Book Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After

4star

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

First line of the book: “It’s midnight, it’s sweltering, and I might be high on Vicodin, but that guy—that guy right over there—that’s him.”

Title: Isla and the Happily Ever After (#3)
Author: Stephanie Perkins
My Edition: Hardcover published by Dutton in 2014, with 339 pages.
Age: Young adult (13+)
Series: Anna and the French Kiss (Total of 3 books)
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary and Romance

WHY THIS BOOK
At this moment I’m like, why am I reading the third book of the series instead of the second? Well, because someone told me that this was kind of a side-story to Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door, so they were like “It doesn’t matter”. So that’s the reason

PLOT
3star
The plot in itself is what you would suspect in a contemporary romantic book set in Paris. I mean, come on, you know from the start that there’s going to be a happy ending. *Read title “Isla and the Happily Ever After*. The thing I do love about Perkin’s plots is that she always puts in the right amount of “trouble” in order to get to that good relationship in the end.

This plot on the other hand, it was kind of lacking, in the means where in Anna and the French Kiss there relationship builds over time, this one kind of happens on page 30 or something and then it just evolves from there. Of course, it results in like a THOUSAND romantic scenes and a ball of goofy teenage love, so, everything that we expected out of this book.

It takes place in Paris, a place I’ve never been in, but have always wanted to go. It also sets place in New York and in Barcelona, which is awesome, all three places are “new” to me in the way that I’ve never been there, so I feel like I’m just picturing it in my eyes. So I’m giving this category some stars because Perkins does a good job at creating these amazing places for us to visit with the characters.

WRITING
4.5star
The writing style is super easy, which is why I’m giving it a 4.5 out of five. Perkins’ books are the kind of books I read in between massive books with plots that’s just so big and sometimes hard to grasp around – so I just love turning to Perkins for some easy and cute reading. Her like some other authors have that ability to write down the things we need to get the picture, but she allows us to paint the rest, which is something I just love.

It’s a lot of drama, that’s for sure. I mean, I don’t want to spoil this book for you, but there’s a lot of romance, then some fighting, and then some dead-time like whatever why did I have to read about this, and then there’s the romance again. It is a page-turner though, not in the way where it’s exciting, but to the point where you kind of just want to know what happens next.

CHARACTERS
4star
There’s pretty much Isla, Josh and Kurt in the big picture. Isla has a super-crush on Josh, she’s super into sex and she stalks Josh and is super creepy. But cute? I don’t know? Isla is the good girl, and she’s a likable character. We don’t hate her, but we don’t like her either.

Josh is this super artsy guy who likes Isla. He’s pretty much the typical damaged boy who falls in love with the good-girl. I didn’t really like him, he’s not the typical guy you expect to be the “dream guy”, but at the same time that’s also kind of refreshing.

Kurt is Isla’s awkward best friend who’s kind of in the middle of this whole thing. I like him better than the other characters, which is kind of sad, but I’m also a sucker for sidekicks.

No, I mean, it’s good characters with solid background-stories and I like them. They fit well together and they all serve a purpose. Hattie, Isla’s sister is also in the game, but she’s not super-important, and we get to see St. Clair, Anna, Margareth, Lola and Cricket from the other books, which is amazing. (All though I haven’t read Lola and the boy next door).

ALL IN ALL
4star
It’s kind of a sexy book, the kind of book where you feel like you can do anything, where you can achieve anything in your life if you just dare to take the risks. It also shows this perfect picture of how I wish my reunion with all of my friends will be one day. Where we meet, and we all picks up the talk we had a year ago, you know?

This is a book worth reading mainly because of the adorable characters, and especially because of Kurt. Like I seriously hope Perkins writes a book just about Kurt. Seriously.

COVER
3.5star
I love the colors on this series – they’re so beautiful in my shelf and they just look amazing! They’re kind of boring though, but I’m with the “less is more” kind of thing, so I like it just because of the minimality.

Favorite quote: “Do adults realize how lucky they are? Or do they forget that these small moments are actually small miracles? I don’t want to ever forget.”

marley

Leave a Reply

