Book Review: Jane Eyre

4.5star

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed.

First line in the book: “There was no possibility of taking a walk that day.”

Title: Jane Eyre
Author: Charlotte Brontë
My Edition: Published by Race Point Publishing in 2014, with 528 pages
Age: Young adult and adults
Genres: Classics, Romance, Historical Fiction, Gothic

WHY THIS BOOK
This was a wild guess after I’d seen the movie a couple of years ago and suddenly remembered the name Jane Eyre. I could remember thinking that the movie was weird, so I wanted to read the book.

PLOT
3.5star

The book’s plot is pretty much what you could expect from the Victorian period. A woman with her own mind who wants to do things her way. What is amazing about this plot is that I actually feel like there’s some horror/fantasy to it. This was what made me continue reading, not only was it giving me goosebumps some times, but it was incredibly interesting reading about Jane, and her journey from the school to becoming a woman.

WRITING
3star

Brontë’s writing is special. It’s very describing, hence the 500 pages, but she goes so much into detail, that I sometimes lost the courage to continue the book. It was sometimes boring, and I felt like I was reading the book just to get through it. But at the same time, her writing is amazing. It’s descriptive, yes, but at the same time she describes things in a special way making the book feel alive. She writes and develop this strong female character, a character that I’ve never forgotten.

CHARACTERS
4star
Jane has one of the most exciting character developments of all the character’s I’ve ever read. The chapters about her childhood portray this lonely and fragile girl who feels that she doesn’t matter at all. She’s childish and everything’s unfair, and I think that’s the right way to portray any child. I feel like I’m seeing the world through Jane’s eyes, and I love that about this book.

Mr. Rochester seems to me like he’s the worst boss ever invented. I mean, he has an interest in Jane, and throughout the book you kind of feel like he has this power over her, making me, as a reader, actually terrified. He’s angry, moody and he says the wrong things at the wrong moments.

ALL IN ALL
4.5star

I’ll never forget the book, and I want to re-read it again. I wanted to close the book and never open it again, but seconds later I found myself reading page after page all excited. It was absolutely worth reading, and if you like romance classics with a little bit of mystery and horror (just not scary), this is the book for you. I’m not kidding when I say that I’m happy that I read the book, and I now actually have two different editions of it.

COVER
5star
I love the cover, or shall I say the edition? It’s so beautiful and I love that all these classics editions have like the same theme to them!

Favorite quote: “I have for the first time found what I can truly love–I have found you. You are my sympathy–my better self–my good angel–I am bound to you with a strong attachment. I think you good, gifted, lovely: a fervent, a solemn passion is conceived in my heart; it leans to you, draws you to my centre and spring of life, wrap my existence about you–and, kindling in pure, powerful flame, fuses you and me in one.”

marley

Leave a Reply

