After You by Jojo Moyes

3star

Lou Clark has lots of questions.

Like how it is she’s ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places.

Or why the flat she’s owned for a year still doesn’t feel like home.

Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.

And will she ever get over the love of her life.

What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.

Then, one night, it does.

But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for – or just more questions?

Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe.

Open it and she risks everything.

But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she’s going to keep it, she has to invite them in  . . .

First line of the book: The big man at the end of the bar is sweating.

Title: After You
Author: Jojo Moyes
My Edition: E-book edition from Bastion Forlag
Age: Adult, but can be suited for 16+
Genres: Romance, Chic Lit, Contemporary

WHY THIS BOOK
With romance and chic lit being genres I normally hate, I sometimes wonder what it was that made me pick up Me Before You. But I’m so happy that I did, because it is one of the few books in that genre that I absolutely loved. Like, will-be-in-my-future-library loved. So I’ve been wanting to read the sequel forever, and it was finally available in the e-library (I’ve been on the waiting list since february, not even kidding).

PLOT
3.5star
The Plot is good. The book gives us a good picture of how it is like to live with grief, to be the one left behind when someone has died. It tells of love and of guilt and anger, and in a way that makes it easy to feel what Clark is feeling. This is the story about how you survive and what you do to move forward, and it is told in a sad, funny and interesting way. It’s a really easy read that you easily finish in a couple of days and a lot of unexpected things happen that I can’t really tell about because it will spoil it for you. But a person shows up that will turn Clarks life completely upside down, and that was a really cool way to do it.

WRITING
5star
The writing is one of the best things about this book. I’ve read both the first book and this one in norwegian, but Elisabeth Haukeland has done a really good job at translating it (and I rarely like tranlsations). It’s really easy to read, and this is the kind of book that both make you cry and laugh.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
Lou, the main character, is the biggest reason to why people wanted this sequel. We love her. And she is so easy to love. She is funny and fragile and it’s really easy to relate to her.

I had a little trouble with this book, because I can’t seem to like Lily as much as I think I’m supposed to. I get why she is the way she is, but I could never be as patient with her  that Lou is. If anything, she is a really good way of letting the story take the turns they took.

I still love Lou’s family a lot and there’s a lot going on in the family  during the book that I’m so happy that they added to the book! After Lou just being Lou, the family issues were probably what I laughed the most of because that is just told in the most hilarious ways. I also have a love/hate relationship to Lou’s sister, Treena, because she reminds me so much of my one friend that always is exactly as brutally honest as she is, and although I always hate to admit it, she’s always right. Like Treena often is.

ALL IN ALL
3star
I do so incredible much love Lou Clark and her family and the way that Moyes has been able to take us through devastating moments of a life and still make us laugh. It’s incredible that she makes us laugh so much while reading a book about such serious and sad things. But I’m still giving this book three out of five stars. I feel a bit bad for doing so actually, because I loved the first book so much and I liked this one too. But that’s my problem with this one. I really, really loved the first book. I spent liked half a year recommending it to everyone who entered the bookstore I worked in and every time I met a customer that had already read it we could talk for liked half an hour straight, almost crying and laughing while talking. I really, really loved that book. It became personal, I too loved Will and I loved Lou and everything was so beautiful and unfair and I just bled feelings out over every single page of that book. And then came the sequel. And it’s just… I don’t know, although I was so happy to re-enter everyone’s life’s and be with all these beautiful characters one more time, a part of me feels like it maybe wouldn’t have been necessary with a sequel. It has a story, it has depth and it has Lou freaking Clark being Lou freaking Clark, but… I just didn’t finish this book with the same amount of satisfaction as the first book, and although I couldn’t expect this to be as amazing as the first one, I just kind of wished that feeling from the first book would be a little more stronger in this one than it was. And then we have the issue of me not liking Lily that much, which made it hard for me to sympathise with her. When I think about it now, she is a very well written character, and I understand her. But I just didn’t like her very much while reading, and that’s sad.

That being said, and as I’ve already stated, it was so amazing to re-enter Lou Clark and her family’s life. I’m happy I finally got to read this, and I don’t regret reading it at all. And I will be having both of these in my future library, no doubt.

Goodreads reading progress: 

afteryoureadingprogress

Favorite quote: “And in that moment everything shifted. I saw what I had really done. I saw that I could be somebodys center, his reason for staying. I saw that I could be enough.”

idaelise

One comment on “After You by Jojo Moyes

  1. […] After You by Jojo Moyes This is the sequel to “Me Before You” which made me cry like a baby and laugh like an idiot. I loved that book, and it was scary to pick up the sequel. And I was right to be scared, because you can’t compare this book to the first one. It’s not the same, and it could never be. A part of me kind of wished there wasn’t a sequel to this book because it is so beautiful as a stand-alone it does not need a sequel. But it was cool to get a new glimpse of Lou’s life and follow her into her future. The book has a good plot and I’m glad I read it. But… I don’t know, I’m still left with the feeling that you don’t really need to. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

