2016 Wrap Up

So incredibly much has happened in 2016 it’s almost hard to believe it! It’s been a really good year for so many reasons. Bookishly it’s been a really good year as well, and I’ve both added some new favorites to my list of best books ever, and I’ve also expanded my bookshelf with new goodies!

The books I read in 2016

My goal for 2016 was to read 25 books, and I read 26! I’m actually proud of it, considering I also took a BA during this year and have been a full-time student with several jobs on the side. I’ve read a lot of great books as well!

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
4-5-bla%cc%8a
I never wrote a review on this one – But I really liked it! It was exciting, I love the creativity of this world and I like the characters a lot!

Trouble in Trondheim by Mats Vederhus
3-bla%cc%8a
This was a requested Review I gladly accepted. Vederhus attended the class above me when I was studying Journalism, and it has been fun to see what he’s been up to. This is his debut-book, and you can read all about it in my review.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to The Galaxy by Douglas Adams
5-bla%cc%8a
My first full score of 2016! This book was everything I wanted it to be – and more. I got it for christmas from my mom’s boyfriend and both him and others have been telling me to read it for so long. I seriously love it, and I laughed out loud so many times.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
3-bla%cc%8a
It’s kind of hard for me to rate classic books because it’s not a genre I’ve read a lot from. Although I really did like The Picture of Dorian Gray and enjoyed some of the conversations and reflections, this book became a little to much conversations and reflections and lacked action for my personal taste. It still is a book I’m glad that I read, and I have some beautiful quotes from it in my Quote-book (yes, I have a notebook where I collect the best quotes from all the books I’ve read. And yes, I am a true nerd)

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
3-5-bla%cc%8a
Zombies! As the true gamer/book-nerd I am, the Zombie Apocalypse and the thousand versions of it will always have a special place in my heart. This one I found on a Top 10 Zombie book list and it fulfilled my wishes for an original story containing the necesarry elements of a true Zombie Apocalypse. I liked this one! But no full score here though, and that is because I couldn’t relate to the characters as much as I wanted to.

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams
4-bla%cc%8a
This is the second book in A Hitchhiker’s Guide To the Galaxy. It’s still exactly as hilariously funny as the first one, and I love the writing and the characters so incredibly much! What brought the score down one heart for me is that I struggled a little bit with the plot in this one. It kind of seems like they just go to one crazy place after another, getting in deeper and sometimes not-so-deep shit. I wanted a goal of sorts for them to stretch for, wich I couldn’t see that clearly in this one. But it’s still an amazing book!

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King
5-bla%cc%8a
My second full score of 2016! Stephen King is my absolute favorite writer of all time, and I tend to full score his work. Not only do I love the way he writes, but also the world he creates and how I’m never able to put down his books. This is no exception, and I read this for the first time when I was about 10 years old. That’s probably why it has stuck with me – because I related so much to the character and I was so scared. It wasn’t as scary to read now, but I still feel so much for poor Trisha and I love this little world. My very first tattoo, which I got in July this year, is an illustration from this book. 

After You by Jojo Moyes
3-bla%cc%8a
This is the sequel to “Me Before You” which made me cry like a baby and laugh like an idiot. I loved that book, and it was scary to pick up the sequel. And I was right to be scared, because you can’t compare this book to the first one. It’s not the same, and it could never be. A part of me kind of wished there wasn’t a sequel to this book because it is so beautiful as a stand-alone it does not need a sequel. But it was cool to get a new glimpse of Lou’s life and follow her into her future. The book has a good plot and I’m glad I read it. But… I don’t know, I’m still left with the feeling that you don’t really need to.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
4-5-bla%cc%8a
Marley asked me to read this for ages and I finally did, and it turned out it was really worth it! Out of all the dystopian worlds I’ve entered, this one has real potential and some really interesting characters. It’s a smart book as well who kept surprising me everytime I thought I had it figured out. I actually got the sequel for christmas and I can’t wait to start on it!

