Book Review: Illuminae

5star

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

First Line: “So here’s the file that almost killed me, Director.”

Title: Illuminae (#1)
Author(s): Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
My Edition: A paperback from Allan & Unwin, published in 2015 with 599 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Series: The Illuminae files (Going to be a trilogy I think, the second is out soon)
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery, Romance, Futuristic, Fantasy.

WHY THIS BOOK
First of all, it was just a wild guess. I mean, the cover was everywhere, but I just couldn’t find it any stores and I was like, well, maybe it’s just not faith. Then, when I was with Ida in Oslo, we went to Outland (Which now is my favorite place to buy books), and I saw it there and just knew I had to buy it.

PLOT
5star
The plot is just… amazing. And I feel like the plot just makes this book worthwhile reading. I feel like there’s no way I’m going to be able to kind of break this down to the “normal” sections we usually do in our reviews, but I’ll try my best.

In the book we kind of follow Kady Grant and Ezra Mason through files and documents (It’s everything from witness reports to hacked conversations and camera footage descriptions). We’re never really reading from either’s perspective, we’re kind of like the person who got the files dumped in our lap, and we kind of leap into this almost too intimate journey of two young adults, trying to survive.

In the beginning we get to know the duo through witness reports, where they kind of describe everything that happened in the Kenenza attack. How they got on board the ships – and they pretty much tell the same story, just through their own eyes. On board the ships called Alexander and Hypatia, they have two completely different lives, but they just can’t let each other go, and that’s pretty much the plot. How Kady, as a hacker finds all these files telling her what’s really going on, and the parallel story of the ship Lincoln (BeiTech, aka the bad people) is following them through space.

WRITING
5star
This book is so complex, and I can honestly say that I’ve never read anything like it, and it got me thinking; why isn’t this its own genre or something. It’s just amazing how much you can tell through just “files” and “reports”. We’re never really inside Kady or Ezra’s heads, we’re just observing, and I love it.

CHARACTERS
4star
The only thing that kind of, made me uncertain of this book and made me dislike it just a tiny little bit, was the several characters of this book. I know it’s necessary because of the plot-line with these massive ships and because of all the reports (I mean, they had to be written by someone) – but sometimes I was confused, and some characters I still have no idea who was.

Kady Grant to me is just bad ass. For once there’s this strong character that I feel that I can stand behind and actually support fully. She’s amazing. Her skills as a hacker are improving over time with the help of Byron, who’s a genius. But that’s pretty much all there is, we do get to know her a little bit through the hacking and her conversations with Ezra – but we don’t get that depth that I normally long for when reading a book, but for some reason, that was okay in this book. I didn’t have to know everything about her, it made more room for my imagination. We got small hints like she has pink hair, but to me, those small hints just made me go those extra lengths to imagine her like I wanted her to be.

Ezra Mason is this romantic guy who I absolutely adored. And to be honest, I liked him better than Kady, and I liked her a lot. Ezra is kind of that perfect bookish boyfriend, I want to meet him now. I really don’t want to say too much about the characters, because, I don’t want to spoil this beauty for you! But look out for Ezra, you’ll fall in love.

THE ENDING
4.5star
The ending is just amazing! I want Gemina RIGHT NOW. Like I would seriously almost go to the lengths of paying my way to Australia to pay Amie and Jay a visit personally to ask for the book. Seriously. This ending has this AMAZING cliffhanger and you’re going to want to read Gemina right AWAY.

ALL OVER
5star
Skjermbilde 2016-05-21 kl. 14.46.35
I loved it. I had to sometimes kind of read a couple of pages more than once, because not only is the plot amazing, but the way this book is put together, you’re going to love it. And I want to point out that it has ROMANCE, SCIENCE FICTION, BAD ASS GIRL CHARACTERS, BAD ASS BOY CHARACTERS, SUPERFICIAL INTELLIGENCE, It’s just BAD ASS. Go buy it.

COVER
4star
I love the cover, all though it didn’t really tell me much about the book in general. But it looks amazing in my bookshelf, and I love the colors (Orange is my favorite color)!

Favorite quote: “You deserve every star in the galaxy laid out at your feet and a thousand diamonds in your hair. you deserve someone who’ll run with you as far and as fast as you want to. holding your hand, not holding you back. You deserved more than I could ever give you, Kady. But I’ll give you everything I can if you still want me to.” – Ezra, p. 232

marley

One comment on “Book Review: Illuminae

Leave a Reply

