Book Review: Nowhere

2.5star

‘No one’s coming for us.
Not our families, not the police.
No one.’

Alyn, Jes, Ryan and Elsa are Nowhere.
A concrete cube in the middle of a dense forest.
Imprisoned inside are one hundred teenagers from all over the country.
They’re all criminals. But none of them remember committing any crimes.
Who has put them there. What do their captors want?
And how will they ever break free…

First line: “Alyn came to with a start, coughing up clumps of snow.”

Title: Nowhere (#1)
Author: Jon Robinson
My edition: A paperback from Puffin Books, published in 2013, with 259 pages.
Age: Young Adult (12+)
Series: Nowhere (Total of 3 books)
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction and Dystopia

WHY THIS BOOK
While Ida and I were in Oslo, Ida found this on a shelf and was about to put it down before I decided to snatch it for myself. It looked and sounded so exciting, and I just knew I had to read it.

PLOT
4star
The plot was so promising. I mean, think about it; you waking up in a prison and you have no idea what you did to get there, but everyone says you’re guilty. You have no idea who your captors are, and everyone around you are starting to slowly fall under the impression that they did something wrong and they admit it. It sounds crazy?!

While the plot was promising, I also fell for the fact that it was all about some kids getting out, and all I could think was; what makes them so special? And will they make it?

WRITING
2.5star
The writing in a book is what makes me going. Often, when I find a plot kind of boring, or I feel like this isn’t my kind of book, it always falls to the writing. If the writing’s good, I often keep on going at least for a little while longer. In this book, I kept going just because of the plot, and not for the writing.

The writing is simple, it’s mainly just writing exactly what’s going on and nothing more. It’s like I can see everything going on, but I have no idea how the characters are feeling or what they’re thinking. I felt like it just became boring, like reading through a report about something that has happened to someone.

CHARACTERS
3star
There are a TON of characters in this book. Like at least twenty names, and I’m seriously the worst when it comes to names and people (one of the reasons why I seriously couldn’t continue Game of Thrones because it was just too many names to remember). Anyways, we have the inmates (Alyn, Jes, Julian, Ryan, Harlan, Elsa and Tom) and we have the guards/bad people (Martin Adler, Rayner, Susannah/teacher and Felix (I think that’s all of them)).

Alyn was the most likable character. At first I thought it was a girl, then he wasn’t, and then I kind of realized that he was kind of nice guy. He came from a troubled family, and he was also one of the first getting caught by the bad people.

Jes is this kind of, I don’t know, I couldn’t get a sense of who she was. At one moment she was kind of cool, the next she was weird and I don’t know. The same about Elsa, she’s kind of hard to understand. And Ryan just came in from nowhere and suddenly he’s taking Alyn’s place. To me, there should have been more depth, there should have been more pages going into the characters and kind of giving them time to actually introduce themselves.

ALL IN ALL
2.5star
The book has a fast pace, which I love – but since the book’s got little depth, and it feels like just someone telling me what someone’s doing and nothing more, it doesn’t feel like a book, it feels more like a report. I wanted so badly to like it, but I just didn’t like it as much as I wanted to, and especially when I’ve just read two amazing books, this just felt like a waste of time really. But it’s got potensial, I mean, I want the next book to know how this turns out, I’m just not going to get my hands on it right away.

Skjermbilde 2016-05-27 kl. 15.24.40

COVER
4star
The cover is one of the things I love about this book. It looks so interesting, and that’s really what made Ida pick up the book to look at it, and half of the reason why I bought it.

Favorite quote: “A brave man is just a fool who get’s lucky” – julian, p. 6

marley

One comment on “Book Review: Nowhere

Leave a Reply

