Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

5star

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

First line: “Do you think this is actually real?” Blue asked. 

Title: Blue Lily, Lily Blue
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
My Edition: A paperback from Scholastic Press published in 2014, with 389 pages.
Age: 15+
Series: The Raven Cycle (Total of 4 books)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Magic, Romance, Urban Fantasy, Supernatural, Mystery and Mythology.

BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

PLOT
4.5star
I love the plot of this book, with each book we’re closer and closer to the Raven King, and Gansey’s goal. Everyone’s got different reasons for joining in the search, and suddenly things are narrowing down to the fact that they’re all friends, but do they really know each other? Can they trust each other? And this is what made me love the plot throughout this book. It’s amazing, and I couldn’t stop reading!

I also like where it’s going, that it’s changing from a book about the search, into a book about friendship, trust and family.

WRITING
5star
I can’t point out how beautiful Stiefvater’s writing is. These books have become a favorite series, and I’ll be coninuing to read Stiefvater in the future because of these books. The writing is, as I’ve said in previous reviews, amazing. She can make a rock beautiful just by describing it in amazing ways. Love it.

CHARACTERS
4star
In this book we dig deeper into everyone’s lives. We get to know Blue more, and we get to know about her relationship with her mother. We learn more about Ronan and his family. We learn more about Adam and his family dynamics, and we learn more about Gansey and his past.

It’s seriously amazing characters, and their depth is amazing. I feel like I learn something new about them through every page and it almost feels like I’m there with them. Like I’m getting to know them myself. I just love how Blue and her boys are tangled together.

I didn’t like this book’s villains though, Mr. Greenmantle didn’t really feel, enough? And his wife, no, it just didn’t work. They seemed out of place and like these really stupid villains you put in Disney movies.

THE ENDING
4star
The ending is what made me want to continue the series, I mean, it’s just the biggest cliffhanger and I can’t wait to have The Raven King.

ALL IN ALL
5star
It’s truly an amazing book, and an amazing series. This book alone is worth reading the series! You have to read it!

Skjermbilde 2016-06-25 kl. 01.32.09(and my Goodreads updates!)

marley

66457c8a

Leave a Reply

