Book Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

4star

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

First line: “I sat on my front steps of my house and watched the beige Subaru station wagon swing too quickly around the cul-de-sac.” 

Title: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
My Edition: A paperback from Simon & Schuster with 344 pages, first published in 2010.
Age: Young Adult (14+)
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Travel, Road Trip and Realistic Fiction.
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

WHY THIS BOOK
I was so so so happy about “Since You’ve Been Gone” by Morgan Matson, so I ordered the rest of Morgan’s books and I picked this one just because of the size of the book. I was looking for something short haha.

PLOT
5star
The plot is pretty straight forward; Amy needs to go from California to Connecticut with her mother’s car, but she won’t get behind the wheel, so Amy’s mother fixes this small problem with putting Roger, an old family friend behind the wheel who also has to make a cross-country trip. What I loved about the plot is that it’s so simple, they’re in a car, they barely know each other and they’ll be spending a lot of time together. Will it collide, will they hate each other? Or will they actually enjoy the trip together?

While Amy has a lot of problems with dealing with the past and the future, Roger has some baggage too, and they seem to kind of figure this out as they go. Amy starts to find herself, starts to find the girl she wants to be, and Roger, well, he helps her do that while dealing with his own stuff with the help of Amy.

It’s a nice, straight-forward contemporary read that I enjoyed.

WRITING
4,5 stjerner
The writing is amazing as usual. It’s so easy to read and I plowed through this book in no-time. What i loved about this book, as well as other Morgan Matson books is that she often put music into them. In this book she made playlists played in the car, and it was so much fun queuing these songs while reading the book. It also has pictures of where they’ve been, receipts on food and snacks, and it just made this whole book seem like a traveling-journal, which it kind of is.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
This was the only part I actually struggled a bit with. The characters. While Matson only introduces us properly to a few, we get small flashbacks or mentions of other characters, but I’m just going to mention the memorable ones.

Amy Curry, the main character is a straight-forward girl who went through something traumatic, and everything after that has kind of dulled. It seems like her world is without color, and like her life consists of depressing thoughts and wants to become someone else or something more. Throughout the book she changes, she starts off with flip-flops and a dull t-shirt and ends up with nice clothes and high heels. She goes through a huge development throughout the book gradually, and I liked that a lot. What I couldn’t help noticing and irritating me was the fact that I had a feeling that Amy was fully aware that she was pretty, but she tried to hide it. And that’s okay, I guess people deal with things different ways, but there was just this feeling about that particular thing that annoyed me, and I can’t recall exactly what made me irritated about that – but there was something.

Roger is the other main character, totally still in love with his ex-girlfriend, who by the way isn’t all that nice, but you know, Roger is a good-guy and yeah, he can’t let her go somehow. What I liked about him was that he had these quirks, like he wouldn’t say good-bye to anyone because he thought that when you actually said good-bye, people died. I liked that a lot, it gave him character – but at the same time he was so typical. He was that typical good-guy-contemporary-romance-love interest that I just couldn’t get into this time. What happened to people being more than just that likable-wantable guy?

Charlie is the third character that is mostly mentioned, but we also get to “see” him throughout the book in different ways. In the past he’s shown as the typical sibling who dealt with everything differently and it made him into this problem-kid, and Amy can’t understand why he ended up like that. I liked Charlie, but at the same time he felt “thin”, I didn’t feel like I got the whole picture of who he was, and why he was that way. He was just troubled, and obviously became Amy’s problem and everything felt so “staged” and typical.

THE ENDING
5star
As usual Morgan Matson gives us a nice ending to a nice book. It’s nothing short of a happy ending, all though it’s kind of a bitter happy ending? I like it, I like the openness about it, the way we can picture for ourselves what actually happened after.

ALL IN ALL
4star
I really liked the book and I felt like it was the perfect summer read, as Morgan Matson’s books always are! This book made me want to continue on to her other two books that I still haven’t read and I can’t wait to read them! It’s a really nice book and I have nothing bad to say other than that the characters are kind of typical and the plot is wonderful, but also the typical boy-meets-girl.

Page 1 / 0% “I needed something contemporary something summerish to cheer me up, so here we go Matson! I’m guessing you won’t disappoint :)”
Page 50 / 14% “It’s so amazing how easy these books are to read! Hours go by and you aren’t even noticing”
Page 91 / 26% “sooo so tired”
Page 99 / 28% “Bah, there hasn’t been much time for reading lately – but this book though!!! <3”
Page 245 / 71% “I’m wondering how this will end :o”
Page 322 / 93% “YEEEEESSSSSSS SWEET ICECREAM OF AMY (see what I did there? ;))”
Page 343 / 99% “Morgan! You did it again!”

COVER
3star
I’m not SUPER awed by the cover, it’s nice, but I felt like it said too much about the story. I actually liked Morgan’s other covers better than this one!

Favorite quote: “Tomorrow will be better.”
“But what if it’s not?” I asked.
“Then you say it again tomorrow. Because it might be. You never know, right? At some point, tomorrow will be better.”

marley

One comment on “Book Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

Leave a Reply

