5 books from my TBR

I’ve currently got 172 books on my TBR-list on goodreads, so today I’ve picked out five of them that I want to tell you about! I have promised myself to read some of the books that I actually have before buying new ones, but some of theses ones are books that makes that promise really hard to keep! I’ve tried to make some variety into the list as well, and not choose all of them from the same genre. So here goes:

5. Nothing by Janne Teller
nothing
I’m a little unsure about this one, but I think I’m going to read it anyway. It’s young adult and realistic fiction, the last genre not really being the one I read the most of. But listen to this:

When Pierre-Anthon realizes there is no meaning to life, the seventh-grader leaves his classroom, climbs a tree and stays there. His classmates cannot make him come down, not even by pelting him with rocks. So to prove to Pierre-Anthon that life has meaning, the children decide to give up things of importance. The pile starts with the superficial—a fishing rod, a new pair of shoes. But as the sacrifices become more extreme, the students grow increasingly desperate to get Pierre-Anthon down, to justify their belief in meaning. Sure to prompt intense thought and discussion, Nothing—already a treasured work overseas—is not to be missed.

I’m kind of left with a feeling that this is those typical classroom reads they force you through in middle school, and that I may be a bit too old for it. But I’m also left thinking this could be a book wich will make me think and that contains many good quotes, which both are things I really appreciate in a book. One person on goodreads commented this:

“A mean-spirited, shocking, thought-provoking experience. It dares you to think and it won’t leave you just after flipping the last page. A must-read if you can stomach the nature of the book.”

And I think that perhaps is the comment that turned me over. I’m curious about this one, and I think I’ll have to read it some day soon.

4. Shattering Glass by Gail Giles shatteringglass

I don’t really know how I found this book, but when I first read about it, it seemed like a dull, cliché-filled story. BUT, I don’t think it is. It has a score of 3.85 out of 5 on goodreads, and it is the reviews on goodreads that made me think that this is one worth checking out.

What is this book about? Long story short: Simon Glass is this really unpopular kid at high school that everyone bullies. Then this really cool, soon-to-be-the-coolest-in-school transfer student Rob Haynes shows up and decides to make Glass really cool too. Then something goes incredibly wrong and shit goes down in a “diaquieting, bone-chilling and brutal” way. 

I wonder if this is anything like Stephen King’s Carrie. I hope that, and based on the reviews I’ve read I think it might be. It’s also a really short one, like one of those I’d probably would finish in a day.

3. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
We-Need-to-Talk-About-Kevin1

I’ve been reading so much about this. For a while, it popped up everywhere. The funny part is that it seems like this is a book you either hate or really love, there’s no in between. I get that, because this book contains topic we rarely talk about and the whole thing is a situation we consider a tragedy beyond what should be spoken of.

Eva never really wanted to be a mother – and certainly not the mother of the unlovable boy who murdered seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker, and a much-adored teacher who tried to befriend him, all two days before his sixteenth birthday. Now, two years later, it is time for her to come to terms with marriage, career, family, parenthood, and Kevin’s horrific rampage in a series of startlingly direct correspondences with her estranged husband, Franklin. Uneasy with the sacrifices and social demotion of motherhood from the start, Eva fears that her alarming dislike for her own son may be responsible for driving him so nihilistically off the rails.

A mother that never loved her child. A boy who became a killer. Well, I’m left thinking that this is indeed going to be a book I love, or a book I’ll love to hate.

2. The Road by Cormac McCarthy
the-road-cover

First of all this one is a classic, a science fiction, a dystopia and a horror book, and it has won so many prizes I’m not even going to list them up here. This is reason enough for this to be a high priority on my TBR.

I first heard of the movie actually, and then I found out it was a book, decided to read the book first, put the book on my TBR and forgot about it. But then the title came up here and there, and I decided to look into what this book really is.

A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other.

The despcription already made me curious enough, I love these sort of worlds, the post-apocalyptic ones that so often opens for reflections about life and people struggling to survive. I love it. But what really got me over was a goodreads-comment actually. Someone asked if this book was appropriate for a 15 year old boy, and someone has answered:

“It isn’t appropiate for anyone. It’s godawful, repetitipus and uninspiring. it’s awful. Really. Don’t get this as a present for anyone. It was the worst book I have ever read in my life.”

I do not by any means mean to offend the person who wrote this comment, and I’m sorry if it makes me a bad person to think this, but never have I ever decided so fast that this is a book I need to read. Now I’m so insanely curious about what this book could contain that it is so godawful and unspiring for someone, yet have won so many great prizes.

 

1. A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay
a head full of ghost

This one. Seriously. I haven’t looked this much forward to a book since I was waiting on Allegiant (Divergent #3, Veronica Roth). I’ve almost ordered it about 15 times already, and just writing this makes me want to order it right away. This is the book that scared Stephen King.

Fourteen year old Marjorie begins to show signs of acute schizophrenia. To her parents despair, the doctors can’t stop her descent into madness. The family turn to the catholic church, and Father Wanderly suggests an exorcism. The family also agrees to be filmed, and soon becomes the unwitting stars of the hit reaility show “Possession”

The book is told from Merry’s point of view, who is interviewed by a bestselling writer fifteen years later. As she recalls all the things that happened when she was eight years old, long buried and painful secrets begin to surface.

I’ve read nothing but amazing reviews of this one by people that seems to be mind blown by this book, and I need to know what makes it so speical and why everyone is so amazed by this book. It sounds so good, but I need to read it for sure and find out. I can’t wait to read this seriously!

Leave a Reply

