Series Review: The Lunar Chronicles

This is a review of the entire series of The Lunar Chronicles, excluding the short stories as I haven’t read them (yet). 

cinder.jpg

5star

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

First line: “The screw through Cinder’s ankle had rusted, the engraved cross marks worn to a mangled circle.”

Title: Cinder (#1)
Author: Marissa Meyer
My edition: Paperback with 390 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fairy Tales, Steampunk, Retellings, Teen, Paranormal.

A short review of Cinder: Cinder is a science-fiction badass character created out of our beloved Cinderella. She has a stepsister and two stepsisters and she lived in the futuristic world of New Beijing. She’s a cyborg and a mechanic and she’s everything that people would hate in this futuristic world.

Not only did I love Cinder, the character, but I fell in love with the world and Marissa Meyer’s way of writing. I also love the retelling part, the ball, the family history, the prince, the shoe, everything is in there, in small hints just recreated into a science fiction universe. We also meet Kai, the prince of New Beijing. Iko, the family android. Levana, the ultimate Lunar villain. And Dr. Erland, the somewhat crazy scientist who works for New Beijing at finding a cure for this decease that keeps spreading and killing the commonwealth.

Favorite quote: “Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”


scarlet

4.5star

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

First line: “Scarlet was descending toward the alley behind the Rieux Tavern when her portscreen chimed from the passenger seat, followed by an automated voice: ‘Comm received for Mademoiselle Scarlet Benoit from the Toulouse Law Enforcement Department of Missing Persons'”.

Title: Scarlet (#2)
Author: Marissa Meyer
My edition: Paperback with 450 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fairy Tales, Steampunk, Retellings, Teen, Paranormal.

A short review of Scarlet: The first book was the perfect introduction to the world of Eartherns, Lunars and Shells and everything in between. Cinder was the big heroine of the first book, now, we meet Scarlet. Scarlet is the science fiction character of Red Riding Hood. We also meet Wolf and Thorne, and this became one of my favorite books of the series, much because of these three characters.

Now, Marissa Meyer kind of divides between Cinder’s point of view and Scarlet’s point of view, and then bringing them closer and closer to each other. I felt like I was reading the original fairy tale of Red Riding Hood, just decorated a bit. In this book it goes more in the depths of how Scarlet and Cinder are really connected, and things get tangled together.

Favorite quote: “I lied to you about a lot of things….but I meant every apology.”


cress.jpg

4star

Even in the future. there are damsels in distress…

In the third installment of the Lunar chronicles, Cress, having risked everything to warn Cinder of Queen Levana’s evil plan, has a slight problem. She’s been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood and has only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress a great hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress involving Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes as a high price. Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

First line:Her satellite made one full orbit around planet earth every sixteen hours.” 

Title: Cress (#3)
Author: Marissa Meyer
My edition: Paperback with 550 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fairy Tales, Steampunk, Retellings, Teen, Paranormal.

A short review of Cress: When I finished Cress, the third book of the Lunar Chronicles, my boyfriend thought I was going crazy. I often read before I go to sleep, and because of that, my boyfriend often listens to me rant to the pages of the books when I’m feeling something. And one time in this book I called out “YEEES!” and he looked at me, spooked out and well, that was how I was placed on the couch for the rest of the night. (I’m just kidding).

Anyways, like the first two books, we dive into a new heroine created from beloved fairy tales. And this time it was Rapunzel = Cress. I got to know more badass heroines and I got to see more of Thorne. I love Thorne. The only thing is, is that I didn’t love this book as much as I did the first one, or the second one, this book became like a slow introduction to a bunch of new characters and it stretched out for so long.

But, we do get to know Jacin, a cool guy I didn’t really get a hold on. Like I didn’t really understand the reason why he was there, until I read the fourth book of course and realized he was just as important.

Favorite quote: “Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”


winter

5star

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

First line: “Winter’s toes had become ice cubes.” 

