Book Review: Monument 14: Sky On Fire

3.5star

Trapped in a superstore by a series of escalating disasters, including a monster hailstorm and terrifying chemical weapons spill, brothers Dean and Alex learned how to survive and worked together with twelve other kids to build a refuge from the chaos. But then strangers appeared, destroying their fragile peace, and bringing both fresh disaster and a glimmer of hope.

Knowing that the chemical weapons saturating the air outside will turn him into a bloodthirsty rage monster, Dean decides to stay in the safety of the store with Astrid and some of the younger kids. But their sanctuary has already been breached once. . . .

Meanwhile, Alex, determined to find their parents, heads out into the darkness and devastation with Niko and some others in a recently repaired school bus. If they can get to Denver International Airport, they might be evacuated to safety. But the outside world is even worse than they expected. . . .

First line: “Niko Mills – Our leader.”

Title: Sky on Fire
Author: Emmy Laybourne
My Edition: A hardback from Feiwel & Friends with 215 pages
Age: Young Adult (16+)
Series: Monument 14 (Total of 3 books)
Genres: Young Adult, Dystopia, Apocalyptic, Survival, Adventure, Romance
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

WHY THIS BOOK
Since I had it, and I thought that Monument 14 wasn’t that I continued the series in hopes that it would pick up!

PLOT
3star

The kids are, in this book, split into two groups. Kids with bloodtype O stayed at the superstore, while the others took the bus to find the military in Denver. Jake also disappears. Now we get everything from Dean and Alex’s point of views, which is nice because I kind of liked Alex more than Dean, all though I couldn’t really connect with any of them.

The plot of this book is kind of more interesting, finally they’re doing something. So this book had more potential. And it actually stepped up from book 1, which was nice.

WRITING
3star

The writing is pretty much like the first book, nothing special. Only now we have two points of views. The bad thing about is that I can’t really say that I can divide them, like they could have been the same person if it hadn’t been for the actual plot. When authors decide to split point of views, I expect to find individual voices, almost like there’s two authors, but in this book, I couldn’t find that.

I also miss more descriptions.

“It was obvious that Payton was paranoid. He seemed crazy and very aggressive”

Like this, I want to know why, I want to know how he’s acting. I want descriptions of his eyes, of how his body works, why is he obviously paranoid? Why does he seem crazy and aggressive?

CHARACTERS
2star

The characters also stay the same. Dean doesn’t change, Astrid’s still annoying. We’re introduced to some new bad guys, and they actually seem like bad guys. Especially Anna, she freaks me out. We lose a character, but I don’t feel anything, and actually, it doesn’t seem like it’s a big deal for the characters in the book either. Which was strange.

Alex annoyed me a lot.

“I hated this Eddie, sight unseen. He’s the worst person I’ve ever met.”

Okay, why? You haven’t even met the guy, but still, he’s the worst person you’ve met?

“Sahalia took off her last swearshirt and the whole t-shirt came off, like sometimes happens. I saw her boobs in her lacy bra. Big whoop.”

The sexism doesn’t stop, which is no surprise either.

THE ENDING
4star

Somehow, Laybourne doesn’t get me hooked through a story, but she knows how to create an ending. And this one too, made me interested in the next book.

ALL IN ALL
3.5star

I don’t love the book, and I’m not planning on reading the third book in the nearest future even though I have it. I have too many other books that I want to read before this even becomes a subject. I would like to say that this book takes it up a notch after reading the first book, and that I’m guessing and hoping that the third book will be a winner.

COVER
4star
I’m still loving the covers!

Favorite quote: “I wanted to wring my own neck for being so lame.”

marley

66457c8a

One comment on “Book Review: Monument 14: Sky On Fire

Leave a Reply

