The Introvert by Michael P. Michaud

*I received an arc of this book in exchange for an honest review*
4-bla%cc%8a

Goodreads blurb
A vacuum salesman by day, the introvert lives a quiet life alone with his dog until a work relationship and a dark secret from his past team up to create an uncomfortable imbalance in his otherwise ordered life, one that soon finds him squarely at the center of a murder investigation. With his thoughts continually urging him to make people “red and open” and to “achieve it” with his girlfriend Donna, what follows is a sometimes brutal, oftentimes hilarious, and absurdist account of the life of one very anti-social and unexpected anti-hero.

First line: Later that week I heard a knock on my door. 

Title: The Introvert
Author: Michael Michaud
My edition: I received a digital arc of this book in exchange for an honest review. It’s about 160 pages long.
Age: It’s an adult’s book, but I’d say 16+ can read it.
Genres: crime, humor, black humor.

why-this-book
I was asked by the author to read it in exchange for an honest review. I said yes because it seemed like my kind of book as I like both crime and humor books, and this one sounded really special and unique.

plot
4-bla%cc%8a
The Plot of this book is very simple, but yet it managed to surprise me. We meet the main character at a point in his life where everything is peaceful and quiet, just the way he likes it. He doesn’t do much; He goes to work and he walks his dog and then he usually sits at home and watch TV. Which is perfect for him. But already at the first chapter we sense that there’s more to this character than we know. His sudden urge to see people “red and open” gives us a feeling that we won’t just read about his walks with the dog to put it like that.

When a relationship with Donna at work starts developing at the same time that his urges becomes stronger, it ends with chaos and he suddenly finds himself suspected in a murder investigation.

It’s a really easy plot to follow, but never predictable. Early in the book you also get to know that he has a secret from the past that really made me curious, and you know just enough at all time to make the book both satisfying and exciting to continue on. I constantly wondered what would happen next, and it never happened too much or too little.

writing
4-bla%cc%8a
The writing is really easy, and you could easily read this book in a couple of days because of this. The writing is built up so that you understand exactly how the main character thinks, which I loved. I sometimes could relate to it, as I often tend to have similar train of thoughts. It also made me feel closer to the main character and it made the book really funny. An example:

“The dog was skinny and had a dull coat and I thought maybe it was even mangy, but then I felt bad for thinking that and it made me want to apologize to the dog but then he wouldn’t understand me even if I did so I figured there’d be no point” 

It writing style and the humor reminds me a litlle bit about of The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole, only we get access to the main characters thought process instead of his diary and this is a book for adults. It’s just something about the main character’s way of thinking. I love it!

characters
4-bla%cc%8a
The main character, the introvert, is a really good character. I love how deep we get to know him through the writing and how we get access to his thoughts. He just seems like the most adorable and awkward person what so ever. His intensions are always good, but yet all he does often ends up in chaos and bad things. Without spoiling, it kind of scares me that I find a character so adorable when he is able to do the things that the Introvert has done. Another thing I love about this character is his use of the Company Culture Handbook. At his work, they have this book with rules for the company. The introvert often uses this rules in completely unrelated situations as a sort of life-guide, and it’s just so adorable. I’ll give you an example:

“Feelings are funny things,” I said.
The seventh rule of The Company Culture Handbook was to “Always Diffuse Discomfort.” The company had taught us that ambiguous or generalized statements were good at this, and though I wasn’t sure if it would work on Donna because she’d read the same manual, it did seem to work because she started to nod and smile.

The other characters in this book is good as well and fills its purpose. I’ve got nothing to complain about when it comes to the characters in this book.

the-ending
4-5-bla%cc%8a
I was kind of expecting it to end in a completely different way, but I really liked the ending and there’s nothing bad to say about it.

all-over
4-bla%cc%8a

In the beginning I thought the book was a bit odd, but a few pages in I realized that this was a book I would love. Michaud has managed to draw a perfect picture of the main character, which is a character I quikly fell in love with because of his awkwardness and special, yet cute, way of thinking. The book was so incredibly easy to read (I finished it during a 6-hour train ride) and it’s both funny and exciting. All over I’m very glad that I picked up this book, and it will stick with me for a long time!

would-i-buy-it

YES. This is a book I want to have in my bookshelf, both because it’s the kind of book you’d want to read again after some time and also one of those I’d recommend when my friends and family wants to borrow from me.

who-i-recommend-it-to

Everyone who likes black humor and who likes a book with a kind of awkward main character. This is not a typical “women’s” or “men’s” book, I find it suitable for both. but I’d probably recommend it to adults for the most.

favorite-quote

“The ninth rule of The Company Culture Handbook was “Nobody Likes a Challenger” and I could tell that Mr. Peters truly believed in that rule because his face became tight and rigid when Donna said this and it was obvious that he didn’t appreciate her insinuation, but then it was just as obvious that Donna felt that the company was no longer being her friend and was thereby violating the tenth rule, so maybe it was a wash.”

idaelise

3 comments on “The Introvert by Michael P. Michaud

Leave a Reply

