Book Review: The Raven Boys

4.5star

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

First line: “Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.” 

Title: The Raven Boys (#1)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
My Edition: Paperback from Scholastic Press, published in 2012, with 421 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Series: The Raven Cycle (Total of 4 books)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Magic, Supernatural, Mystery, Urban Fantasy, Ghosts.

WHY THIS BOOK
This was another one of those bookstagram books that just flourished on instagram, and I’d had it in my TBR pile for a long time, but when I finally found it on book depository pretty cheap, I bought it and immediately started it.

PLOT
4star
The plot pretty much surrounds Blue, Gansey and Adam. All three with completely different backgrounds, brought together by fate? I don’t know, but this book just caught my interest from the beginning. I wasn’t bored, all though it had a super slow start. But when finishing it, I kind of felt that it was necessary. I mean, mostly I’m all about books that has a really fast pace, that makes me go through the pages like crazy. This book however, didn’t give me that rush, but it kept holding my interest until the very last page. I’m kind of lost of words actually, because I now know that I probably have to give other books another chance because of this experience.

Anyways, the plot is merely about Blue, I feel like she’s the main main character in this book. She’s not physic like the rest of her family, but she’s something. Her family has predicted that she will kill her true love with a kiss, and she’s terrified, but also kind of fed up with it. So when she meets Gansey and his friends, she has this horrible first impression of them. They’re the Raven Boys, all of them rich kids with no troubles or problems in their lives. Blue is wrong of course, and that kind of leads us to the main characters Gansey and Adam, and their “sidekicks”, but also main characters, Noah and Ronan.

WRITING
5star
This is what kind of made me hold on to this book for so long. I needed to read it because the writing was amazing. It was detailed and vague at the same time, and I felt like I could feel and touch and sense everything that was going on. I kept on seeing what was happening in the book in front of me, and I loved that. It made the book worthwhile the reading. It did take me a couple of days to get through the book, but it wasn’t because of bad writing, it was just the slow pace in the beginning.

I also want to talk about the chapters and how they’re divided. Every chapter kind of has its own “person” that it follows. For example, the first six chapters are like this: Chapter 1 “Blue”, Chapter 2 “Gansey”, Chapter 3 “Blue”, Chapter 4 “Adam”, Chapter 5 “Whelk” and Chapter 6 “Blue”. So you see the pattern, Blue has pretty much a lot of chapters in the beginning I think, and then it began to slowly give more chapters to Gansey and Adam. Which was a lot of fun, and this is why the book worked so perfectly. Because Stiefvater decided to give the characters room to kind of manifest themselves into the story.

CHARACTERS
5star
I love the characters in this book, and I love the character development throughout the book. I want to talk about them all, so please, try to keep up as I ramble through them.

Blue or “Jane”, is special, but she doesn’t feel special. Her family has all these gifts, but Blue doesn’t have one. She’s just magnifies energies around her, making everything “louder” for her psychic mother and family. I like her, she’s smart and she makes sense of everything.

Gansey in my eyes are just incredibly handsome. I mean, I see this rich kid with every possibility of becoming someone – but he just kinds of overlooks that and makes his own path. I like him, and I don’t think that anyone can really hate him, seriously.

Adam is Gansey’s best friend, but in many ways he’s also this complete opposite of Gansey. Adam comes from a poor family and pays himself through private school, and he’s so determined not to let his rich friends become his caregivers. He wants to do things on his own.

Ronan Lynch’s also a rich kid, but with a sad past and a poor outlook on his life. I feel like I want to hug him in every page and I want to save him. Save him from himself and everything that goes through his head.

Noah’s also this likable guy, but he doesn’t fill the pages. He’s just suddenly there and suddenly he’s not there. It’s kind of weird, and there’s a good reason for it too.

Maura, Calla and Persephone are Blue’s family and are important for the storyline. I wanted Maura as my mother, seriously, I loved her – and then there’s Neeve, the mysterious friend of Maura who kind of doesn’t make sense at first.

Whelk is kind of cool at first. I thought that he was going to be this helpful guy who would make Gansey’s search easier, but boy how wrong I was!

THE ENDING
5star
The ending is amazing you guys! I had to order the Dream Cycle, the second book when I was like a hundred pages from the ending. I want to have it here by my side right now, but I’m guessing I won’t start it until next week.

ALL IN ALL
4.5star
I really liked the book, and I seriously didn’t think that I would like it this much. I’m not the biggest fan of fantasy, because I often find them filled with witches and vampires and other creatures that just doesn’t make sense to me. So when I started this book I was kind of waiting for some weird creature or something unbelievable to happen, but it just worked out so perfectly!

Skjermbilde 2016-05-17 kl. 23.43.11

Favorite quote: “My words are unerring tools of destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.”

13225109_896172567176037_1828284335_o
This is Shadow, chillin’ with me while reading this book.

marley

4 comments on “Book Review: The Raven Boys

Leave a Reply

