Series Review: Delirium

This will be a review of all three books + the short stories.

20120828-075934

3.5star

They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safeforever. And I’ve always believed them. Until now.

Now everything has changed. Now I’d rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.

First line: “It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified Love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure.”

Title: Delirium (#1)
Author: Lauren Oliver
My edition: Kindle Edition with 441 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Teen, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Love, Adventure.

A short review of Delirium: The story is mainly about Lena who’s going to be cured for the Deliria in ninety-five days. The Deliria meaning love, or the essence of love. She actually can’t wait to get it, because she’s constantly scared of catching the Deliria herself. What is interesting about Delirium is that it’s different, for once we don’t have a “strong” female character who defies everyone and goes against the stream. Lena wants this to work, she wants this to be the ending result. And then she meets someone, and then it all falls apart.

But it’s kind of cheesy. Like I see the idea of love being what’s “wrong” with people. if we don’t have love, we lose compassion, if we lose compassion, well, then the world kind of crumbles.

Favorite quote: “You can’t be happy unless you’re unhappy sometimes”


pandimonium-copy

4star

I’m pushing aside
the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana
and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

First line: “Alex and I are lying together on a blanket in the backyard of 37 Brooks.”

Title: Pandemonium (#2)
Author: Lauren Oliver
My edition: Kindle Edition with 414 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Teen, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Love, Adventure.

A short review of Pandemonium: When I finished the first book, I immediately began the next one, and I was actually kind of relived that I did. Pandemonium is more, more in the sense of realistic, cooler, more action filled. I liked it better than the first book, and it became my favorite out of the three. There is a dividing in the plot between “now” and “then” and this made the book even better.

I feel like we get a better picture on who Lena is, and I liked her better in this book than I did in the first.

Favorite quote: “The flip side of freedom is this: When you’re completely free, you’re also completely on your own.”


requiem-cover

1.5star

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels.

As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena and Hana’s points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

First line: “I’ve started dreaming about Portland again.” 

Title: Requiem (#3)
Author: Lauren Oliver
My edition: Kindle Edition with 432 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Teen, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Love, Adventure.

A short review of Requiem: Requiem was boring. It had its peaks, but I’m thinking that this was a crappy book. I was shocked, and angry that this was the ending. That this was where Lauren Oliver ended the trilogy. Because it wasn’t really a good book, and it wasn’t really a good ending. She ended it in the middle of action, suddenly, it was just poof, finished, like it was laughing in my face. So I started looking for an epilogue, but there was none.

Requiem became some kind of Twilight thingy, where Lena is so in love with Julian, but she still loves Alex, and they’re both in love with her, so she kind of wants to be with them both and it’s just sad and weird. I also thought that there would be some kind of clearing; like we got to know what happened to Portland and the rest of America. Did the resistance die? Or did they manage to make a new America? There were so many unanswered questions I was actually angry…

Favorite quote: “And you can’t love, not fully, unless you are loved in return.”


 ANNABEL
(#0.5)

2star

Lena’s mother, Annabel, has always been a mystery—a ghost in Lena’s past. Until now.

Lena Halloway’s mother, Annabel, supposedly committed suicide when Lena was only six years old. That’s the lie that Lena grew up believing, but the truth is very different. As a rebellious teenager, Annabel ran away from home and straight into the man she knew she was destined to marry. The world was different then—the regulations not as stringent, the cure only a decade old. Fast forward to the present, and Annabel is consigned to a dirty prison cell, where she nurtures her hope of escape and scratches one word over and over into the walls: Love.

But Annabel, like Lena, is a fighter. Through chapters that alternate between her past and present, Annabel reveals the story behind her failed cures, her marriage, the births of her children, her imprisonment, and, ultimately, her daring escape.

First line: “When I was a girl, it snowed for a whole summer.” 

Title: Annabel (#0.5)
Author: Lauren Oliver
My edition: Kindle Edition with 35 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Teen, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Love, Adventure.

A short review of Annabel: I like how we get to know more about Lena’s mother and father. It goes from “Now” and “Then” which is exciting. I read this before I read Delirium, and that was probably a mistake, because the whole mystery about Lena’s mother kind of disappeared.


HANA
(#1.5)

2.5star

First line: “When I was a little kid, my favorite thing about winter was sledding.” 

Title: Hana (#1.5)
Author: Lauren Oliver
My Edition: Kindle Edition with 64 pages.
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Teen, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Love, Adventure.

A short review of Hana: Hana wasn’t as exciting as I thought it would be, I mean, the things happening in this short story was pretty much the same that happened in Delirium – so it was kind of like reading the same things over again, just from another person’s perspective. The other thing was that Hana was my favorite character, she went beyond Lena, and still, when I read the last line in this short story she ended being that to me.


RAVEN
(#2.5)

4star

First line: “When I was a little kid, my favorite thing about winter was sledding.” 

Title: Raven (#2.5)
Author: Lauren Oliver
My Edition: Kindle Edition with 55 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Teen, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Love, Adventure.

A short review of Raven: Raven becomes really important in Pandemonium, and we kind of understand Lena and Raven’s connection, that they’re sort of like sisters. And in this book, called Raven, we actually get to know more about her backstory. About why she eventually called Blue, Blue. Why she’s the way she is, why she came to the Wilds. Everything kind of seems clear when we read this book.

This book is also put in this position when Lena goes into the place where Julian is about to be killed, and she’s there to ultimately save Lena AND Julian. She and Tack, Raven’s girlfriend is working together to get Raven on the inside so that she can make sure that Lena gets out safe.

I have to say that after loosing faith in Hana, I immediately found comfort in Raven, and she was kind of the reason I wanted to keep going, I wanted to know if she and Tack would find a place out in the Wilds together, have a bunch of cute kids and be like the happiest people alive, so that’s why I kept on going into Requiem, because I can honestly say that I wasn’t really intrigued by reading another book in this trilogy.


THE DELIRIUM SERIES
(in whole)
3star

PLOT
3star
The plot is interesting, it’s pretty much the perfect dystopian plot. There’s a decease and when the main character, Lena, understands that it’s not really a decease, she tries to fight it as good as she can. The only problem is that the “decease” feels a little, I don’t know, unrealistic. I don’t feel like “Love” would be the first thing people would consider a bad thing, not in our world and probably not in the future.

WRITING
2.5star
The writing isn’t anything special, and that’s kind of sad. I felt like if the writing had been better; the books would have been better. And I feel like, if I can’t remember the writing as good now, about 1 year after I read it, I can’t really say that I’m impressed.

CHARACTERS
2star
Lena was the main character, and she was the least likable character in this book. I couldn’t connect to her at all, and I felt like she was so unrealistic. Hana was cool until I read the short story, that was when I realized that she wasn’t what I thought she was, and I couldn’t like her after that. Raven was the most likable character, and she was the reason why I continued to read the third book. Alex felt like the typical YA romance guy; just give him a damaged background, good looks and this weird attraction to weird girls he sees the beauty in, then you have Alex, and pretty much all of the YA guys.

ALL IN ALL
3star
I found it a little hard to understand why this series was worth writing. I didn’t feel  connected to the characters, and I didn’t find them at all likable. I don’t want to be or sound pessimistic about the series, because I did read it, and I didn’t skip pages or anything like that, I actually read the whole series and for a while I found it entertaining, but the ending of the series, it just destroyed the whole series for me.

Would I recommend it? Sure, if you like dystopia with a big romance in the middle, then sure, but don’t expect to love it.

marley

Leave a Reply

