Book Review: The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse

3.5star

As an obedient orphan of the U.N.A. (the super-country that was once Mexico, the U.S., and Canada), Alenna learned at an early age to blend in and be quiet—having your parents taken by the police will do that to a girl. But Alenna can’t help but stand out when she fails a test that all sixteen-year-olds have to take: The test says she has a high capacity for brutal violence, and so she is sent to The Wheel, an island where all would-be criminals end up.

The life expectancy of prisoners on The Wheel is just two years, but with dirty, violent, and chaotic conditions, the time seems a lot longer as Alenna is forced to deal with civil wars for land ownership and machines that snatch kids out of their makeshift homes. Desperate, she and the other prisoners concoct a potentially fatal plan to flee the island. Survival may seem impossible, but Alenna is determined to achieve it anyway.

Title: The Forsaken
Series: The Forsaken, book 1
Author: Lisa M. Stasse
My Edition: A Paperback from Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, published in 2012, with 375 pages.
Age: Young Adult (15+)
Genres: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Adventure, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Survival, Teen

WHY THIS BOOK
I believe it first showed up on my goodreads account as a recommendation, and since I love dystopia I figured I’d give it a go. I ordered it not long ago, and then I picked it out of my TBR-box, which made me pick this book, obviously.

PLOT
3.5star
The plot is the average dystopian. I mean, we get to know Alenna, who lives in the U.N.A. which is pretty much a bunch of countries made into one. She lives in an orphanage because her parents were taken when she was a kid, and one day she goes to take this test, which will kind of peel out the bad seeds and she fails. (that has never happened in a dystopian ever). So she’s sent off to something called “The Wheel” which pretty much is described as where they send all the worst criminals and the people who are most likely to become one.

So, she’s sent there, wakes up in the middle of nowhere and is then retrieved by this bad ass girl who’s so pretty and cool, and then she’s accepted into the Tribe where she lives for a while with other kids. And then she falls in love and then they try to flee the island.

WRITING
3star
The writing is okay. I mean, it’s not complicated, and it’s not hard to read, it just wasn’t anything special. I liked the writing to the extend where I felt like I didn’t have to concentrate to actually get the details, they were pretty much presented to me and that was nice.

CHARACTERS
3.5star
I feel like the characters are average dystopian characters where something wrong has been done to them personally, and they take it in their hands in order to fix it.

Alenna isn’t what I would call bad ass, she’s careful and not the person who takes action I would say. She tries to blend in in the U.N.A, but when she arrives at the Wheel, she tries to push herself to care less about how other people see her, and start caring more about the fact that she wants to help and contribute to the community she’s landed in. I feel like she trusts too easily, if you land in an unknown place with a ton of criminals, or at least people who look like they are, I would at least tread carefully. But it seems like she trusts everyone at first sight, and when it comes to her friends like Gadya, I didn’t really understand their relationship. It went from “Hey I don’t know you but come with me” to “I can’t live without the other”. So it felt kind of shallow if you ask me. It was the same thing about Rika, it just felt weird and shallow and I just couldn’t see how they could become so good friends over such a short period of time. I get that if you’re trapped somewhere you have all the time in the world to talk and hang out, but we never got to see that, the author jumped over that part.

THE ENDING
4star
Weirdly enough, the ending made me want to order the next book, and all though I haven’t yet, I will, because I want to know what happens next.

ALL OVER
3.5star
Would I buy this book to put it in my bookshelf: I already have, but probably yes, it’s a beautiful book and I would happily buy it to have in my collection.
Who will I recommend it to: People who like dystopia with “bad ass girl saves the world with beautiful boy” I guess.

The book isn’t WOW, but it’s not boring either. I read it pretty fast, and it was because the plot was interesting. I liked it, but I felt like the characters could have been explored further, that the world could have been explored further, and I would have loved to see the actual bonding between the characters!

GOODREADS
02/14 Marked as To Read
09/06 Marked as Currently Reading

09/06 – page 8 / 2% “Hmm, has she read Divergent?”
09/08 – page 95 / 25% “I think I like the book?”
09/08 – page 100 / 26% “I feel like Gadya’s mood is so weird, changing all the time…”
09/11 – page 183 / 48% “Noo Liam”
09/12 – page 238 / 63% “I like the book, I like the MC, but I feel like everything is so rushed…”
09/12 Marked as read

Favorite quote: “Freedom means more than just struggling to survive.”

marley

One comment on “Book Review: The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse

Leave a Reply