Title: Winter (#4)
Author: Marissa Meyer
My edition: Paperback with 820 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fairy Tales, Steampunk, Retellings, Teen, Paranormal.

A short review of Winter: Winter was the finale, the ending of this enormous universe that could seriously have become the most awesome movies ever. Winter is probably the mother of endings, seriously I’ve never read a book so BIG, and then wanting there to be more. Never.

Winter is Snow White, the beautiful and kind of cookoo snow white who doesn’t live with seven dwarfs, but who is loved by all people and animals. She’s the next and final heroine of the story, and she fits her role perfectly in a strange and wonderful way.

Favorite quote: “Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”


THE LUNAR CHRONICLES
(In whole)
5star

PLOT
The plot of this series is just amazing. Not only is there four bad ass heroines, but there are some pretty awesome heroes as well. I love how this whole universe kind of expands throughout each book, giving us a new piece every time you continue to the next book. This series is just a page-turner, I mean with a total of about 2200 pages, it tells just a beautiful story of friendship, love, family and the fight between good and evil.

The only thing that I want to point out on the downside, is that it’s a long series. It took me a lot of time to get through these books. I’ve never really begun a book with more than 550 pages, because I often feel like I never really bother to finish them (hence why I haven’t begun the Outlander series). I felt like, while reading this series, that Cress was a book filled with a lot of action, and there was a lot of characters to kind of, I don’t know, reach over within the pages – and sometimes it felt just like it was too much.

Winter was kind of like that about halfway in. I actually had to take a break, because I felt like I was in a reading slump right in the middle of it, it felt like I couldn’t get any further, but I didn’t want to stop reading it either because, well, it was the last book.

WRITING
Marissa Meyer’s writing is what I want to call perfection. She has her own style of writing that I have never seen before, and all though this series contains a lot of romance, she never made it cheesy or stupid, it felt realistic.

She decided to kind of split up the characters in the chapters of the book. Sometimes I found it so incredibly annoying because when I was hoping to read from one character’s point of view, there were two more to go before I got to that person – but at the end of the day, it also made me turn the pages rapidly, not wanting to put the book down.

CHARACTERS
This section is probably one of the sections I loved the most about the series. The characters. These are incredible characters with such beautifully written back-stories and they’re just amazing.

Of all the characters in this book, I have to go with Thorne, he was my absolute favorite. I think it’s because I often go for the kind of, cocky but friendly kind of guys in books. I like them better. But there were so many incredible characters in this book, that it’s hard to pick out just a few that I would want to read more about.

What I do feel though is that Marissa Meyer figured out the retelling perfectly. There were these small hints to whom the heroines were; Cinder with the ball, Scarlet with the red hoodie, Cress with her long hair and Winter with her kind spirits. There is one thing though, that I kind of missed a lot while reading this book, and that was diversity. It would have been amazing if there was some LGBT characters!

ALL IN ALL
In my original review I explained the books like this: If this were the Hunger Games movies, Cinder would be “The Hunger Games” – the introduction to the system, the people and what was really happening, Scarlet would be “Catching Fire” where we step up a notch and learn more, we go into the depths of the people and the growing problem. Cress would be “Mockingjay Part 1” which was kind of unnecessary and there were just a bunch of things happening and I just couldn’t really understand what I really felt about the whole ordeal. And then Winter would be “Mockingjay Part 2” the finale, the highly anticipated ending to your favorite movies and all hell broke loose and you couldn’t understand how they could just end it.

I also want to point out that this series, I feel like it would be a series fitted to people in all age-ranges, as I think most people would like it if they’ve read or been told any of the fairy tales (Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White).  I want you all to feel the joy I have after reading these books, and I AM going to order these books in hardbacks so that I can hold on to them as long as I possibly can (Because Winter looks like it’s going to fall apart any second now).

marley

One comment on “Series Review: The Lunar Chronicles

Leave a Reply

