Book review: The Raven King

4,5 stjerner

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

First line of the book: “Depending on where you began the story, it was a story about the women of 300 Fox Way.” 

Title: The Raven King
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
My Edition: A paperback from Scholastic Press, published in 2016 with 438 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Series: The Raven Cycle (A total of 4 books)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Magic
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

PLOT
4,5 stjerner
We have finally come to the last chapter, the book that will kind of end it all and we have come to where Gansey finds his king and Blue’s true love will die. This book has so many peaks, and it was just a roller coaster ride from the first page to the last. I can’t even describe all the feelings I had when reading it, it was amazing. Since I first picked up The Raven Boys, I wanted to know how it ended, was Gansey going to find Glendower? So many questions are answered, and new questions arise when you finish the book.

I did not want to end this series, I kept on hauling out the time so that it would magically grow new pages, and when I finished it this morning I was sure I was going to start crying, because, well, it has become one of my favorite series. I had a count of 17 updates on Goodreads, because this book just came with surprise after surprise and I just couldn’t put it down. Last night when the clock was 3.30AM I knew that I had to go to sleep because my eyes were slowly closing and were seeing double, but I just kept on reading until I actually fell asleep not being able to keep my eyes open.

WRITING
5star
I can’t say this enough, but Maggie Stiefvater’s writing is probably one of the most beautiful I’ve ever read. I mean, this line: “He understood the friendship with Ronan and Adam – they both represented qualities that he both lacked and admired, and they liked the versions of himself that he also liked.” IS IT NOT BEAUTIFUL?

She just really draws me into her books and holds me there so tightly with her perfect writing, it’s really remarkable how you can write a 400 page book with so much beautiful text. She’s my idol, seriously, I wish I could write like her.

CHARACTERS
5star
Gansey. Gansey has been my favorite since I opened the book. He is everything I want and everything I don’t want and that combination just made me fall in love with him. Like seriously I want to marry Gansey. In this book I feel like we get a little less than we’ve gotten earlier. It’s like he was not really evolving much in this book, like he was as he’s always been and that was kind of sad – but then, he really surprised me (I’m not going to say what because it’ll spoil the book).

Blue has been my second favorite, it sounds so stupid, but the thing is, I never really felt like I could relate to her that much, but I loved so many parts of her. What I loved about her was the fact that she didn’t need to be that really hot girl who everyone around her wanted to be with, no, Blue was one of the boys in a feminine way. That’s what I liked so much about her, she didn’t feel like she had to change into a tomb boy, or be super pretty in order to be with the boys. She was enough by herself, and I feel like that is a really nice thing to portrait in a book. That girls can be themselves even with male friends.

Ronan was also one of those characters that I just loved so much. He’s bad and good and loyal and so so good. And his character is so complex and well built and I just loved loved loved him.

Adam was the only character I never really felt anything but annoyance over throughout the book, and that was so sad because I honestly believe that most people loved him? But I just couldn’t, and I have no idea why. Was it because he was sometimes just really annoying? Yes. Was it because he got angry for nothing? Yes, but he was also being the eyes and hands of Cabeswater. I have no idea why I didn’t like him, it was just this constant feeling throughout the books.

Noah to me was unresolved. I never really felt like I got a hold on who he was, and I do think that was some of the purpose of his character, he was mysterious and weird and I loved him and hated him and I have no idea why he felt unresolved.

The characters in a whole in this book is just amazing, I feel like with each book we get a new picture, a new side of them and they grow and grow and grow until you just know what you need to know. I think I made myself a lot of mental pictures of how the characters looked and what they sounded like and smelled like. I mean, I was seriously in this book with them.

THE ENDING
4star
The ending of this book was sudden. It was hard to put the book down and be happy about the ending. I have no idea what I felt the minute it ended. I wanted to read more. I wanted it to continue. I wanted to know what happenedn next. Did Ronan get the Barns and became a farmer? Did Adam reach his dreams of becoming a rich douchebag? Did Blue get to travel the world? Did Maura and Mr.Gray end up together? Did Gansey feel like he’d accomplished everything he wanted and felt happy? And what really happened in 300 Fox Way after everything? Did it go back to normal? Did they feel like Persephone was still there? THERE WERE SO MANY QUESTIONS.

ALL IN ALL
4,5 stjerner
This book was wonderful, and a worthy ending to the series. It was surprising, but also so predictable and yet I had no idea what was coming. It was so satisfactory to finish the series, to know the start and the ending of this series and I loved it. I’ll write a complete series review so that I can kind of bring all of the books together and write about them in unison!

Skjermbilde 2016-07-10 kl. 13.35.26.png
(My Goodreads updates)

COVER
4star
I love the cover so much!

Favorite quote: “What a strange constellation they all were.”

marley

66457c8a

2 comments on “Book review: The Raven King

Leave a Reply

