Book Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

3star

Each night at precisely 4:33 am, while sixteen-year-old London Lane is asleep, her memory of that day is erased. In the morning, all she can “remember” are events from her future. London is used to relying on reminder notes and a trusted friend to get through the day, but things get complicated when a new boy at school enters the picture. Luke Henry is not someone you’d easily forget, yet try as she might, London can’t find him in her memories of things to come.

When London starts experiencing disturbing flashbacks, or flash-forwards, as the case may be, she realizes it’s time to learn about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.

Title: Forgotten
Author: Cat Patrick
My Edition: A hardcover from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers with 304 pages. Published in 2011!
Age: Young Adult (14+)
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery

WHY THIS BOOK
It was a random book I bought from another bookblogger, and it sounded cool. I mean, someone’s memory resets and you’ll have to start over again and again. So, I just jumped to this book after reading some science fiction, hoping that I would get like a little break from everything.

PLOT
3.5star
The plot starts as we get to know London from her notes. What she wore yesterday, what happened at school, what she needs to remember for a new day at school and what happened between her and her best friend  Jamie and other people at school. London can’t remember what happened yesterday, but she can remember what’s going to happen in the future. So, whenever she sees someone, she knows them because they’ll be in her future.

The day we encounter first is not quite normal though, she’s forgotten to put a lot of things on her note from last night, and she forgets A LOT of vital things. So, her day is a mess, and then she meets this boy in school who’s weirdly nice to her and she feels like she has a connection with him – but she can’t see this new boy in her future, and therefore, she forgets about him every night.

I thought the plot was cool, I hadn’t read anything like it and it kind of drew me in making me want to know what was going to happen next whenever I finished a chapter. But the book is so short, and I felt like Cat Patrick didn’t even scratch the surface of what this book could have been if she’d written a longer book, or even a sequel.

WRITING
2star
The writing is simple, and that made this book even easier to read. I finished it in no-time, but yet, I wanted something more. Normally when I read a book I take notes. I always take notes these days, kind of pinning out things, quotes, whatever – but I didn’t write down ONE quote from this book, which is so “not normal” for me when I read a book.

For me, not writing down anything close to a quote makes me wonder if the writing was to my liking. And it was, I liked the writing, but it just lacks everything but words. I actually find it hard to explain exactly what I mean, but let’s just say it like this: Cat Patrick can write, everyone can write, but it’s never enough that they can write something down. It’s when words have meaning that the writing is good to me. And I felt like this book lacked that, it felt lacking in every way when it came to the writing.

CHARACTERS
2.5star
There are just a handful of characters worth mentioning in this book. So I’ll be brief. London Lane is the main character, she’s 16 years old and she has a condition where her memory resets every night at 4:33 AM. She hasn’t told anyone but her mother and her best friend Jamie, and that seems legit and realistic. Anyways, we learn throughout the book that London can see the future but not the past, and that whatever she sees kind of reflects on how she actually treats people today. Like for example, Jamie, London’s best friend has an affair with a married teacher, London has seen where it’s going and therefore London tries to change that future by being a mean bitch.

Realistically I have no idea what I would have done in a situation like that. Jamie has told London that she doesn’t want to know her future, and I think that’s a fair point. I don’t think anyone would like knowing what was going to happen to you, stopping you from having a relatively good life. So, Jamie is a pretty nice girl. She updates London on things, and helps her in every way that she can.

London’s mother on the other hand was kind of a mystery throughout the book. She’s not really much there, and I would think that if your daughter has this condition, you would want to place yourself in more situations considering your child than London’s mother does. It’s like her mother let’s London have a fairly free life considering that her condition can put her in a lot of trouble. I didn’t like the mother and I felt like she didn’t reflect a healthy/normal mother figure.

And then there’s the mystery boy, who’s name is ridiculous: Luke Henry. He seems like this normal guy, but something felt off about him the whole book. It’s like he doesn’t pay attention to the fact that London kind of forgets things along the way and he just felt off. That turns out to be true. So, keep an eye out for Luke Henry.

THE ENDING
1.5star
It’s kind of a cool ending to the book. I mean, there’s this huge revelation at the ending and I was like: whaat? But then again, it was like over the last 20 pages or something and it became too brief to even grasp the fact that it was all over. I wanted to know more, what happened after the ending? Where did she go? Like, I wanted a second book to be honest.

ALL OVER
3.5star
It’s a cool book, mostly because of the plot. The characters feel a bit lacking, but I think that’s because Cat Patrick decided it to be so. Like we would feel like we had the same problem that London had, not really feeling like you know someone? I don’t know, it’s a weird but kind of cool book, but it didn’t meet my expectations. It became more of a romance-thing than a cool fantasy-thing really.

GOODREADS UPDATES
Page 38 / 12% “HAHA POOR GIRL”
Page 58/ 19% “Hmm this funeral dream is creepy”
Page 133/43% “:O”
Page 139 / 45% “Whaaat?”
Page 141 / 46% “Oh my god”
Page 156 / 51% “Aaawe Luke”
Page 159 / 52% “Waait noo”
Page 160 / 52% “Whaaaat?”
Page 191 / 62% “Woooow”
Page 199 / 65% “Aaawe”
Page 211 / 69% “I’m lost”
Page 220 / 72% “</3”
Page 249 / 81% “:O”
Page 274 / 90% “Nooo waaay”

Favorite quote: “For me, reading is remembering.”

 marley
Leave a Reply

