Book Review: No Plain Rebel by M.C. Frank

requested-review

4-rosa

Goodreads blurb
In No Plain Rebel, Felix finds out the truth.
Or so he thinks. He’s trying to come to terms with that, as well as with the fact that the Clockmaster’s shack has been discovered by his fellow-soldiers, but he can’t exactly concentrate. The match girl’s fiery curls appear before his eyes every ten seconds, distracting him, and then he starts talking to her in his head.
Because she’s no longer there.
The Stadium is looming in the distance.
It’s ten heartbeats to midnight.

First line: “Two heads are bent together under the blinking strings of blue, red and green fairy lights.”

Title: No Plain Rebel
Series: Book 2, No Ordinary Star
Author: M.C. Frank
My edition: ebook, published in 2016.
Age: Young Adult (14+)
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia

why this book?.jpg
After reading No Ordinary Star, I just couldn’t wait to begin No Plain Rebel. The first book was just amazing, and I needed to know what was going to happen to Astra and Felix immediately!

the plot.jpg
4-5-rosa
I liked the plot a lot in this book, it felt more action-filled and more “on point” to me. I liked how it developed from being taken right from the ending of No Ordinary Star – and then becoming more! As I explained in my review of No Ordinary Star (Which has mysteriously disappeared!!! I’m looking into it) I felt like the plot was a little slow because it evolved around Astra and Felix being in that bunker. But in this book it evolved to learning more about the outside world, and I really liked it.

The growing love between Felix and Astra is also something that drew me even more into this book rather than the first. It’s so realistic, and not the typical rushed kind of love. They ease into it in pace with what they learn about the concept of “love”. In this book they also realize that their constant draw to each other isn’t just because one is dependent on the other, but that it’s something more.

the writing.jpg
3-5-rosa
I really like Astra, I really do, but I enjoy Felix’s narratives far better than hers – and that draws this book up for me when it comes to the storytelling. Still, I’m missing some more descriptions, just more. I feel like things happen “too” fast with little or no explanation when it comes to the feelings and textures and smells. Good storytelling to me is when the author has the ability to draw me in to the point where I can almost see and smell everything. And I feel like Frank isn’t able to do that.

On the other hand; it’s not a bad book, and it’s not bad writing at all. It just comes down to my own “needs” when it comes to storytelling. So don’t get me wrong, the writing is really good, but I wish there was more.

the characters.jpg
4-rosa
Felix and Astra both develop throughout this book, and their characters have more depth now than they did in the first book. Not only do they change when it comes to their feelings towards each other; but they also view things differently. Especially Felix, it’s like he wakes up in this book and sees things as they really are – and I love that aspect of the story.

I was kind of disappointed in Astra in this book; how she left Felix so suddenly. It was just strange and not what I expected from her character at all. I was so disappointed, and I’m seriously waiting for the best explanation EVER in the next book.

a short summary.jpg
4-rosa
This book is really good, and a worthy sequel to No Ordinary Star, and I really liked it. I liked how the characters got more depth, how the storyline expanded into something unexpected, and I still love how short these books are. It just gives me a reading experience where I just want to read and read and read, and whoof, finished. It’s truly magical, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the last book when it’s published!

would-i-buy-it
Yes! It’s got such a beautiful cover! I truly wish I had them in physical copies!
who-would-i-recommend-it-to
If you like futuristic themes that are fast-paced and strong lead-characters; this is the book for you!

favorite-quote-from-the-book
“She straightens, feeling her muscles stretch painfully. But for once this is a good kind of pain. She’s created something, that’s why her body hurts. It’s not the kind of pain that comes from being sad or hunted or alone.” (Astra)


About the author

12048141M.C. Frank (writer, reader, designer, physicist and teacher, to name a few) has been living in a world of stories ever since she can remember (that’s before she knew how to write). She started writing them down when she could no longer stand the characters in her head screaming at her to give them life, and while those first scribblings weren’t exactly good (nor were they books, although she insisted on calling them that), they were enough for her to discover her passion in life.
She got her university degree in physics a few years ago (yes, she’s like Sheldon, only a bit crazier!) and is now free to pursue her love of reading and writing, as well her free-lance job as editor-in-chief.

marley

Leave a Reply

