New World: Rising by Jennifer Wilson

5-bla%cc%8a

Goodreads blurb

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.”

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

First line: “The wind slapped my face as I looked down on the city below me.”

Title: New World: Rising
Series: #1 New World
Author: Jennifer Wilson
My edition: A paperback published by Oftomes Publishing in 2016, first published in 2014 with 350 pages.
Age: Young Adult (16+ mostly because of the sexual references. There is rape and murder graphically described).
Genres:  Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal

why-this-book
Marley bought it to me for christmas, and I’ve been wanting to read it ever since she read it! When Marley says a book is amazing, the book is amazing.

the-plot
4-5-bla%cc%8a

The plot is about Phoenix, who has been surviving on her own in Tartarus ever since her parents died. Tartarus is a wasteland created after numerous natural disasters that has hit the earth, and outside of the wall of the Sanctuary. Tartarus is runned by Tribes, each one of them horrible in their own way. Since Phoenix won’t join any of them, her days of survival is harsh and dangerous. Then one encounter changes her life forever.

I loved the plot. I loved how the world is built up and how the plot is constantly growing into new turns. It was exciting from the start, just reading about what Phoenix does to survive on her own. Then when the story escalated I was sold.  There was not a single boring page in this book. That’s pretty well done!

the-writing5-bla%cc%8a
I also love the writing in this book! Wilson has a perfect balance between describing the enivronment, telling what’s going on in the mc’s head and action-scenes. And she has reflections. The perfect amount of them too. And quotable sentences. It’s just perfect.

the-characters
5-bla%cc%8a
But this is the part I love the absolute most about the whole book. I can’t remember the last time I’ve been so satisfied about a main character. Phoenix has it all. She is strong and independent, but she has flaws because she is a product of the environment. This is perhaps what I find the most important in Dystopian Novels. A character who has lived in a broken environment needs to have been shaped by it. Phoenix has. And it shows. And I love that. She also adjusts and shapes throughout the plot, which both makes perfect sense and are really interesting to read about. Seriously, I just love this character so much. She’s perfect.

I consider writing about other chracter at this point as spoiling, so I’ll write more about them in the review of the next book!

a-short-summary
5-bla%cc%8a
It’s been a long time since I’ve found a dystopian where everything is just perfect, but this time I really found it. This book has everything I want from a good dystopian. It has a world that is well explained and that makes sense, it has characters that are shaped by the environment and that you relate to and want to read about. It has a really exciting plot and no unnecessary pages at all. I can’t wait to read the next one!

goodreads-updates
Your goodreads updates

15.09.16 – Marked as to-read

16.01.17 – Marked as currently reading

23.01.17 – Page 163 “We may be handed a certain deck of cards but it is our choice how to play them”

23.01.17 – Page 185  “Yes!”

26.01.17 – Page 317 “All the feelings”

26.01.17 – Marked as read

would-i-buy-it

YES. YES YES YES YES.

who-would-i-recommend-it-to

Everyone who want to read a perfectly written dystopian novel. This is it, people. This is the one.

favorite-quote-from-the-book

The one from my goodreads update are my favorite, but since you’ve already read it I’ll give you another favorite:

“Once I had opened a book and read it pages, those characters could never be taken away from me”

idaelise

Leave a Reply

