Book Review: The Glass Arrow

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.

First line of the book:Run.”

Title: The Glass Arrow
Author: Kristen Simmons
My Edition: Published by Tor Teen in 2015, with 334 pages. First published in 2015.
Age: Young adult (15+. There’s some sexual references and things that happen that are quite graphical)
Genres: Young adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Apocalyptic, Fantasy, Romance and Adventure.

WHY THIS BOOK
I’ve looked at this book since it was released, but I’ve never really gotten to buy it, until I was able to buy it cheaper. Plus, the cover is amazing and the plot’s just awesome, and for once it’s a stand-alone book!

PLOT
4.5star
At first I loved the plot. The whole idea of women being put back so far, that we’re getting sold because we can give birth to kids just intrigued me. Not that I want that, I’m just saying it’s a really interesting concept. It’s really cool, and I really liked the whole idea of this society. I also liked that the MC is kind of outside all of that, that she’s being exposed to it very quickly and that she’s suddenly been forced to take part in what seems like a really corrupt and incredibly discriminating society. 

WRITING
5star
I seriously love the writing so much, I want to read more of Kristen Simmons just because of the writing itself. It’s fast paced, it’s action-filled and it’s so descriptive with vague explanations. Which sounds so strange, but it’s amazing. I was never bored reading this book.

The writing made this book so much better, I mean, it was a four when I finished it based on characters and plot and everything, but the writing just took this book so much higher in my opinion. I want to re-read it right now, and it was seriously hard to put down the book when I first started it.

CHARACTERS
4.5star
I loved Aya, or Clover. She’s strong-willed, witty and she knows exactly what she wants. She’s incredibly likable, and she’s definitely one of the fictional characters that I want to hang out with, I think I can learn so much from her. She’s incredibly smart, and she doesn’t seem like this “lucky” girl that kind of does all the wrong-but-right decisions and she’s just on a roll and everything. She’s smart and she can figure things out herself. All though she, like most heroines need a man to save her, she also saves him, and I love that about her. 

Kiran, which is by the way, my favorite boy-name (all though I like it like Keeran), is just amazing as well. I love him, and he’s now my top want-to-date fictional characters. He’s incredibly smart, cunning and protective. But, what made him refreshing was the fact that he’s different. He’s not the guy that says no, and that’s like the final word. Aya is allowed to be herself and she’s allowed to take her own decisions and I love that about him. Because I feel like often in books, the girl is put in this position where everyone else tells her no, and she have to kind of sneak around. Kiran is not that way, he’s perfect.

THE ENDING
4star
I didn’t love the ending, but I did not hate it. For once I thought that the ending made sense, and in this book it’s so open. Everything can happen after this. I don’t want to spoil the ending for you, so I’m not going to say much about it, other than the fact that it doesn’t go all too well or too bad. Like, it’s an open ending, but it makes sense.

ALL OVER
5star
I loved the fact that the whole book opens with an action-filled scene. It just gives us this perfect idea of how this book is going to be. It’s so fast-paced and I had to put it down so many times because I needed to sleep. This is a book I’m going to recommend to all of my friends, and shove it into everyone’s faces telling them that they NEED TO READ THIS RIGHT NOW. 

I also want to point out that this book gave me so much more than just an awesome read. It’s about women and how there are in some societies harder for women to be women. It’s about us being used as a wife, a caretaker and everything that we are not. We’re just as equal to men, and I feel like my favorite quote, which you can see below is just about that.

Also, here are some of my Goodreads updates throughout reading this book. Which is hilarious at this point.

Skjermbilde 2016-05-09 kl. 13.47.55Skjermbilde 2016-05-09 kl. 13.48.01Skjermbilde 2016-05-09 kl. 13.48.10Skjermbilde 2016-05-09 kl. 13.48.18Skjermbilde 2016-05-09 kl. 13.48.26

COVER
4.5star
I just love the cover, the font is just so cool, and I love the branches with the different colored leafs and the arrow. It’s just amazing to look at and it looks amazing in my bookshelf.

Favorite quote: “My ma taught me one thing from the beginning: My body is mine. My own. No one else’s. Just because somebody thinks they have rights to it, doesn’t make it true. I thought I understood that before, but here, in this place, it’s become more clear than ever how right she was. My flesh and blood–it’s the only thing I own, and I’ll defend it until I can’t fight anymore.”

marley

5 comments on “Book Review: The Glass Arrow

Leave a Reply

