Book Review: A Walk To Remember

There was a time when the world was sweeter….when the women in Beaufort, North Carolina, wore dresses, and the men donned hats. Every April, when the wind smells of both the sea and lilacs, Landon Carter remembers 1958, his last year at Beaufort High. Landon had dated a girl or two, and even once sworn that he’d been in love. Certainly the last person he thought he’d fall for was Jamie, the shy, almost ethereal daughter of the town’s Baptist minister. Jamie, who was destined to show him the depths of the human heart-and the joy and pain of living

First line: “When I was seventeen, my life changed forever.”

Title: A Walk To Remember
Author: Nicholas Sparks
My Edition: I borrowed a paperback published by Grand Central Publishing in 2004, with 240 pages. (First published in 1999).
Age: Young Adult (14+)
Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction, Chick Lit, Young Adult, Contemporary, Adult
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

WHY THIS BOOK
I saw the movie and I absolutely fell in love with it. I’m a sucker for a good love-story, and one that has a somewhat tragic outcome (I know, I sound crazy) are my favorites. So I borrowed this from a friend of mine, and I read it in like two days, it was so mezmerizing.

PLOT
4star
The plot is pretty straight forward, we have Landon, who’s the typical bad guy. He hangs out with the wrong “crowd”, drinks and drives, and he’s not really after girls for a relationship, but everything else. He doesn’t care much for his future, and he’s one of those kids that bullies the weirder ones. Then we have Jamie, the daughter of the town’s minister, total sweetheart, takes care of everyone in town and does a lot of nice things.

So, when Landon suddenly is put together with Jamie, he hates his life, because everyone else thinks he’s lame for hanging out with Jamie. And when Jamie comes with the “outrageous” statement that he can’t fall in love with her, Landon laughs, not really knowing what’s going on.

It’s kind of the typical boy meets girl story, but I liked it. It was set a little back in the days, in a small town, which is something I’ve always liked when reading books. And for once the whole romance is seen from the man’s point of view, not the woman. And in this story that works so well, it makes total sense.

WRITING
3.5star
Nicholas Spark’s writing is easy, but beautiful. Of all the books I’ve read of him, they never really disappoint me when it comes to the writing. It’s easy and understanding, whilst it’s incredibly beautiful and typical Sparks. He makes every sentence seem important, and that is why this book is my absolute favorite of his. It’s so beautifully written, and he somehow makes Landon not seem like a total stranger (in the means that Landon doesn’t suddenly change into the world’s most romantic guy out of a sudden), he makes evolves Landon into becoming a man.

CHARACTERS
4.5star

Landon is, as I said, the typical bad boy. Everything evolves around him and what others think of him, so when he starts to hang out with Jamie, everyone immediately makes fun of him, making him make fun of Jamie. He’s what I would call the darkness and Jamie would be the light, which is what I think was the meaning of this whole book. That we all need that light in our lives.

Jamie is probably one of the most annoying characters I’ve come across, but she’s good-annoying. I don’t feel like we could have hanged out together, but she’s just one of those girls that we (or should I say the general public) overlooks, because she’s not that special. She doesn’t make a big number out of herself, and that’s why she’s so annoying and so beautiful at the same time.

It is, though, kind of shallow. I mean, they’re so polished, but it was kind of nice, escaping to a world where people like these existed.

ALL IN ALL
4star
I had about four stages reading this book. First the “aaw, that’s cute” stage. Then there was the “Nope, I’m not going to cry” stage. Then after a short while there was the “Okay, I’m crying now” stage. And then after finishing the last page there was the “Damn you Nicholas Sparks, damn you” stage.

In other words, I wasn’t bored, I absolutely loved it.

COVER
3.5star
The cover is kind of boring, at least the one I had. And I’m not going to lie, I don’t love it. But it’s not a bad cover either. I mean, all of Nicholas Sparks’ books have covers similar to this.

Favorite quote: “Love is like the wind, you can’t see it but you can feel it.”

marley

66457c8a

Leave a Reply

