Book Review: The Dream Thieves

4.5star

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

First line: “A secret is a strange thing.” 

Title: The Dream Thieves (#2)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
My Edition: A paperback from Scholastic Press, published in 2013 with 437 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Series: The Raven Cycle (A total of 4 books)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Magic, Romance, Urban Fantasy, Supernatural.
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

WHY THIS BOOK
It was pretty natural to continue the series after the first book, The Raven Boys, because I was honestly starting to wonder if I’d found myself a new favorite fantasy series, and I think I have.

PLOT
4star

The first book was more about Blue Sargent, or at least that’s what I felt. This book was more about Ronan Lynch, and he was one of those characters I just couldn’t really like or dislike in the first book. In my eyes, he was the perfect bad boy, and he was the kind of guy that you couldn’t walk past without at least noticing him. I have a pretty vivid picture of him.

Anyways, the first book was kind of the introduction to all of these characters, the second book, this one that is, was a deeper dive into Ronan Lynch and his family, but it was also more about Adam Parish, this character that I actually hated from the first page in the first book. I liked the plot, it was slow, but I liked it. The introduction to the Gray Man, to Kavincsky, and we got more involvement from Blue’s family of physics.

But, that being said, I thought that the plot was interesting, and kind of needed to create that depth to Ronan, but it was also a really long book that took me a really long time to read. So the plot wasn’t all that good in my eyes, I wanted more to happen, I wanted that big finale.

WRITING
5star

I don’t think I can put words to how much I love Stiefvater’s writing. It’s flawless, and she, as I said in my review of The Raven Boys, that she can describe a grey stone so vividly that it will actually gain some kind of beauty. It’s incredible. I love how she can describe someone’s feelings to an object, kind of making them the same thing. It’s just amazing, and it makes me want to read more of her books.

I just love the way she can make you smile on a page just by writing and comparing things to people or feelings. It’s just perfect.

“She wore a dress Ronan thought looked like a lampshade. Whatever sort of lamp it belonged on, Gansey clearly wished he had one.
Ronan wasn’t a fan of lamps.”

CHARACTERS
4star

The characters are pretty much the same in this book as the last. We have Gansey, my absolute favorite character. I loved him so much in the first book, and I can honestly say that I loved him even more in this book, all though he didn’t have the main attention throughout the book.

Blue kind of pisses me off, and I won’t tell you why exactly because I feel like it can spoil the book for you, but I can’t seem to like her as much as I want to. All though, in this book she kind of gained more trust, and I liked her more in this book than I did in the first.

Ronan was the big mystery in the first book, and after that ending in the Raven Boys, I was hoping that I would learn more about him in one of the later books. And in this book, we get a full dive into Ronan’s life, who he is, why he is the way he is, and I just loved every second of it. of course he had some parts that I couldn’t really agree with, but that’s okay, because I love him just the same even though he does and says some things that I’m not really understanding why.

Adam to me was a big, I don’t know, the downside to this book, I didn’t like him at all. He was going through some changes, and I’m understanding that, and I’m taking that into consideration, but he’s just turning more and more unlikable.

I loved how we got to know The Gray Man throughout this book. The small chapters on him made this book, I don’t know, much more interesting. And I liked his character, and I was pleased when I saw that he was also in the third book, Blue Lily, Lily Blue.

THE ENDING
4star
I was really happy that I actually had the third book in the series by my side when I finished this book! Absolutely a worthy ending.

ALL IN ALL
4.5star
I loved this book more than I loved The Raven Boys, and that’s because of the depth this book gave to the characters. It gave me more of a feeling to who Blue’s family was, the dynamics between the boys, and the growing relationships that Blue is forming with each of them.

Skjermbilde 2016-06-25 kl. 01.29.58
(My Goodreads updates, since you’ve liked them so far!)

THE COVER
3star
I think the cover is kind of boring, I don’t know about you, but it just didn’t give me anything more than a face to Ronan.

Favorite quote: “A secret is a strange thing. There are three kinds of secrets. One is the sort everyone knows about, the sort you need at least two people for. One to keep it. One to never know. The second is a harder kind of secret: one you keep from yourself. Every day, thousands of confessions are kept from their would-be confessors, none of these people knowing that their never-admitted secrets all boil down to the same three words: I am afraid. And then there is the third kind of secret, the most hidden kind. A secret no one knows about. Perhaps it was known once, but was taken to the grave. Or maybe it is a useless mystery, arcane and lonely, unfound because no one ever looked for it. Sometimes, some rare times, a secret stays undiscovered because it is something too big for the mind to hold. It is too strange, too vast, too terrifying to contemplate. All of us have secrets in our lives. We’re keepers or kept from, players or played. Secrets and cockroaches — that’s what will be left at the end of it all.”  

66457c8a

marley

One comment on “Book Review: The Dream Thieves

Leave a Reply

