Book Review: The Crown

3.5star

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Title: The Crown
Author: Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection, book 5
My Edition: A hardcover from HarperTeen published in 2016 with 279 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction, Dystopia

WHY THIS BOOK
I think that it’s safe to say that I’d read all the other books and this was the last one, and I’d been putting it off because I didn’t think it would be a good ending..

PLOT
3.5star
The plot is just the same as the “second” book of the Selection series, only here we have America and Maxon’s daughter going through the same stuff that her father did. To be completely honest, I liked the plot the first time, it was so interesting that there was this bachelor-program for princes so that they could find themselves a wife from the commonwealth, and I thought that the tradition was going to stop after America and Maxon because, honestly it was a big flop right? All though the found each other there, a lot of stuff happened during their selection, and then they send off their only daughter to do the same.

The only thing that really makes this book, and for that sake the fourth book, worth the read, is because I loved how the story continued so that we could see where America and Maxon were; that we could see what type of children they had, and I really liked that. It was like getting a really long prologue.

WRITING
4star
As normal, Kiera Cass satisfies me with her writing. It is simple, so easy to understand and keep up with and I wouldn’t want to change it. Of course I do wish that she maybe, wrote more descriptive; because I love that about books, when I feel like I’m there and I can feel, and smell and see everything that goes on before me. I never could do that with Kiera Cass’ books, and therefore it feels like I’m just reading a report of what’s going on. I actually feel kind of monotone throughout the books. Like I have no emotions what so ever.

CHARACTERS
3star
I never really liked Eadlyn, I thought she was selfish, a little bratt and that she just couldn’t see beyond herself. I hated her, and all though she changes throughout the Crown, I still felt like she wasn’t the character I wanted out of America and Maxon. It was like she was the complete opposite of them together, and I just didn’t like that part.

What I did like was Kile, I really really liked Kile, and I was routing for him from the get to. But as always the guy I like, isn’t the guy the main character really likes so, there you go. I’m not going to spoil who she ends up with, because that would be totally cruel, but I wanted it to be KILE.

THE ENDING
3.5star
I feel like it was maybe a little bit too sugary and sweet for my taste. It was like everything was fixed within the last two pages and that felt utterly stupid and not realistic at all. But it also ended a series I’ve really liked!

ALL OVER
3.5star
I don’t want to sound harsh, because The Selection series ARE one of my favorite series, but the fact is; Kiera Cass should have stopped after book 3. Book 4 and 5 felt like she was trying to drag it on and on, and I didn’t feel the same connection to the characters as I did in nook 1, 2 and 3. I want to say that it was a worthy ending, but to me it wasn’t. I was happy about the ending in “The One”, and then I realized that Kiera Cass was writing more. It annoyed me, and it still does.

GOODREADS UPDATES
Page 69 / 24% “I kind of want this series to be over, which is sad, because I thought it was after book 3, but here I am still reading this series, wanting to love it, but I’m not… :/”

Page 73 / 26% “Aaaw, that’s so cute <3”

Page 133 / 47% “I’m like halfway done and I’m not sure whether I’m happy or sad.. It’s like I want this to be a really good ending to the series, but at the same time I can’t really see that actually becoming true. I was soooo happy with America and Maxon’s story, and this just feels dragged out..”

Page 150 / 53% “oooooh snap”

Page 157 / 56% “aaaaw, I like Kile”

Page 159 / 56% “”Maybe it’s not the first kisses that are supposed to be special. Maybe it’s the last ones.””

Page 189 / 67% “”(..) You have to do whatever it takes to be with the person you love””

Page 195 / 69% “aaaw Eikko<3”

Page 224 / 80% “oops now this is going to be some crazy last pages”

marley

Leave a Reply

