Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss

3.5star

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

First line:“Here is everything I know about France: Madeline and Amèlie and Moulin Rouge.”

Title: Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
My Edition: A paperback from Speak published in 2013 with 372 pages. (First published in 2010)
Age: Young Adult (16+)
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Cultural, Travel, Realistic Fiction.
Series: Anna and the French Kiss (Total of 3 books)
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

WHY THIS BOOK
This was all over my instagram feed, and I am a sucker for romance in between all the dystopia. So I decided to order them and read them.

PLOT
3star

Anna and the French Kiss start off when Anna is sent to Paris to a boarding school. While on school she falls in love with St.Clair, this handsome American guy, who talks british and is fluent in french. (Yeah, I know)… So, the story is pretty much about Anna moving to Paris, the city of love, where she falls in love. It’s totally cheesy, but sometimes that’s a good thing. I mean, for myself, I love to read at least one kind of cheesy book a month, because it kind of feels like I start fresh when I start with another book later. 

The thing is though, that we’ve heard this story so many times it’s kind of old. I didn’t feel typically drawn to the story, I just felt like it was another book I just had to try out. So, it was, and isn’t a love-story favorite, but a nice summer story that isn’t too bad.

WRITING
3star
Perkins has this nice and easy flow throughout the book. It’s not complicated, or coated with a lot of descriptions – it’s just generally a really nice young adult read. The writing didn’t make me want to read more, but it didn’t stop me from reading it either.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
I also love Anna as a character, she’s easy to understand and I kind of connected to her early in the book. But, I also found her a bit shallow? She says she’s a film buff and homes to one day become America’s leading film critic. She’s surprised that Paris has cinemas? Paris is the home of film. Also, she seems kind of stupid. She’s at an American school in Paris, everyone speaks English, but she’s terrified of getting food in the cafeteria because she doesn’t know how to order food. She avoids the cafeteria for weeks.

Rashmi didn’t really get to me at all, Mer is weird, Amanda is a bitch, and everything seems like it’s building up to Anna being the best choice out there. And then, when Etienne (don’t get me started on Etienne) admits he likes Anna, Anna does everything she can not to make Mer jealous because Mer also likes Etienne.

I get it, I get the whole teenager angst, you finally have friends, but one of them likes the same guy, so you kind of not want to make things worse and everything. But what I also know is that, if she’s your friend, she’ll understand. Seriously. Oh, and Etienne, he’s too perfect. I couldn’t even like him one second, of course it was cute and everything, but it just got a bit too sugar-sweet for my taste.

THE ENDING
1.5star
It’s kind of boring, I mean, it’s a sugar-sweet happily ever after ending and it didn’t make me want to read the next book. Like at all. 

ALL IN ALL
3.5star
This book is pretty much like every contemporary romance book I have. It’s the kind of book that doesn’t really move me in any way, but it’s a nice and effort-less read. I would recommend it to people who want a nice and easy read with nothing more to it. And it’s also a perfect summer-read! 

COVER
3.5star
The cover is simple, yet tasteful and it looks great in my bookshelf. It actually pops out with its pink/purple-ish colors! 

Favorite quote: “For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”

marley

66457c8a

 

Leave a Reply

