Book Review: New World Ashes by Jennifer Wilson

4-5-rosa

Goodreads blurb
After Phoenix, a 17-year-old orphan rogue, sacrifices herself for her loved ones, her world again takes an unexpected turn. She may have forgotten her past, but it hasn’t forgotten her. A war is coming and her role in it will be pivotal.

That is… if she survives.

First line: “Fire. Ashes. Rebirth.”

Title: New World Ashes
Series: New World, book 2
Author: Jennifer Wilson
My edition: Paperback published in 2016 by Oftomes Publishing with 277 pages.
Age: Young Adult (16+)
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia

whythisbook-r
I just loved the first book to bits, you can read the review here, and I just knew I had to continue the series!

plot-r
5-rosa
The plot is different from the first book. Here Phoenix is taken by the bad people, and about 1/3 of the book is about her being tortured and broken down in a million pieces by them. That is until she’s rescued by Triven, and she has to be “rebuilt” from scratch.

What I loved about the plot was that it takes a deeper dive into the utopian world where Phoenix was born. We meet a relative of her, and she slowly starts losing herself and what she thought she was. When she is rescued we get a look at the rebellion inside the utopia, and we start to realize that Tartarus wasn’t as bad as it seemed in the first book.

We also dive further into Phoenix’s past, and people who knew her parents and her starts to come into the story, and that is something I just loved about this book!

What I didn’t like about the book was that it felt like the “typical” sequel in a trilogy, it’s all about the build up to the actual “happening”. To be totally honest I hadn’t even realized that there was going to be a third book, so I was thinking that this was such a weird ending, and I actually cried when I realized that there was going to be a third book, because that meant that I had to wait for my ending.

writing-r
5-rosa
As usual her writing is gorgeous. I can’t say it enough, she can write like no other! It’s so simple, but whenever there’s a fight I can feel every bone in my body break and the taste of blood in my mouth, so, her action scenes are just amazing. The romantic scenes are also just enough to tingle my fancy, as in, it does the trick and you’re SO happy when something actually happens.

characters-r
4-rosa
Phoenix or Prea goes through this huge change in this book. In the first book we got to meet a really strong female character. In this book we get to see that strong girl changed into someone completely broken. I felt so sorry for her and all I wanted was that there was going to be a happy ending. There were some changes that I liked about her, for example that she decided that she, Triven and Mouse were in this together. What I didn’t like was her anger towards everyone who wanted to help her understand her parents. It was like she took out the anger of losing her memories on those people rather than the source.

Mouse is as always adorable, and I have this picture of her in my head that just won’t go away and I would seriously love to see her character drawn! It’s the same with Triven, now I realize that there’s something going on with him, there’s a secret that he hasn’t told yet and I want to know what it is, because I’m starting to doubt him! IS HE GOOD OR IS HE BAD?

the-ending-r
4-rosa
The ending was so strange, but I liked it, it made me want MORE.

all-over-r
4-5-rosa
It’s a really good book, and I will recommend it over and over again to everyone! It still holds on to that strong female protagonist, but as every protagonist she met the “wall” in this book and I have no doubt she’ll rise from this. She shows more of her maternal sides in this book and I loved that, it kind of showed this emotional side about her that we haven’t seen much of yet. I also love the “new” villain, he’s so scary.

goodreads-updates-r
I actually managed to delete the book from goodreads not long after I read it, and therefore all of my goodreads updates of this book are gone.

would-i-buy-it-r
Yes! And I would buy it to all my friends as well!

who-i-would-recommend-it-to-r
If you liked The Hunger Games or Divergent this is perfect; strong female character, a love interest, a crazy world!

favorite-quote-r
“Maybe it was Death’s arms, finally come to take me away. I hoped it was. Sometimes, it was better to be the ones who died, than the one left to live…” – Phoenix

marley

Leave a Reply

