratching out a sentence thing, because it didn’t work, it just felt so stupid. Other than that, it’s weirdly written. There’s a lot of metaphors and symbols and not coming to the point. I feel like this book could be written in less than 40 pages, but Mafi keeps on writing about EVERYTHING.

But I do like some of the stuff she writes, like she can give you a pretty good description of a feeling, which is much more likely to be understood than just the word.

It’s all right. It’s so slow in the beginning, but then it goes so quickly it shifts on every page. It made me both like the book and dislike it, because I often find it so hard to continue books that are slow. I continued this though, because I found a review on Goodreads where they said that it was worth the wait.

CHARACTERS
4star
There are a couple of characters in this book worth mentioning. There are Juliette, which is the main character. She’s absolutely insane, but that’s what makes her interesting to read about. It’s her internal struggle throughout the book that makes her character important to the book, if it hadn’t been there, she would have been completely dull.

Adam is a character I actually don’t like. After reading this book I got this feeling that he’s not what he says he is, but I’m not sure if that’s because I overall didn’t like him, or if it’s actually true, like a thing, that he’s evil or something.

James is probably the cutest character ever, and I fell in love with him instantly. You have a lot to look forward to when it comes to James, because he doesn’t come into the picture until like halfway through.

Warner is the ultimate villain and good guy at the same time. Not a good guy per se, but I like him better than Adam, which is weird, because he’s evil, but cool because he’s cool. I don’t know, he just appealed to me more than Adam did.

ALL OVER
3.5star
It’s a good book, and the start of probably a good trilogy. I’m not in a hurry to start the next book (Unravel Me), but I am looking forward to it. I decided to start another book for now, and maybe go back to the trilogy after that if this series isn’t any better!

Favorite quote: “All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”

marley

2 comments on “Book Review: Shatter Me

Leave a Reply

