Interface by Tony Batton

requested-review
3-bla%cc%8a

When Tom Faraday joined internationally renowned CERUS Biotech, he thought he’d landed his dream job. A chance to work with their famous CEO, William Bern, perhaps to change the world.
But Tom has found himself in an organisation in crisis. The company bet the house on a radical neural interface project, only to be blocked by a government with reasons of its own. Now CERUS is running on vapour and the corporate vultures are gathering. Bern isn’t one to go down without a fight. He’s turned things around before, and he has a plan to do it again.
The problem is, twenty-five years ago CERUS made a similar mistake. And if history is repeating itself, Tom might be the only one who can stop it.

First line: “The building was not what it seemed to be.”

Title: Interface
Series: Book 1 in Interface
Author: Tony Batton
My edition: A paperback published in 2016 by Twenty-First Century Thrillers with 425 pages.
Age: Adult.
Genres: Science Fiction, Thriller.

why-this-book

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I said yes because I like the genres, and the plot sounded interesting. the-plot
2-5-bla%cc%8a

All though the plot sounded interesting, and even proved to be really interesting, one of the things that I struggled the most with in this book was the complexity of the plot. The book starts off with giving you one clue, then another and then another, wich is usual for a thriller. But with this one I kind of found myself trying to hold on to 100 pieces of a puzzle with no way to connect them all (not until the end, that is).

Normally, I love those kind of books where you just have to continue reading to find out what all of this means and how all these things can possibly be connected. But in Interface, there were a little too many pieces and characters and things. I spent half of the book trying to remember who the person in this chapter was again, and to be honest I can’t say I’ve gained 100% control of all the characters even now after finishing the book. .

So, the plot is definetly cool and I like the idea and the main lines of the story, but although I also see a writer with a great plan of a plot with twists and turns and characters with their own agendas,  I struggled to keep up and I would have enjoyed the book a lot more is some of the characters and some of the twists and turns were shaved out.

the-writing
4-bla%cc%8a

When it comes to the actual writing, I’ve got no complaints. The writing is good, and although I kind of hate it because it always makes me stay up past my bedtime, I like the idea of separating the chapters for one character each. The characters also had a couple of memorable quotes, which I rarely find in a thriller. The one stated under my favorite quote actually sent me to several hours of philosophically thinking, which I always appreciate. I also love how a lot of the chapters ended with that one sentence that makes the bedtime-concept irrelevant because “we can do one more chapter.” If anything, the writing saved the book a bit for me, despite it’s complex plot.

the-characters

3-bla%cc%8a

I’ve already stated this: there are too many. When I read a book I do it for pleasure, and having to keep it with this amount of characters felt like work. But I also have to state that even though this was a problem for me, it might not be for you. For instance, I haven’t even tried to read The Game of Thrones series yet because even though I’ve seen the show I don’t know if I can deal with that amount of characters. I am definetly one of the lazy readers, appreciating simplicity and a small amount of characters. You may not be.

I’ve got one more thing to point at when it comes to characters, and that is the main character Tom. He felt a bit shallow, and I never felt I got to know him much. He seems like a typical protagonist, doing the right or heroic thing because he is the protagonist. There was not one choice he made during the book that made me think “oh yes, that’s exactly what Tom would do!” Because I don’t know what would be typical of him to do. I want to know Tom more. I want to know what made Tom the way he is, I want to know about his childhood, about his choices in life and just get a feeling that this is a person I know something about. I never quite felt that. I also want to know more about his relationship with the character Jo, which I first of all were wondering who were to Tom way too long and which I second of all never felt much for because it was never explained just how deep this bond was or why. This would have improved the book a lot for me.

And so I want to point out my two favorite characters in the book, because they both really saved the book for me. A lot.

Kate, the journalist, is my absolute favorite character and I just loved her. She probably scores some extra points for me because I can relate to her, being a journalist myself, only she’s at a point in her career I hope I’ll get to one day. So, I kind of look up to her as well, and every section of the book containing Kate inspired me to keep up my studies so that I too can land a cool job one day.

Kate is not only a good character because I admire her and relate to her, but she has reasons to behave the way she does and act the way she does. She has a clear goal, and we get to know early that she takes her job seriously and is willing to go long lengths to achieve this goal. I never doubted her choices, because every choice she made was a definite “Yes, that’s what Kate would do!”

Then we have Lentz. She is probably the character with the best described and most interesting background. And because of the well described background, she is also a character where I found her actions logical for her character. I know Lentz, and therefore I understand her. Making Lentz was good work, and I always envy writers who can come up with characters like this.

a-short-summary
3-bla%cc%8a

This book has a lot of potential that sadly was a bit ruined for me in a slightly over -complicated plot stretched above it’s maximum. There are too many characters, and too many personal agenda’s to keep up with for my taste. I also wanted a stronger main character than I got. However, the main line of the plot is brilliant, and when I reached the part of the book when I finally was able to keep track of everyone, it was exciting to read and I had some nights ending up reading for more hours than I planned. There’s also a couple of very well created characters in this book that I appreciated a lot. All in all, this was worth the read and I am definetly going to keep an eye out for what Tony Batton have in store for us readers in the future, because I really believe in this writing and I believe in this creative  mind.

goodreads-updates

January 31, 2017
Currently Reading

Page 16: Interesting

February 2, 2017
Page 28: There’s already like three different things to be curious about… you have to focus a bit, but it’s exciting! 

February 6, 2017
Page 98: I like Kate!
Page 106: Oooooh!


February 7, 2017
Page 188: Slightly confused, but also excited!

February 15, 2017
Page 230: Some answers yay! 

February 17, 2017
Page 230: I don’t know if it’s Tom or me who are the most confused. 

February 19, 2017
Page 273: Tom’s getting cocky 

February 19, 2017
Finished reading


would-i-buy-it

Yes, I think I would!

who-would-i-recommend-it-to

This is worth a read for everyone who likes to conspire about technology, and also for people who likes thriller’s that aren’t brutal and gory favorite-quote-from-the-book

“Life is about these moments: small choices that make a big difference” 

idaelise

Leave a Reply

