Bookish Post: May wrap-up

It’s finally June, and I’m ready for a small wrap-up! This month I’ve experienced so much I’m not even kidding when I say that I think this has been one of the the best months I’ve had in years. I’ve read so many good books, I’ve seen so many of my friends, I’ve been home in my home town and a ton has happened!

First of all it’s the crazy bookhaul. After April I’d kind of promised my boyfriend that I wouldn’t buy any more books until I’d read like forty of the one’s I already had. I’m sorry boyfriend, but it didn’t work. I had my 22nd birthday on May 4th, so I got some bookish stuff (gift card, pop funko characters, oh, and books).


BOOKS I’VE READ IN MAY
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
4star
I finally understood what all the hype was about, and I also got to read it before the movie comes out soon (or rather soon). You can read the review here.

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis
1.5star
This was a book I’d been dying to read for so long, and when I finally read it I was so sad because it didn’t even begin to meet my expectations. You can read the review here.

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons
5star
A new all-time favorite! It was also a book I’d been waiting to read for quite some time, and when I finally got it I just couldn’t wait to start reading it! You can read the review here.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
4.5star
A book that actually made me want to read more fantasy! I’ve been avoiding fantasy for a while, because I often get disappointed – but this book was just amazing. You can read the review here.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
5star
Also a new favorite! I drooled through it while home in Harstad, and I just loved it. My mom even had to peak inside it, and she doesn’t even read. You can read the review here.

Nowhere by Jon Robinson
2.5star
This was a random pick at a bookstore in Oslo while Ida and I was there, and we thought it looked so interesting, so I ended up buying it! Not my favorite, but worth the read. You can read a review here.

Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne
3.5star
It’s not an incredible book, but it got me interested! So I continued the series into June and I am now on book 2. I’ll post a review on this book as soon as I get my hands free!


JUNE

I can’t wait to continue reading through my bookshelf – I have so many amazing books on their way, and already a bunch of them in my bookshelf. But, I do have an exam in June, and my mom’s coming to visit, so I’m hoping that I’ll get some time reading in June as well.

I’m hoping this month will be as good as May, seriously, because I’ve read so many incredible books this past month.

My next read: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

marley

Leave a Reply

