Book Review: New World: Rising by Jennifer Wilson

5-rosa

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.”

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

First line of the book: “The wind slapped my face as I looked down on the city below me.”

Title: New World: Rising
Series: New World, book 1
Author: Jennifer Wilson
My Edition: A paperback published by Oftomes Publishing in 2016, first published in 2014 with 350 pages.
Age: Young Adult (16+ mostly because of the sexual references. There is rape and murder graphically described).
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal

whythisbook-r
I saw the cover on instagram a long long time ago, and I just loved it to bits. I ordered it this month on Book Depository, and I was seriously stoked when I got it!

plot-r
5-rosa
The plot is pretty much about Phoenix, a girl who’s been through a lot in her short life. She lost her parents when she was young, and has been on her own ever since. She’s had to do everything by herself. In this dystopian city Tartarus everyone finds a tribe and sticks with it, but Phoenix hasn’t. She hates them all.

Jennifer Wilson (I think) drew the first couple of pages of the book, first a small map of Tartarus, and then sketches of the different tribe-members, their names and features. I absolutely loved this, because it made me see them more clearly and it became easier to know which was which.

Wraiths are the ghosts of Tartarus, they’re rarely seen, and they take the left hands of their victims, kind of marking them so that everyone will know that it was them.
The Ravagers are the most violent tribe, and they hunt people for sport. They’re the ones who killed Phoenix’s parents. They also have lots of piercings.
Adroits are clever people who sets traps rather than killing first hand. Everyone is also bald, even the women.
Taciturns are the “spies” of Tartarus, putting their spies in every tribe to know the inside info. Undercover Taciturns have only the bottom of their tongues tattooed, while the other’s carry larger ones.
And then there is the Scavengers, the rats of Tartarus. They scavenge for anything left from the other tribe’s kills. They collect clothes from dead bodies and are relatively nasty.

I loved the dividing of Tartarus, and how the city had different groups, some of the groups more superior than the others when it came to how many members they had. I also loved the fact that you could easily know who was who by their looks. Not only did they have different colors, but they had other marks as well and it made it more interesting. We don’t see much of all of the groups but the Ravagers in the book, but we hear about the others just the same.

The plot evolves around Phoenix’s days, and how she has made a home for herself in a doomed city outside the “walls”. She only has small flashbacks from when she was a child and I felt like that made the story even more interesting. The story evolved in a way I didn’t see coming, and when she ended up with some unlikely people, I was just sold. THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE DYSTOPIA.

writing-r
4-5-rosa
I absolutely loved the writing, it made the whole book so much faster paced than I thought it would be. Not only does Jennifer Wilson write incredibly good, but she also, I think, chooses to leave out some descriptions so that we can easily make them up ourselves. The copy I had, did have some weird spelling, but I didn’t mind really, if anyone would want me to point it out now, I’ve totally forgotten about it. It was just absolutely amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever tagged a book that much during reading a book, it’s filled with tags so that I can find my favorite parts again!

characters-r
4-5-rosa
Phoenix is the main character of the book, and a damn good one. I would say that she is the product of the environment she’s living in. She lost her parents, she’s all by herself, and she really just have to survive. Every day is about surviving, so it’s really not a life at all. I felt like she evolved a lot during the book, from going from someone who can’t trust anyone, someone who needs to be selfish in order to survive, and someone who doesn’t know much about the world, to someone who I would want to be. I loved her as a character and I seriously can not wait until I get the next book. I don’t want to spoil the book, so I’m not going to include other characters in this review. But let’s just say that you’ll totally fall in love with the rest!

the-ending-r
5-rosa
The ending is absolutely stunning! About 30 pages from the end, I went on amazon and ordered the next book (which is supposed to be here on October 25, which is SUCH A LONG TIME). I have to know how this ends.

all-over-r
5-rosa
It’s an aaamazing book, I haven’t read a book that has made me read this much on such a short time, in a long time. I want to buy this to all my friends and make them read it. I’m planning on making Ida read it, because it is absolutely amazing. And you need to buy it and read it too!

goodreads-updates-r
04/21 – Marked as to-read
09/14 – Marked as currently-reading
09/14 – Page 30 / 8% – 
“It’s sooo gooood!!!!!”
09/14 – Page 103 / 29% – “Seriously wondering if this is my new favorite dystopian :O It’s so good, I don’t want to put it down…”
09/15 – Page 215 / 61% – “THIS BOOK!!!!!”
09/16 – Page 296 / 84% – “I ordered the next book, I NEED IT”
09/16 – Marked as read

would-i-buy-it-r
YES! Of course I already did, but I would totally buy it again! I’m planning on buying it to all of my friends so that they’ll have to read it too.

who-i-would-recommend-it-to-r
Seriously, if you like dystopia at all, read it! If you like good character development, read it!

favorite-quote-r
“Once I had opened a book and read its pages, those characters could never be taken away from me. Even if the books were burned, they would still live on in my mind.”
– Phoenix, New World: Rising

marley

3 comments on “Book Review: New World: Rising by Jennifer Wilson

  1. […] Then I used my TBR jar again and picked up New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson. This was a new favorite! I rarely give out 5-stars, but this book deserved every last one. So it got a 5/5, and I would highly recommend it if you liked The Hunger Games or Divergent, it’s got the same feel to it. You can read the review here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

