Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

4,5 stjerner

Mare Barrow is a red. With the other reds, she lives in the Stilts, a place of poverty where everyday is a struggle. Life takes a turn for Mare when she suddenly find herself working in the Silver Palace. Surrounded by silvers – the elite of humanity possessing superpowers and therefore the general power in society – she discovers that she possesses a deadly power of her own.

First line of the book: “I hate First Friday.” 

Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
My edition: A paperback from Orion books with 388 pages.
Genre: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia, Magic, Paranormal, Romance, Supernatural

WHY THIS BOOK
Marley has told me to read it like forever, and it was everywhere on bookstagram and goodreads. So I knew I just had to read it, and I finally did.

PLOT
4,5 stjerner
I liked the plot. The world is really interesting, and it’s a really interesting version of the world going bad because of nuclear war. It’s a dystopian book, and although a lot of the books from the genre are similar (which is natural since they’re the same genre), this one is original. It reminds me a little bit of the GONE-series with the superpower/nuclear part, a little bit of the Hunger Games, but just because of the concept of a world so clearly divided between rich and poor. And it reminds me of Divergent, but only because both Tris (the mc in Divergent) and Mare is easily compared in some ways (I’m considering making a post about the main characters from my favourite dystopias and point at their similarities and differences, so if I do, I’ll write more about how Mare/Tris are similar in that post.)

Red Queen is despite all this different. The plot never disappoints, and there are surprises throughout the book that makes the book impossible to put away. It also tricked me. Usually I’m able to foretell what’s going to happen, but this one made me think it would take an entirely different turn than what it did. It’s been a long time since that happened, and I’m really impressed. I read A LOT and I almost always predict the plot twist. The plot is probably what I like the most by the whole book.

CHARACTERS 
5star
Mare Barrow is a really good main character. She’s not a hero, and she’s not an anti-hero, but something in between, which is rare and really fun to experience because it works. She’s not selfless, she has flaws and she makes mistakes. But her heart is in the right place, she fights for what she believes in, she is brave and she’s funny. This is a character with depth, and she is easy to relate to.

Then we’ve got the two princes, which is also characters with great depth. I really liked both of them, in different ways, and you get to know themm both in one way and then throughout the book the characters really evolve. Both of them have pasts that make their action and way of behaving understandable. Or maybe not, but it makes sense at least.

Also,from the very first entrance of queen Elara, I just couldn’t stop picturing Cersei from Game of Thrones. I’m not sure if everyone who read the book got that vibe, but I really did!

ALL OVER
4,5 stjerner
All over, I’m really pleased with this book. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a really good dystopia, and it’s easy to picture how whis world works. The characters have great depth, both the mc and the others. And I couldn’t predict the plot! This book got most of what I look for in a book, so I’m really pleased and I’m looking forward to read the next one!

GOODREADS UPDATES

Page 63 / 16% “Holy shit Cal has a good job indeed”

Page 76 / 19% “Holy shit what’s going to happen now??? Also have the feeling we have not seen the last of Evangeline…”

Page 120 / 31% “If this is becoming a movie, I’m curious about how they’re going to make Lady Blonos look”

Page 129 / 33% “I think Julian Jacos is going to be a favorite”

Page 168 / 43% “Omg that was like 20 pages that just made the whole thing like ten times more exciting. And it was already exciting.”

Page 184 / 48% “This book is SO EXCITING”

Page 228 / 59% “Why is it that in so many good series I read this part have to come and it’s always just weird. They’re even brothers. This is weird.”

Page 258 / 67% “Anyone can betray anyone”

Page 259 / 67% “I’m starting to confuse myself because I used to be like GO TEAM C but now I’m like GO TEAM M, but I have a feeling that I’m going to suffer for it, but I don’t know I’m so confused.”

Favorite Quote: If you know someone’s fear, you know them.”idaelise

One comment on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. […] Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard Marley asked me to read this for ages and I finally did, and it turned out it was really worth it! Out of all the dystopian worlds I’ve entered, this one has real potential and some really interesting characters. It’s a smart book as well who kept surprising me everytime I thought I had it figured out. I actually got the sequel for christmas and I can’t wait to start on it! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