Bird Box by Josh Malerman
5-bla%cc%8a
I read this book at random, just choosing a random one at the e-library, and it turned out to be one of the best books I read in 2016. It’s a horror/dystopia, and it has the most genius plot I’ve encountered in a long time and I was so fascinated by the world and it’s horrors I can’t even begin to tell you guys. The story is lovely and horrific, and I was scared. It had everything I wanted from the book and more!

A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay
5-bla%cc%8a
I did not write a review of this one, but Marley did – so you can read hers HERE. She kind of says it all. I was really happy with this one. I wasn’t as scared as I expected, but I was incredibly fascinated. This books descirbes a horror beyond the usuual “scared of the dark”-horror. It tells a story beyond what I expected of it, and I’m still so deeply fascinated I’ll cherish it forever. This book makes you think, and you won’t forget it.

Harry Potter And the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany
4-bla%cc%8a
I’d been waiting so long for this and I read it in two days straight. It was SO lovely to re-enter this magical and wonderful world. This world has meant so much to me throughout my entire childhood, and it felt so nice to be back I can’t even describe it. It was a little weird reading a script, but you get used to it. I liked the story, but… it’s not the same, and I think I’ll always going to be one of those who truly believed this should have been a book and not a play

The Social Guidebook to Norway by Julien S. Bourelle
4-bla%cc%8a
This book is an illustrated introduction to what a person moving to Norway experience the first years of living here. As a norwegian myself, it was really funny to see this version of our habits and ways of behaving! The books is filled with stereotypes, and awkwardly enough I recognize a lot of them… It was both funny and also a learning experience of sorts.

Horns by Joe Hill
4-bla%cc%8a
This book is hard for me to describe, because it is so much. It’s kind of a complicated story, which took me by surprise towards the ending. I love when books do that. I also love the characters in this books. They are complex and you learn more and more about who they really are throughout the book. I love the way the story is told as well, and I love the themes. I really liked this books, but I need to figure out a good way to really describe it before I can write a review of it. 

January (Calendar Girl #1) by Audrey Carlan
3-bla%cc%8a
So yeah, every once in a while I feel like reading contemporary love-erotica novels (it’s a part of my secret pink/dark side), and since we’ve been selling a ton of Calendar Girl at the bookstore I’m working in, I checked it out. If anything, it’s better than fifty shades and it’s an incredible fast read. Of all the other books in this genre, I actually like the plot of this one best.

February (Calendar Girl #2) by Audrey Carlan
2-bla%cc%8a
 This book was kinda shit. In the first story, I kind of liked the Main Character. And in this one, everything I liked about her was turned upside down. I did not like February Guy either. He was so cheesy I almost puked reading about him. 

March (Calendar Girl #3) by Audrey Carlan
3-bla%cc%8a
Compared to the last one, this was really good actually. I liked how we got a break from the normal story, I liked the chracters and the main character became a little cooler in this one. 

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris
4-bla%cc%8a
I finished this in three days because it was so exciting! I loved it! I’ve been recommending it to so many people ever since I read it, and I will continue to do so! If you like thrilers, this is one hell of a book. It’s smart, it’s a fast read and you can’t put it away. 

The Introvert by Michael P. Michaud
4-bla%cc%8a
This was a requested review that really kept me entertained during an 8 hour train ride I went on this fall. I love the Mc in this one and how the author manages to make him so cute despite his actions. 

Lost Nowhere by Phoebe Garnsworthy
3-5-bla%cc%8a
This is a self-discovery/fantasy book! Whaaat? It’s by far the most special requested reviews I’ve had, and I like how the book takes you both on a journey through the plot and also on a journey through yourself.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
4-bla%cc%8a
I get why this book became so popular, and I liked it. I like how the main character reflects on things, and how it’s both funny and… real. I’m working on a review on it right now which hopefully will be out soon. 

Morningstar by Pierce Brown (Red Rising #3)
5-bla%cc%8a
I really finished 2016 with the best possible book I could have finished with. Seriously, I laughed and cried and read for several hours straight. The Red Rising Trilogy is by far one of the best I’ve read and I was so pleased with this ending to it all. I’ll probably reread all three of them in not too long. 

idaelise

Leave a Reply

