Lost Nowhere by Phoebe Garnsworthy

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*
3-5-bla%cc%8a

Goodreads blurb
Lily doesn’t like change although it seems to follow her everywhere she goes: change of house, change of school, change of friends. She does a pretty good job at rejecting it every chance she gets, but when she stumbles upon an enchanted world full of crystal stone beaches, mermaids, and witches, everything moves faster than she can even perceive possible. And no one seems to be bothered by it! She has two choices—stay in misery on her own, or learn how to surrender.

First line: Lily was probably more scared than anything.

Title: Lost Nowhere
Author: Phoebe Garnsworthy
My edition: I read an e-book edition of the ARC.
Age: This is kind of a self-help book, so I think it could suit most ages from around 15+
The story itself is kind of childish, but the themes and the deeper meaning makes it a book that can suit most ages.
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Magical Realism, Self-Help, Self-Discovery

why-this-book
I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. I accepted it because it’s been a while since I’ve read a fantasy book, and I’ve never ever read a fantasy/self-discovery book so I figured it would be an interesting experience.

plot
3-bla%cc%8a
The book is about Lily who’s always been struggling at school and with making friends. Her father has decided that it’s time for them to move to a new house and start at a new school – which Lily hates. Until she stumbles upon an enchanted world filled with magical creatures.

The book is divided into  twelve chapters, where each chapter takes Lily deeper and deeper into the world and it’s wonders. In every chapter she meets new characters, which all learns her something about herself. And as Lily learns more and more about herself, we as readers learn more about ourself at the same time.

So in a way there are two things going on at the same time in this book: The acutal story is exciting in itself and I had so many beautiful images in my head while reading it. It came to a point where I truly wished I was good at painting, because I so badly want to see how all of the characters would look like and I imagine so many great pictures and painitings with them and the beautiful environment. This could be an amazing movie as well, because of this beautiful and weird world. Kind of like Tim Burton’s version of “Alice in Wonderland”. It’s that kind of vibe I got from reading it.

Then there’s the fact that you’re taking this journey with Lily and discovering aspects of yourself at the same time that she does. It’s not to the point where I felt I became an entirely different person from reading it, but it helps you focus and become aware of who you are and what you can achieve. Throughout the book, Lily is thaught why it is important to love yourself in various ways (she learns a lot more than that as well) – and as a reader, you do to. It was nice, and I definetly think that reading this book scored me some confidence-points.

writing
4-bla%cc%8a
I am very pleased with the writing. Garnsworthy writes in a detailed way that makes it so easy to picture the surroundings and the characters. I love that, and as mentioned, I was sitting there with a real desire to someday get to see all the images that popped up in my head while reading.

This is a book you cannot finish in a couple of days. It is far too detailed for that. That’s not a bad thing, because it’s a kind of book you need to take some time to experience for the fullest, and it’s a journey you cannot rush. For that purpose, the writing is good.

characters
3-5-bla%cc%8a

There are many characters in this book, so I’ve picked out the five I found the most interesting.

Lily, the main character starts off as a character I didn’t really like much. She has her troubles, but I found her kind of selfish and not really able to reflect upon how her beahviour. When she discovers the magical world, she becomes – piece by piece – a far better person. She learns so many important lessons of loving yourself, which is the most important step a person can do to be able to love and understand the world around them. Lily goes through a really big character development, and it was so interesting to follow her throughout it!

Jaques is the first character we meet in the new world, and at first I found him a bit overwhelming… but so does Lily and we have, after all, just stepped in to a magical world filled with wonders and things we’ve never seen before, so in retrospect I find it really smart to put him first. Jaques introduces Lily to the world and gives her the very first lessons. Although he was a little much, I liked him.

Crysanthe is perhaps the character in this book I liked the most! I got my first “I would love to illustrate this book”-vibe when I read about her, because I got this really beautiful vision of her while reading. I also LOVE the concept of mermaids and mermans and how they live their lifes. I never watched Disney’s “the little mermaid” when I was little (I know, what is wrong with me) so I kind of missed out on the mermaid-part of my childhood. Crysanthe compensates for it, and now I can finally take part in the pros and cons of being a mermaid discussions with people!

Karisma is also a must-draw for me (o the day I learn to draw will be filled with so much beauty)! I wish I could have a sneak-peak inside Garnsworthy’s head to see if our images are the same. Karisma is wonderful and I liked her almost as much as I loved Crysanthe.

Jade is yet another character I seriously need to draw one day! I have a really interesting imaginative picture of her as well. She’s a character you cannot like at all, it’s just not possible – but she’s interesting and she represents a part of life absolutetly everyone will encounter. The whole chracter is a valuable lesson and she became a counterpart from all the beautiful creatures we met, which I loved. And again, the day I learn to draw

the-ending
3-5-bla%cc%8a

While I experienced the ending as a bit sudden, there is a point to it and all in all it ended in exactly the way I wanted it to. This is a book I’d like to read other opinion about both because of the ending and the book in itself. But I am pleased for sure!

all-over
3-5-bla%cc%8a

In a way, this book was not what I expected. I don’t really know what I expected though.
It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book I actually had to spend some time reading. Not because it’s the longest book I read, but because I needed some time to digest the chapters. I still think that this book works best if you give it some time and don’t rush it, which I have a bad habit of doing.

I also read this book at the right time, while working my three jobs and preparing for my three exams coming up. This book and it’s amazing world filled with so many beautiful visions and pictures was a nice break from it all, and I enjoyed reading a chapter before going to bed. It also helped me focus on the really, really important life-lesson “love yourself”. It’s a clicè, but it is true and it is so incredibly important.

goodreads-updates

11/15: Marked as Currently Reading

11/15 page 130 51% Yay, it’s on goodreads! This book took a while longer to read than I anticipated, but that’s not a bad thing at all! So many beautiful details. I’ve been reading one chapter before going to bed the last days and it’s a really wonderful way to finish the day. That being said, this is a book worth discussing… Will be a review.

11/15 page 136 54% Jade seems so off… But omg I’d love to draw her one day!

11/16 page 141 56% you do NOT mess with the mermaids!

11/16 page 142 56 % Thank God

11/18 page 174 69% I wouldn’t mind having that box…

would-i-buy-it

To be completely honest, I’ve never been much of a self-discovery book fan. I find them to be filled with clichè’s too often and I’m too often left with the feeling that “I’ve heard this before thank you very much”. A fantasy/self-disovery book however, then we’re heading towards my direction. So, if I ever were to buy a self-discovery book, this would be it.

who-i-recommend-it-to

I would especially recommend this to everyone who has been through a rough time or are heading towards one. Like exams periods. Or heavy days at work. Or more serious rough times. This is a book that helps you focus on the beauty of yourself, so it would suit a lot of people because so many needs to focus on it more.

I would also recommend it to everyone who likes a good fantasy book! The self-discovery part is a nice bonus.

favorite-quote

I’m cheating with this one and giving you THREE. Because the book has like 45 I could have chosen.

“How can you feed the world when you, yourself are hungry?” 

“Loving yourself comes hand in hand with knowing yourself,” 

“For one cannot live without the ability to change” 

idaelise

3 comments on “Lost Nowhere by Phoebe Garnsworthy

Leave a Reply

