Book Review: Puck by Kim Askew & Amy Helmes

*I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.*
4-5-rosa

Goodreads blurb
Life isn’t always fair, and no one knows that better than fifteen-year-old Puck. When she’s unceremoniously booted from yet another foster home, this city kid lands at DreamRoads, a rehabilitation wilderness camp. Her fellow juvenile delinquents include a famous pop star with a diva attitude, a geeky, “fish out of water” math whiz, and a surly gang-banger with a chip on his shoulder. The program’s steely director aims to break Puck, but she knows that every adult has a breaking point, too. Determined to defy this realm of agonizing nature hikes and soul-sucking psychobabble — even if that means manipulating four lovestruck camp counselors and the director’s dim-witted second-in-command — Puck ultimately gets much more than she bargains for

First line: “‘Get up Robin,’ the voice repeats, hacking at my tranquil sleep like a dull meat cleaver.” 

Title: Puck
Series: Twisted Lit
Author: Kim Askew and Amy Helmes
My edition: An ebook published by Doublet Press in 2016, my ebook has
Age: Young Adult (I would say about 15+, mostly because there are some graphical descriptions in the book)
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary

whythisbook-r
As mentioned I received a copy of the book for an honest review, and I pretty much said yes before even reading about it, because the cover is so stunningly beautiful!

plot-r
3-5-rosa
The story is about Puck who is sent to a camp called DreamRoads by her foster-mother where she’s supposedly going to become a “good-girl”. From the first minute she hates it there, and she hates the people and all she wants is to get out of there. But then she realizes that the only way to actually “get out”, is to play by the rules and graduate like all of her peers. Not long into her stay does she start to open up to the others, and realize that the people around her aren’t that bad, but then it’s too late, she’s already done a bad thing, and people are starting to realize that she isn’t what she seemed to be.

The story is different from what I’ve read before, for once we have a character who isn’t immediately categorized as a good person, she’s like a hundred shades of good and bad. The more you read, the more you get to know the people around her and her entire situation and it strangely and slowly becomes a story about loss of loved ones, about holding everything up inside until you explode, and I liked the story more and more.

The plot is as said a little strange, and it took some time before I realized that this was not some scary plot where the main character is dragged from her bed to this scary institution where they’ll electrocute you. It also took some time for me to understand the whole point of her being there, and I think that was the point, that the longer you read, the more you came to know why she was there.

When that is said, this is also inspired by Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer’s Night Dream”. If you haven’t read it, it’s pretty complicated. But I’ll try to explain it as simple as I can.  Demetrius and Lysander both loves Hermia, but Hermia loves Lysander. BUT Hermia’s father wants Demetrius as a son-in-law. Then there’s Helena who loves Demetrius. So, Hermia and Lysander flees, but are pursued by Demetrius, who is pursued by Helena. They come to a forest, which is kind of magical. And in that forest is the king and queen of the fairies, and the king’s mischief-maker PUCK.

writing-r
4-5-rosa
The book has simple writing, and it wasn’t hard to read at all. Sometimes I felt like it had a lot of repeating words and lines, but I think that was intentional for me as a reader to understand what Puck was going through, and who she really was. I also liked the way they used a language that fitted to Puck and the way I pictured her. I guess they made her more real by using that specific language because she felt more complete that way.

characters-r
4-rosa
There’s a lot of characters in this book, so I’m just going to focus on Puck! 

Puck is what I would call the stereotypical picture of what a foster-kid looks like. She’s kind of mean, wants to do everything by herself, and she’s every kind of trouble. The thing that I do like about her is the fact that she stands her ground throughout the entire stay. I also disliked her for it, sometimes she was so obnoxious I actually got angry, like I felt physical anger wanting to throw the phone away.

The one thing that really made me like her though, was the fact that throughout the book she changes. She goes from the “typical foster-kid” to someone who actually thinks and reflects over her life-choices and things that has happened to her. I don’t want to spoil her for you, but I hated her at first, and then she started to grow on me!

You also have other characters that are hard to forget like Tatania, the typical mean girl! Or Ronnie, won’t forget about him anytime soon. And then there’s BARB. Oh my, you just need to read it!

the-ending-r
4-rosa
I liked the ending, it wasn’t anything epic, it was a nice and cute ending!

all-over-r
4-5-rosa
The book is really interesting and I really liked it, but it took me some time to get to that point. I would really recommend it! I am also looking into the other Twisted Lit novels because I really liked the inspiration drawn from Shakespeare!

goodreads-updates-r
10/18 – Marked as: Currently reading
10/19 – 23% : “Puck is just too ‘bad ass’.. It’s like she tries to be the worst of the worst”
10/22 – 39% : “I’m seriously wondering about Quin! I have so many theories!”
10/24 – 54% “I feel like Puck becomes more and more bearable by each chapter. At first I hated her, but now, I kinda like her”
10/25 – 75% : “Poor Puck, the only time she didn’t do anything specific to be thrown out, she is thrown out”
10/29: Marked as: Read

would-i-buy-it-r
Yes! And I’m so incredibly happy that I’ll be getting a paperback from Kim!

who-i-would-recommend-it-to-r
Anyone who wants a fast contemporary read!

favorite-quote-r
“That’s the thing about being a kid like me; all you really are is an opportunity to make other people feel good about themselves, and then when they realize you aren’t an easy fix, well, it’s like you never existed.” – Puck

marley

One comment on “Book Review: Puck by Kim Askew & Amy Helmes

  1. […] Puck by Amy Helmes & Kim Askew Read: October 18-October 29 I received a digital copy of the book in exchange for an honest review, I’m now waiting for the physical copy to arrive in my mailbox! It was such an interesting read, where you go from hating to loving to hating to loving the main character, and it was such an interesting plot! Read my review here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

