Book Review: The Merciless

1.5star

Forgive us, Father, for we have sinned

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.
 
Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.
 
Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls . . . unless she wants to be next. . . .

First line: “I snag my thumb on the lunch tray’s metal edge, and a crescent of blood appears under my cuticle.”

Title: The Merciless
Author: Danielle Vega
My edition: A paperback from Razorbill with 279 pages.
Age: 16+ (Or horror fans of all ages)
Genres: Young Adult, Horror, Paranormal, Fantasy.
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

WHY THIS BOOK
This book had been on my TBR for a really long time, not only because I’m a huge horror-movie fan, but because I love everything involving exorcisms and stuff, I’m just a huge fan of everything like that, so I thought why not try a book in that direction?

PLOT
4star
I actually love the idea of the plot. It made me turn the pages, wanting to know what was really going to happen. I’d read he synopsis a long time ago, and had no idea that everything was going to change – so, that was a surprise. But, it’s also so difficult to take this book seriously. First of all, the idea of three highly religious girls (Who are the most popular girls in school too), that end up wanting to exorcise another girl because they think she needs to be saved, well, it’s highly unlikely to happen – but I bought it. Then there were all these things happening, that just made me laugh and look at my boyfriend and tell him that this book was so crappy.

Now, my thoughts are, okay, you’re the new girl, you’ve had a really bad time at your last school and you suddenly get friends really high on the social rankings of high school, of course you’re going to do everything to keep that. But the thing is, I wanted more.

WRITING
2star
I didn’t feel the writing at all, and that was really sad. It’s easy to read, and it’s fast paced, but it just felt so shallow at times. It’s very simplistic, but to me that’s often on the plus side, but in this book it just became something that dragged the book down in the mud. I also felt like the language used in the book, like “Bitch”, “Whore” was really immature and it became this thing where I was shaking my head and laughing when these things came up because it just sounded so stupid.

CHARACTERS
1.5star
We have Sofia Flores, the new girl who went through some bad things at her old school, and is now in Friends to start a new life. Kind of. Then she meets Riley and her minions, and she’s taken under their wing. She also befriends Brooklyn, the weirdo, who Riley and her friends doesn’t like. So, Sofia is torn between the two “groups”. Sofia annoyed me the most. Not only can she not decide who she wants to hang out with, but she takes the poorest choices, making her so shallow I could hardly even like her at all.

Brooklyn was weird, and all though I liked her during the first chapter, I started to really hate her during the following. She’s supposed to be the victim in this story, and she plays the victim so well, but the weird thing was, she seemed like the least shallow character of them all. Really.

Riley was what annoyed me the most in this book. I kept on seeing Georgina from Mean Girls only bloody and crazy. And I could believe it, I mean, Georgina from Mean Girls is crazy to some degree, but in this book she goes off the racks. Riley did not have one reason what so ever to exorcise Brooklyn, and I have a hard time believing that a teen girl with a strong belief in God would do something like this. But then again, It’s not that unlikely.

 THE ENDING
3star
Of all the things in this book that I actually thought, cool, was the ending. It’s unpredictable and predictable at the same time, making it kind of interesting.

ALL IN ALL
1.5star
The book lacks depth, and it lacks strong character building, a reason for me to feel sad or scared or angry or happy. I was seriously without emotion throughout this book, which is so unlike me. Normally when I read a book, I feel something. Normally I can relate to at least one character, and normally I can kind of put myself in the story making it more interesting to me. But this time nothing like that happened, I just finished it because I had to finish it, you know?

Skjermbilde 2016-07-02 kl. 11.12.28

 Favorite quote: I had none.

marley

66457c8a

2 comments on “Book Review: The Merciless

Leave a Reply

