Book Review: The Iron Trial

Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.

Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.

So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.

The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .
I’m not a big paranormal fan, never has been, and I’m serious when I point out that I didn’t know that this was a middle grade book. It probably would have been a better book for my brother at 9 years old, than me.

First line of the book: “From a distance, the man struggling up the white face of the glacier might have looked like an ant crawling slowly up the side of a dinner plate.”

Title: The Iron Trial (#1)
Author(s): Cassandra Clare & Holly Black
My Edition: Published by Doubleday Children’s Books in 2014, with 295 pages
Age: Middle Grade (10+)
Series: Magisterium (5 books)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Middle Grade, Childrens, Magic, Adventure, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy and Supernatural

WHY THIS BOOK
I bought this book at the bookstore not really knowing what it was all about. All I knew was that it was written by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare, two authors that I’ve appreciated a lot.

WHY I COULDN’T FINISH IT
The plot is ordinary, and already used. I feel like, after buying this book, I felt like I’d just spent my money on nothing more than a copy of Harry Potter. I don’t want to drag this book down in the mud, because I really think that Cassandra Clare and Holly Black are both amazing authors. But this book just feels like Harry Potter from the first page and that’s just so sad.

The reason I couldn’t finish this book, was because I felt like I’d read it before. I find it interesting because of the changes from Harry Potter. Like the fact that there’s an iron trial, but it’s just too similar. It even has a trio, a boy who’s bad and has some kind of personal thing with the main character, and it just feels too similar.

marley

2 comments on “Book Review: The Iron Trial

  1. It is always disappointing when a favourite author’s book falls flat. i had the same experience with another favourite fantasy author of mine recently. *sigh*

    Like

    • yeah, especially when it’s two of your favorites co-authoring 😦 but it’s always kind of sad, i don’t know, I still like them separately, but together it just didn’t seem to work *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

