Book Review: City of Bones

4star

 When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

First line: “You’ve got to be kidding me?” The bouncer said folding his arms across his massive chest.

­

Title: City of Bones (#1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
My edition: Paperback from Margaret K. McElderry Books published in 2008, with 485 pages. (First published in 2007)
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Series: The Mortal Instruments
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, Supernatural, Angels, Magic

 WHY THIS BOOK
Basically it was one of the first books I kind of got recommended through bookstagram, and I kind of knew that I had to try them. I also saw the movie when it came out and I loved the concept, so I was kind of looking forward diving into this, since there weren’t any more movies.

PLOT
4.5star
What I liked about the Mortal instruments is the originality about it. You have the basic paranormal/supernatural things like magic, supernatural creatures and then there’s the touch of angels. Angels have always been a fascination, how one author can change an angel’s features and aptitudes into something completely different from another author. In this book there’s Shadowhunters; something I found incredibly interesting. I mean, half human, half angel; fighting Downworlders (Vampires/Werewolves/Warlocks etc). The idea of it really made me want to read these books, and I really liked it. It portrayed vampires in a more bad ass kind of way, and not sad, cliché guys who falls in love with humans all the time. Werewolves were different, they were normal people, but they had a pack and it had that brutal nature of what you see in actual live wolves. And the warlocks were different. Everything about it was different, and I loved it.

WRITING
3.5star
Cassandra Clare has a extraordinary way of writing. Never have I tasted the smell of the air, or felt how the floors creek underneath my feet, or actually see characters standing in front of you so clearly you have every last detail of their faces and features. This is what is extraordinary about Cassandra Clare and her style of writing, but it’s also something that made me stop a couple of times during the books to take a break. I rarely have to put down a book, just because it gets boring because of details. I love details, just not this much.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
I felt like, reading this book that I got a clear image of the characters, and there are plenty, especially throughout the books – but in City of Bones we meet Clary, Jace, Alec, Isabel, Simon and Magnus. These are the key characters to the story; and of course Clary’s mom Jocelyn, Hodge, Valentine and Luke.

Clary to me feels less of a strong female character and more like a girl who needs to be put in place. She needs to be told “no”, and she needs to be taught everything she needs to know before she goes wandering off to find her mother. It feels like she’s just this unknowing girl who’s too naïve to really understand the danger she’s putting herself and everyone else in.

Jace was incredibly handsome to me. The bad boy, the guy who saves your life and sweeps you off your feet the minute he walks into the room. But he has flaws, everyone has flaws, and Jace’s flaws are easy to see and easy to understand. In many ways I wanted Jace to be the main character, I wanted this book to be about him and not Clary. I felt like all though she’s important to the plot, she’s not really the one we want to get to know.

Alec was also incredibly handsome. All though we understand that he prefers boys over girls, I still like him more than Clary (in a way where I would EASILY pick him over Clary, if I were a boy. No scratch that, I would still pick him over Clary any time). He felt like a logical choice to me, I wanted to get to know him too. Much more than I felt like I did during this book, and that made me sad because I liked him just as much as I liked Jace.

Isabel felt sort of like a torn character to me. It felt like she had to be sexualized because Clary wasn’t, and it felt like she had to be a boy in girl’s clothes because there were already too many boys. I felt like she didn’t get what she deserved, at least not from the way I understood her and her character.

Simon to me was kind of unnecessary, and I felt like he still was during the series. He’s the annoying sidekick, and I didn’t like him. He too was like Clary; and I hated the fact that Cassandra Clare made him lesser than he should have been.

ALL IN ALL
4star
The reason I’m giving this book a 4 is based on the fact that the plot is amazing, and I really liked the overall feeling I had from the book. I wanted to read more, and that’s pretty much what a book should do with you, but because of the writing that I felt was too much, and the characters I really didn’t connect with at all, it doesn’t get a five. By the way, the TV-show kind of made Clary seem even worse than she really was in the book.

COVER3starI think that at least my edition is kind of boring. I mean, they could have been a little more creative on the cover-front – but what I DO LOVE about Cassandra Clare books is that all of the Shadowhunter-related books have the same font and the same feeling to them!

Favorite quote:  “Have you fallen in love with the wrong person yet?’
Jace said, “Unfortunately, Lady of the Haven, my one true love remains myself.”
…”At least,” she said, “you don’t have to worry about rejection, Jace Wayland.”
“Not necessarily. I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting.”

marley

 

One comment on “Book Review: City of Bones

Leave a Reply

