Book Review: Legend

4.5star

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

First line: “My mother thinks I’m dead.” 

Title: Legend (#1)
Author: Marie Lu
My Edition: Paperback published by Speak in 2013, with 305 pages.
Age: Young Adult (14+)
Series: Legend (Total of 3 books)
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy, Adventure, Teen, Action, Apocalyptic

WHY THIS BOOK
This was the book I picked up after reading The Hunger Games and Divergent, so I wanted to read something in the same street. So i ordered Legend and the second book and started, and I seriously read Legend in a day.

PLOT
5star
The plot revolves around June and Day, two completely different people who’s faith’s are braided together. June is high up in the system, she’s in the military and she lives comfortably. Day is from the slum, he’s wanted by the government.

What I loved about this book was the fact that it’s different than The Hunger Games and Divergent and Maze Runner. It’s not about testing or games or anything like that. This is plain and simple a dystopian society that’s going west – and there are two kids caught up in it.

WRITING
3.5star
This book is also kind of different because it’s written from two points of view. June (the heroine) and Day (the hero), and the storylines kind of collapse together in the end. The writing is probably the one thing I have issues with when it comes to this book. Since Marie Lu decided to kind of write them separately; there should be to voices. You can easily see it when you’re reading from different people’s perspectives, people think, speak, act differently. But when I read Legend, it some times felt like I was reading from the same person. They weren’t separated enough. But I also liked it, it gives us the room to actually get to know the characters, and they feel more developed that way.

But, that said, her book reminds me of Hunger Games and Divergent. The language is easy, she describes what needs to be described and there are no leftovers I felt were unnecessary. I also LOVE Marie Lu’s pacing in her books, you’re seriously on your toes throughout her books, and they never bore me (Yes, I’ve read everything by Lu and she’s one of my favorite authors).

CHARACTERS
5star
June Iparis was amazing, I liked her a lot. She’s strong, independent, and she isn’t the kind of character that makes me annoyed. Often when I read books with female protagonists, they often irritate me to some length, making the book weird. I don’t know, maybe it’s because I’m 22 years old and I’m starting to grow up, but I love conflicted romance, and girls often tend to fall for the guy immediately and it feels so unnatural. That is why I liked June at first, because she didn’t seem like the girl that would fall for the guy too easily. But she did, and that made it seem a little weird, but at the same time, I kind of didn’t care, because the story itself was so incredible, making up for he fact that June fell in love soon after she met Day.

Day was more of a, I don’t know, a mystery? In some periods of the books I loved him, and in others he annoyed me. I felt like he was trying so hard to be perceived as the bad guy, that it felt unreal. At the same time, I also felt like he had the same voice as June; and it could maybe influence the character to actually seem more feminine to me than it did to others? When I see other reviews, people have the opposite reaction; they don’t like June but love Day.

ALL IN ALL
5star
It is one of my favorite book trilogies of all time. They’re carefully placed beside The Lunar Chronicles, Divergent series, The Hunger Games and The Young Elites. I don’t know if the feeling I have now, after reading all of Marie Lu’s books are influencing me, maybe they are, but she’s an incredible writer and this was her debut as an author, and I think it’s perfect.

COVER
4star
I like the cover. To me it looks like someone had a stencil of the sigil, and tagged over it on the wall. Which is to me, perfect for this book. And I have to point out that I’m loving the covers of all the books.

Favorite quote: “Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time.”

marley

One comment on “Book Review: Legend

Leave a Reply

