Book Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

4star

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

Title: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
Series: Book 1 in To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
My Edition: A hardcover from Simon & Schuster with 369 pages, published in 2014
Age: Young Adult (13+)
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance
BuyFrom_Grey_160x30

WHY THIS BOOK
I saw this book all over the place when I was looking for new books a while back, and all though I love a nice love story once in a while I was kind of TOO sure that this was going to be like this cliché book about girl loves boy and everything – but then I ordered it and I read it right away and I was so pleased.

PLOT
4star
The plot is just really cute. Lara-Jean writes letters to the boys she’s loved to move on, but then all those letters are sent out and she’s suddenly facing a lot of guys thinking that she has a crush on them. What I loved about this book is that the plot is so realistic, it’s totally something that could have happened. I also love that the book is so straight into the family, we get to know them and their routines and it feels like you’re part of it. And that just made the plot a whole lot better.

WRITING
4,5 stjerner
I really like the writing, it’s so easy and straight forward. I felt like I was just reading page after page without even wondering what I was reading about. Like it was completely written so that anyone could understand. It was so easily read, and that made the book better in my opinion. The language was so easy, and it literarily felt like I was just reading through the pages in no-time!

CHARACTERS
4star
The characters are simple, and all though there’s a lot of characters that I would consider important, they all kind of fit together.

Lara Jean is this typical sweetheart. I see her as maybe a little childish for her age, in the way she dresses, and sometimes in the way she thinks. But I don’t see it as a “bad” childish, I see it as something sweet. Maybe she’s more innocent than childish? She just seems like that typical girl who wouldn’t stay out after curfew, she wouldn’t do anything illegal – she’s just pure good. And I love that about her, because that makes this whole book a little more interesting.

Kitty and Margot are her younger and older sister. Kitty is amazing, and she reminds me a little of my own little sister who’s kind of perceptive, she understands more and catches phrases more than we think. Margot actually kind of annoyed me, she was always trying to be daddy’s little girl, by never doing anything wrong, by taking care of her sisters the best way she could, but sometimes I felt like she took that mother-role a little too serious and I was thinking that if I had an older sister acting like Margot I would be pissed.

Josh was really nice, but he was maybe too nice. I liked him, but he was also that typical guy who every girl falls in love with in books. He’s kid, smart, kind of nerdy but in a cute way, lives next door, and is an all together nice guy. He got kind of boring, especially in contrast to Peter, Lara Jean’s pretend-boyfriend – Peter was the opposite. He was kind of bad ass, a jock, he had been dating the most beautiful girl in school, he drove a nice car and he was just everything Josh wasn’t. And that contrast, I really liked that. How opposites attract, but also how we sometimes maybe go for the safest choice because it’s safe.

THE ENDING
3.5star
The ending was a little sugary and sweet, and I guess it’s okay because I mean, the book’s name is “To all the boys I’ve loved before” and everything, but it also got me into wanting to order the next book, which I’m not going to do yet because I’m going to read more of the books I have.

ALL IN ALL
4star
It’s a really nice book, and if you like romance, unicorns and glitter you should definitely try this book for sure. It’s so easy to read and you kind of love all the characters and yeah, it’s a book I’ve enjoyed reading!

GOODREADS UPDATES
(You can find me on http://www.goodreads.com/bibliophilem)
Page 24 / 8% “:O”
Page 78 / 27% “This book is so cute haha”
Page 150 / 52% “I like this book, it feels like a break from reality haha”
Page 209 / 72% “So, so cute ❤ “
Page 289 / 78% “Aah, I think I need to order the next book :)”

COVER
5star
I just love the cover, I don’t know why, but I do! And I keep using it in instagram photos because it’s just absolutely stunning!

marley

One comment on “Book Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Leave a Reply

