September wrap up

September is always a hectic month. It’s the month where school actually starts, it’s the month where the cold kind of sets in and it’s the time when all the TV-shows starts up again. For me this month was a slap in the face, suddenly I had two large papers to write for school, and it kind of hit me that October will be the only month I’ll have to read for my exams. So, September was a slap in the face.


Instagram

capture

This is some of my instagram feed from September. I’ve been doing the #ampersandsept16 challenge, and it was a lot of fun! I’ve also tried to catch up on some tags, and now I’m actually having a hard time filling up my days. I’ve decided that I’ll try to do two posts daily, and it takes a lot of preparation! But this is the first challenge I’ve done that I’ve actually finished. So yay for me! You can find me on instagram here, or search for me @marleyreads



Bookish wrap up

wrapup

I started the month with What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler, you can read the review here. I gave the book a 2.5/5 mostly because I felt like the book was just too dragged on, and all though it felt like something realistic, it also felt like a book that tried to be something it wasn’t.

Next book out was Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I’d started it months before, and put it down because I just didn’t feel like reading it really. It was dragging on for so long in the beginning, and it took like 200 pages before something actually happened. I gave the book a 4.5/5 because when it gets good, it’s REALLY good. You can read the review here.

Then I jumped on a challenge on IG which was #theriseoftheking, and I read my first Stephen King book; The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, which Ida so kindly borrowed to me. This was an entirely new experience, and I guess that since I’ve never been a thriller-fan when it comes to books, this made me read a little longer than most books would. To be honest I was seriously sick with a fever and goo coming out of my nose when I read it, but this was absolutely the right book at the right time. It’s short, simple and incredibly cool! I gave it a 3.5/5! You can read the review here, and you can also read Ida’s review here.

After that I used my TBR jar and picked up The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse. You can read the review here. This was one of those books where I just couldn’t pinpoint if I really liked it, or if I actually hated it. The book was exciting and I did read the whole thing, so obviously I liked it to some extend, but there was just so many things about it that made me unsure if it was because of the plot that I liked it, or if it was the thought of the plot. I don’t know, but I gave it a 3.5/5!

Then I used my TBR jar again and picked up New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson. This was a new favorite! I rarely give out 5-stars, but this book deserved every last one. So it got a 5/5, and I would highly recommend it if you liked The Hunger Games or Divergent, it’s got the same feel to it. You can read the review here.

And last, but not least, I picked up A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab, which didn’t disappoint me one last bit. I’ve read one book by Schwab before, and that was This Savage Song, which I absolutely loved – and this was just as amazing. I gave it a 4.5/5, and you can read the review here.

What we saw by Aaron Hartzler
2-5-rosa

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
4-5-rosa

The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King
3-5-rosa

The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse
3-5-rosa

New World: Rising by Jennifer Wilson
5-rosa

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
4-5-rosa



October

October is going to be a busy month. I’m doing the #myreadsoct16 hosted by @malireads, and I’m really looking forward to this. I’m also going to London with my BA class the 24th of October, which is going to be amazing! I’ve never been there, so if you know any good bookstores in London, please let me know!

I’m hoping to get to some of Leigh Bardugo’s books in October, mostly because I’ve heard so many good things about the Grisha trilogy, so I’m hopefully going to get to that. I’m also waiting for PSY by Joey Slater-Milligan, which I’m going to read in October!

marley

Leave a Reply

