Book Review: The Restaurant at The End of the Universe (The Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy #2)

4star

Arthur and his travelling companions set out on new adventures, starting off with Arthur almost killing everyone because he so desperatly craves a cup of tea. Inside the powerful ship “Heart of Gold”, wich is the one and only ship to use the “infinite improbability drive”, they end up in places and times in the universe they could never imagine. During the book they visit The Restaurant at the End of the Universe, where the food itself offers you to eat it. Other than that, it’s almost impossible to imagine what’s next for this group. Together with Ford Prefect, an expert contributor of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Zaphod Beeblebrox, an ex-hippie and ex-president of the Universe, Trillian, a normal human being and Marvin, a really depressed robot, Arthur set out to discover more and more about what the Universe has to offer.

First line(s): The story so far: In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.

Title: The Restaurant at The End of The Universe (#2)
Author:
Douglas Adams
My edition:
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy: A triology in Five Parts. Hardcover, 776 pages. Published October 16th 1995 by Heinemann (first published 1992) 
Age:
12+
Series:
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy
Genres:
Science Fiction, Humor, Fantasy, Classics

READ ABOUT THE FIRST BOOK HERE

WHY THIS BOOK
For the same reason I told about in the review of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy (#1). And the fact that the first one was so amazing made it pretty easy to begin on the second one.

PLOT
3star
In my last review, I gave the plot full score. I was amazed, and I still believe that it deserves full score. But, to be honest: The plot is actually what I struggle the most with in this one. Although there are some things making the story go along, a main plot of sorts, it often feels like the whole book is just our characters ending up in one peculiar place after another. This is kind of cool; I’ve never read a book that makes it work likes this one, and it works because the whole book is so random in a funny way that it just makes sense. But, I miss something that makes me really want to sit up all night finding out about the HOW-question. You know, the “how is this going to end?” or “how are they going to make it?” or something like that. A plot that makes me want to read the whole thing in one sitting. And it is a plot, both one in each book (so far at least) and also one that probably will follow us from the first book to the last. It is there, but there’s so much random going on I sometimes forget about this. So, it works, but it also makes it easy to just put down the book for a while. I just never quite understood the plot in this one maybe… But that being said, the plot makes it impossible to not continue on the third book after reading this one!

WRITING
5star
And here comes one of the best part about the book: It’s amazing. Seriously, it’s so geniously funy I’m left wishing I was a friend of the writer because he must have been the funniest guy to talk to ever. With this kind of imagination and this way to make it all hilarious, he must have been the funniest guy to be friends with ever. There’s so many times I find myself bursting into laughter while reading about all of this stupid, crazy, random things. I finished this book on an airplane and I swear to God, the poor guy sitting next to me must have thought I was going insane.

CHARACTERS
4star
In my review of book one, I wrote that the only thing I had to complain about was the main character. I usually struggle with books where I can’t seem to relate or like the main character, and that was a bit of a problem for me during the first book. That doesn’t really change in this one, Arthur is still… Not really characteristic compared to the other chracters in this book, but finally I am at piece with it. To make the explanation short: Arthur is a human being. A human being ain’t shit in this universe. That’s the whole point. Now I’m kind of left thinking that Adams has done an amazing job with this character, because it reflect’s the whole point of the whole book. Earth was demolished to make way for a galactic freeway. That say’s a lot about how much the humans really meant out there in the whole wide universe. Arthur is merely a “tool”, a reflection of us readers, a human being, seeing all of this new, astonishing things that are out there. We don’t need to learn about how humans react, feel and reflect. We know. What we don’t know, is everything else. So, I’m finally at peace with Arthur. Also, he actually does some funny things during the book, so I feel that I know him a little better know. I’m pleased.

When it comes to absolutely every other character in this book, I just love them. Marvin the Depressed Robot (or the Paranoid Android if you like) continues to be my all time favorite, and both Ford Prefect and Zaphod Beeblebrox come in a great second. I also found an amazing minor character that I just loved in this book: The Captain in the bathtub. And the whole deal with the Golgafrinchans. That part was just a great read.

ALL IN ALL
4star
Adams clearly did not lose his spark from the last book, and this second one continues to amaze me and humor me all along. It’s a really easy read, and it’s funny from first page to last. And even though it is such a funny, random book, it actually makes me think. Adams manages to sneak in some really cool metaphors and philosofic questions and I kind of wished I had a friend I could be discussing certain things from the books with (Think I’m going to force Marlene through this one). If you’re looking for an easy, funny book, this is it. Really. This is the series for you.

Favorite quote: “The first ten million years were the worst”, said Marvin, “and the second ten million years, they were the worst too. The third ten million years I didn’t enjoy at all. After that I went to a bit of a decline.”

idaelise

One comment on “Book Review: The Restaurant at The End of the Universe (The Hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy #2)

  1. […] The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams This is the second book in A Hitchhiker’s Guide To the Galaxy. It’s still exactly as hilariously funny as the first one, and I love the writing and the characters so incredibly much! What brought the score down one heart for me is that I struggled a little bit with the plot in this one. It kind of seems like they just go to one crazy place after another, getting in deeper and sometimes not-so-deep shit. I wanted a goal of sorts for them to stretch for, wich I couldn’t see that clearly in this one. But it’s still an amazing book! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

