Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

4,5 stjerner

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare’s blood is red – the colour of common folk – but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from the prince and friend who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by the Silver king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red and Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Title: Glass Sword
Series: Red Queen, book 2
Author: Victoria Aveyard
My Edition: A paperback from Orion, published in 2016 with 464 pages
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance

WHY THIS BOOK
Since I read the first book, and it was one of my favorites of 2015, I was drooling all over Glass Sword, and I wanted it immediately. I ordered it when it came out in february, but I didn’t start until July, which was weird, but I guess I was just kind of fed up with dystopians for a while. Anyways, I picked it up in July and here’s what happened:

PLOT
4star
The plot kind of lacked something as to the first book. In the first book it’s all about Mare’s journey through the castle, learning about her abilities, trusting these princes and the court in general. Book two is all about how she’s now betrayed, cast out, and on the run from the bad guys. I feel like sequels often lack something, especially if there’s three or four books, the second book is always kind of dull, and this was kind of dull to be honest.

As I wrote above I started it in July, but I didn’t finish it before August, which is a really long time for me to read one book. I was surprised by how much I lacked the interest in this book for a really long time, and it took about 150 pages for me to get into it. BUT, then it became so, so worth it.

What I liked about the plot is that not only do we get to know a much darker side to Mare, but we also get to meet others like her. Other reds with silver abilities, and I really liked that part. We get to see more of Mare’s brothers, and we get to know more about Cal as a person rather than the second guy in line (for Mare’s love that is).

BUT. There’s a big BUT. I liked the plot in the part where it kind of always moved forward with something new. Victoria Aveyard is the best at plot-twists, and they’re very present in this book as well. BUT it’s all about running. Mare’s running from or running to something or someone, and it’s always about hiding and training and it became so one-sided and kind of boring at times.

WRITING
4,5 stjerner
Victoria Aveyard’s writing is always on point. She never disappoints. The only thing that I want to point out is the fact that I feel like she can explain and describe endlessly. Sometimes it feels like she uses TOO much time explaining and describing something.

CHARACTERS / THE WORLD
4,5 stjerner
Mare evolves from this tough girl from the Stilts, to more of a antihero in Glass Sword, which I found kind of refreshing. I feel like too often writers write their MC’s TOO fantastic, and Mare kind of turns a little darker, a little twistier, and a little more interesting to read about.

Cal kind of continues to be Cal. I felt like he didn’t evolve much in this book, he just is what he is. The generally thought-of “perfect” YA boyfriend. Boring.

Maven goes darker and darker and darker in this book. Seriously at one point I was gasping. I was like WHAT NO. Because I was team Maven from the start. Seriously.He just turns to this scary guy and I don’t know if I absolutely loved it, or kind of hated it?

Kilorn, the best-friend, turns into this annoying little brat at this point, I hated him in the first book, and I hated him more in this book.

Shade is finally making a larger entrance in this book, and OH MY GOODNESS I LOVED HIM SO MUCH. YOU’LL LOVE HIM.

The world expands even more in this book, and that is one of the reasons why this book is so interesting! We get to see more of the world Victoria Aveyard has created, and it’s just amazing. I loved the expansion, BUT I’m wishing there was a map. I love book-maps, and I wish there were one in this book!

THE ENDING
3star
How is this going to end? There is supposed to be 4 books in this series, which I think is too much. I felt like this book is kind of a typical sequel, and I don’t know how she’ll be able to write four books. Like HOW.

ALL OVER
4,5 stjerner
It’s a 4.5, and it’s a good 4.5, but not as good as the first book. It’s worth the read, seriously, you need to read this book if you’ve already read Red Queen because it’s amazeballs, but don’t expect a book as good as Red Queen.

GOODREADS
Page 30 / 6% “”now my thoughts turn back to Maven himself, to cold blue eyes and the moment I realized his charming smile hid a beast.””
Page 139 / 29% “I’m in a reading slump, it’s going so sloooow… whyyy”
Page 162 / 34% “Bah this reading slump needs to go away….” 
Page 216 / 46% “this reminds me A LOT of GOT”
Page 301 / 64% “”I see a crown dripping in blood. A storm without thunder. Shadow twisting on a bed of flames. I see lakes flooding their shores, swallowing men whole. I see a man with one red eye, his coat blue, his gun smoking—””
Page 360 / 77% “It’s happening!!!”
Page 388 / 83% “nooo”

Favorite quote: “If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

marley

2 comments on “Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

  1. […] Next book out was Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I’d started it months before, and put it down because I just didn’t feel like reading it really. It was dragging on for so long in the beginning, and it took like 200 pages before something actually happened. I gave the book a 4.5/5 because when it gets good, it’s REALLY good. You can read the review here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

