Book Review: The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy

5star

Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.Together they begin a journey through the universe, filled with action and surprises. They meet up with fellow travellers and has The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy to aid them.

First line in the book: “The house stood on a slight rise just on the edge of the village.” 

Title: The Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy (#1)
Author: Douglas Adams
My edition: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: A triology in five parts. Hardcover, 776 pages. Published October 16th 1995 by Heinemann (first published 1992).
Series: The Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy
Genre: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Humor, classics

WHY THIS BOOK
It’s been on my TBR for years, after both a friend of mine and my mom’s boyfriend kept constantly quoting from it, telling me to read it. Then I finally got it for christmas (from my Mom’s boyfriend), and could start reading!

THE PLOT
5star
The plot is probably the best thing about the whole book. Adams shows us “our” Universe as one filled with extraordinary species, planets, systems and things we couldn’t even imagine. To set the main character as a human being who survives the total destruction on Earth and has to adapt to a whole new reality in a universe filled with things he didn’t even know existed, is just amazing. They meet up with Zaphod Beeblebrox, a kind of crazy ex-hippie who happens to be the president of the Universe. He has an entire plan of his own (or does he…?), which makes the plot takes swings and turns we wouldn’t ever guessed.

WRITING
5star
The writing style in this book is also one of the things I loved the most. This book is just so ridiculously funny, I seriously laughed out loud several times during my reading. It’s just genius. The story is on point at all times, and Adams still manages to write it in a way that just makes it all either goofy, awkward or funny. At the same time he also manages to explain everything that needs to be explained, or explain why it does not really need to be explained at all. Seriously, I have no complains here at all.

CHARACTERS
3star
There really are some amazing characters in this book. My personal favorites are Ford Prefect and Zaphood Beeblebrox, which I think is the most developed characters of them all. Their actions fit to their characters and everyone is genuinely funny to read about. I also love Marvin, the chronically depressed robot.

But when it comes to the main character Arthur Dent, I feel like something is missing. He is most definitely the character we are supposed to relate the most to, but I find him a bit boring and helpless. The helpless part can probably be forgiven, since this book takes place during Dent’s first days surviving in the Universe. But, I still feel he could have been given a bit more characteristics. Maybe this gets better in the next books though.
ALL IN ALL
5star

I’m just really pleased, actually. This book was everything I wanted it to be, and it was so nice to read a funny, easy book that doesn’t need a lot of thinking and speculating (although I love that as well, it’s good to have something easy to read once in a while). This is my exact type of humor, and I had a really good time reading through the pages. I’m already looking forward to start on the next in this “trilogy”!
Favorite quote: “For a moment, nothing happened. Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.” 
idaelise
2 comments on “Book Review: The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy

  1. […] The Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy by Douglas Adams My first full score of 2016! This book was everything I wanted it to be – and more. I got it for christmas from my mom’s boyfriend and both him and others have been telling me to read it for so long. I seriously love it, and I laughed out loud so many times. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

